Sustainable Environmental Management

at the Berliner Festspiele

How does the art world contribute to worldwide climate change? And can culture be produced more sustainably?

The Gropius Bau houses the work “Antoine’s Organ” by the artist Rashid Johnson: a cube made of plants with a piano in the middle.

Rashid Johnson, “Antoine’s Organ” (Detail), 2016. Installation view “Garden of Earthly Delights”, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2019

Photo: Mathias Völzke, courtesy: the artist and Hauser & Wirth

Every year the Berliner Festspiele welcome large numbers of guests to Berlin, both artists and members of the public. Its programmers travel the world, making contacts, identifying global trends and viewing new works; their work often involves travelling by air for tens of thousands of miles. The unimagined number of kilowatt hours required to operate the lighting and air conditioning systems and the millions of litres of water used by the buildings’ sanitation facilities clearly show that the presentation of art consumes considerable resources.

How can organised culture be made more sustainable? For many years now, the Berliner Festspiele along with their umbrella organisation KBB (Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH) have been working to improve their own environmental impact. This applies both to the conception and execution of their programmes and also to the usage of the two buildings – the Haus der Berliner Festspiele as a theatre and venue for a multitude of events and the Gropius Bau as an exhibition house. They achieved EMAS certification in 2013. Developed by the European Union, EMAS (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme) is an ambitious system of sustainable environmental management that, among other measures, obliges organisations to set environmental targets and to conduct annual internal and external audits.

Here we present samples of the measures that the Berliner Festspiele are currently working on, plans that have already been implemented and projects where the theme of sustainability has featured particularly strongly.

Contact

Christoph Hügelmeyer (Technical Director of KBB and Environment Management Officer)
+49 30 26 397 444

More Sustainable Environmental Management

Tiny House Workshop: Einfach Bauen
Berliner Festspiele

EMAS-Certificate

Once again this year the Berliner Festspiele and the Gropius Bau have received confirmation from the Chamber of Industry and Commerce that their EMAS certificate of ecological management registration number DE-107-00140 has been renewed.
Download certificate (, 40 KB)

Nachhaltiges Umweltmanagement

an den Berliner Festspielen

Wie trägt der Kunstbetrieb zum weltweiten Klimawandel bei? Und: Lässt sich Kulturproduktion nachhaltiger gestalten?

Im Gropius Bau befindet sich das Werk „Antoine’s Organ“ des Künstlers Rashid Johnson: ein Würfel aus Pflanzen, in dessen Mitte ein Klavier steht.

Rashid Johnson, „Antoine’s Organ“ (Detail), 2016. Installationsansicht „Garten der irdischen Freuden“, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2019

Foto: Mathias Völzke, Courtesy: der Künstler und Hauser & Wirth

Jedes Jahr heißen die Berliner Festspiele zahlreiche Gäste in Berlin willkommen, Künstler*innen genauso wie Publikum. Programmmacher*innen reisen um die Welt, um Kontakte zu knüpfen, globalen Trends nachzuspüren und Werke zu sichten; ihre Arbeit geht oftmals einher mit zehntausenden von Flugkilometern. Ungeahnte Kilowattstunden für den Betrieb der Scheinwerfer und Klimaanlagen sowie Millionen Liter Wasser für die Sanitäranlagen in den Häusern zeigen deutlich: Die Präsentation von Kunst verbraucht eine Menge Ressourcen.

Wie lässt sich der Kulturbetrieb nachhaltiger gestalten? Seit mehreren Jahren arbeiten die Berliner Festspiele gemeinsam mit ihrer Dachorganisation KBB (Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH) an der Verbesserung der eigenen Umweltbilanz. Das betrifft sowohl die inhaltliche Konzeption und Durchführung der Programme als auch die Nutzung der beiden Häuser – das Haus der Berliner Festspiele als Theater- und Veranstaltungshaus und den Gropius Bau als Ausstellungshaus. So wurde bereits im Jahr 2013 eine EMAS-Zertifizierung erlangt. Entwickelt von der Europäischen Union ist EMAS (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme) ein anspruchsvolles System für nachhaltiges Umweltmanagement und verpflichtet das Unternehmen, sich unter anderem Umweltziele zu setzen und sich jährlich internen und externen Prüfungen zu unterziehen.

An welchen Maßnahmen aktuell an den Berliner Festspielen gearbeitet wird, welche Pläne bereits umgesetzt wurden und in welchen Projekten das Thema Nachhaltigkeit besonders stark reflektiert wurde, stellen wir Ihnen hier in Auszügen vor.

Kontakt

Christoph Hügelmeyer (Technischer Direktor der KBB und Umweltmanagementbeauftragter)
+49 30 26 397 444

Mehr nachhaltiges Umweltmanagement

Tiny House Workshop: Einfach Bauen
Berliner Festspiele

EMAS-Zertifikat

Auch in diesem Jahr haben die Berliner Festspiele mit dem Gropius Bau die jährliche Bestätigung von der Industrie- und Handelskammer erhalten, dass sie das EMAS-Zertifikat für ökologisches Wirtschaften mit der Registrierungsnummer DE-107-00140 weiter führen können.

Zertifikat herunterladen (, 40 KB)