Sustainability

Within the Institution

On an institutional level our work includes optimising the energy use of our buildings, instruction and advanced training for our staff and measures to compensate for and balance out unavoidable impacts.

Round skylights on the Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

© Monika Karczmarczyk

Renovation of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Between the summer of 2018 and March 2022, the festival theatre has been renovated in keeping with the Federal Ministry of the Interior and Community’s guidelines on “Sustainable Building”. In addition to the energy-based refurbishment of the building’s outer shell, the roofs, façades and office areas, the works also include the installation of ventilation systems with heat recovery for the wings, backstage and rehearsal spaces, replacement of the cooling unit, installation of a rainwater capture system that allows rainwater diverted from roofs to drain away close by, replacement of large sections of the electrical system and conversion of the lighting stock to LED technology, installation of a new fire alarm system, partial renovation of the network of heating pipes and the replacement of some radiator units.

A room in the side wing of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele without flooring and partition walls.

A room in the side wing of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele without flooring and partition walls.

© Monika Karczmarczyk

Energy Management at the Gropius Bau

At the end of 2010 a photovoltaic unit was installed on the roof of the Gropius Bau. Since then, it has generated 547,743 kWh of energy, all of which has been fed into Berlin’s electricity grid. The window surfaces at the Gropius Bau together with the large glass roofs above the central atrium and the vestibule have been fitted with double layers of insulating glass. Aluminium slats in between these and coating with sun protection film reduce the admission of direct sunlight and improve energy efficiency. The Gropius Bau is connected to the district heating and cooling networks. All its central ventilation systems are equipped with heat recovery features. Since 2016, a new cold-water pump for the air conditioning in the exhibition spaces on the ground and first floors has enabled the system to be adjusted automatically and operated on the basis of need. Since 2011, lighting in the exhibition spaces, staircases, cloakroom, toilets and administrative offices has gradually been replaced with LED units.

Solar power system on the roof of the Martin-Gropius-Bau

Solar power system on the roof of the Martin-Gropius-Bau

jirka-jansch.com, 2011

Renaturing of marshland

Marshlands are huge carbon sinks. While they only cover three per cent of the earth, their peat layers tie in a third of terrestrial carbon – twice as much as all the earth’s forests, which make up around 30 per cent of the land surface. Since 2020 the Berliner Festspiele have compensated for air travel by their staff and the release of CO2 this has generated by renaturing marshland through the purchase of voluntary climate protection certificates, MoorFutures.
 More about the project

The Freienhagen moorland with trees and water areas.

The Freienhagen moorland with trees and water areas.

© MoorFutures

Other Activities and Offers

A person rides past the Gropius Bau on a bicycle.

Rail and Cycle Travel

Business travel within Germany and well-connected European cities should be conducted by train and business travel within Berlin should be conducted by public transport. The regular provision of bicycle checks, repairs and instruction are intended to raise enthusiasm for cycling among KBB staff and increase their safety. Bicycle storage is provided.

In the garden of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele there are long white tables with white beer benches and white parasols.

Training and Guidelines

The KBB provides additional training for a sustainable events organisation and has put together relevant guidelines. Staff are trained to pay particular consideration to ecological factors when commissioning deliveries and services and to explore hosting artists and guests in an ecologically sustainable manner.

A mobile phone lies on a loudspeaker.

Service

Staff are able to dispose of their used mobile phones in special containers located inside KBB buildings. The telephones and rechargers collected in this way are donated to the NABU project “Alte Handys für die Havel” (Old Phones for the Havel) where NABU receives up to three Euro from the E-Plus group for each old phone it hands over. This money is then donated to the Lower Havel Conservation Project.

Nachhaltigkeit

in der Institution

Auf institutioneller Ebene beschäftigen wir uns unter anderem mit der energetischen Optimierung unserer Häuser, Schulungen und Fortbildungen für unsere Mitarbeiter*innen und Kompensations- und Ausgleichsmaßnahmen für unumgängliche Belastungen.

Runde Dachluken auf dem Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

© Monika Karczmarczyk

Sanierung des Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Zwischen Sommer 2018 und März 2022 findet die Sanierung des Festspielhauses gemäß dem Leitfaden „Nachhaltiges Bauen“ des Bundesministeriums für Inneres, Bauen und Heimat statt. Die Arbeiten umfassen neben der energetischen Sanierung von Gebäudeaußenhülle, Dachflächen, Fassaden, Fenstern und Büroflächen die Errichtung von Lüftungsanlagen mit Wärmerückgewinnung für die Seiten-, Hinter- und Probebühne, den Austausch der Kältemaschine, den Einbau von Regenwasserauffangsystemen, die das von den Dachflächen abgeleitete Regenwasser ortsnah versickern lassen, die Erneuerung großer Teile der elektrischen Anlage mit Umrüstung der Bestandsleuchten auf LED-Technik, die Installation einer neuen Brandmeldeanlage, die partielle Sanierung des Heizleitungsnetzes und der teilweise Austausch der Heizkörper.

Ein Raum im Seitenflügel des Haus der Berliner Festspiele ohne Fußbodenbelag und Trennwände.

Ein Raum im Seitenflügel des Haus der Berliner Festspiele ohne Fußbodenbelag und Trennwände.

© Monika Karczmarczyk

Energiemanagement im Gropius Bau

Ende 2010 erfolgte die Montage einer Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach des Gropius Bau. 547.743 kWh Energie wurden damit seither erzeugt und vollständig ins Berliner Stromnetz eingespeist. Die Fensterflächen des Gropius Bau sowie die großen Glasdächer über dem zentralen Lichthof und dem Vestibül wurden mit Zweischeiben-Isolierglas verglast. Dazwischenliegende Aluminiumlamellen und die Belegung mit Sonnenschutzfolie reduzieren die direkte Sonneneinstrahlung und verbessern damit die Energiebilanz. Der Gropius Bau ist an das Fernwärme- und Fernkältenetz angeschlossen. Alle zentralen Lüftungsanlagen sind mit einer Wärme-Rückgewinnung ausgerüstet. Eine neue Kaltwasserpumpe für die Klimatisierung in den Ausstellungsräumen des Erd- und ersten Obergeschosses ermöglicht seit 2016 die automatische Leistungsanpassung und einen bedarfsgerechten Betrieb. Die Leuchtmittel in Ausstellungsräumen, Treppenhäusern, Garderobe, WCs und Mitarbeiter*innenbüros werden seit 2011 sukzessive durch LED-Beleuchtung ersetzt.

Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach des Martin-Gropius-Bau

Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach des Martin-Gropius-Bau

jirka-jansch.com, 2011

Renaturierung von Mooren

Moorgebiete sind gigantische Kohlenstoffspeicher. Sie bedecken nur drei Prozent der Erde, binden in ihren Torfschichten jedoch ein Drittel des terrestrischen Kohlenstoffs – doppelt so viel wie alle Wälder der Erde, die rund 30 Prozent der Landoberfläche ausmachen. Seit 2020 kompensieren die Berliner Festspiele Flugreisen von Mitarbeiter*innen und den damit verbundenen CO2-Ausstoß in Form der Renaturierung von Mooren über den Kauf von freiwilligen Klimaschutzzertifikaten, den MoorFutures.
 Mehr zum Projekt

Das Moorgebiet Freienhagen mit Bäumen und Wasserflächen.

Das Moorgebiet Freienhagen mit Bäumen und Wasserflächen.

© MoorFutures

Weitere Maßnahmen

Eine Person fährt auf dem Fahrrad am Gropius Bau vorbei.

Bahn und Fahrrad

Für Dienstreisen innerhalb Deutschlands und in gut angebundene europäische Großstädte ist die Bahn zu benutzen, für Dienstreisen innerhalb Berlins der öffentliche Nahverkehr. Regelmäßig angebotene Fahrradchecks, Fahrradreparaturen und Vorträge für sollen die Fahrradsicherheit und den Anreiz fürs Radfahren unter den KBB-Mitarbeiter*innen erhöhen. Fahrradabstellplätze werden zur Verfügung gestellt.

Im Garten des Haus der Berliner Festspiele befinden sich lange weiße Tische mit weißen Bierbänken und weißen Sonnenschirmen.

Fortbildung und Leitfäden

Die KBB bietet Fortbildungen zur nachhaltigen Veranstaltungs-Organisation an und hat entsprechende Leitfäden erstellt. Mitarbeiter*innen werden unter anderem zu Einkauf von Lieferungen und Leistungen unter der besonderen Betrachtung von ökologischen Gesichtspunkten geschult und setzen sich mit ökologisch nachhaltiger Künstler*innen- und Gästebewirtung auseinander.

Ein Handy liegt auf einem Lautsprecher.

Service

In speziellen Behältern, die in den Häusern der KBB aufgestellt wurden, können Mitarbeiter*innen ihre gebrauchten Handys entsorgen. Die so gesammelten Telefone und Ladegeräte gehen an das NABU-Projekt „Alte Handys für die Havel“, bei dem der NABU für jedes abgegebene Alt-Handy von der E-Plus-Gruppe bis zu drei Euro erhält. Das Geld fließt in das Naturschutzgroßprojekt Untere Havel.