Mariano Pensotti: El Público (2020)

In Mariano Pensotti’s film “El Público” we follow several members of the audience from the theatre into the urban space. Through their stories and thoughts, we gain fragment-like impressions of their everyday lives and find out what they experienced during this shared evening of theatre. Who are the people who go to the theatre?

El Público

93 min, in Spanish with English subtitles
Available 2 to 11 June

There’s an audience who goes to see a play in a theatre. They take their seats before the show starts, reading the hand programme, chatting to each other. The piece starts but we don’t see it. There’s an ellipsis. We see the audience leaving the theatre right after the show ends. Apparently the piece they saw was amazing, an extremely complex performance about a hidden real story in the country’s recent history. Everyone in the audience is moved.

We follow 11 persons leaving the theatre. We see the stories of those 11 people during the next 24 hours and we get to know to what extent that play affected their lives. Each story is a short film. The personal stories from the audience are very diverse and they have a variety of conflicts, but at some point all of them talk with another person about the piece they saw and we didn’t. They all tell a different scene from the play. By following their stories and by listening their storytelling about the piece we - as real audience - can reconstruct the play the fictional audience saw.

Which are the stories of the people who goes to see a theatre piece? How much their lives are transformed by that experience? In which measure what they saw is modified by their memories? Which effect produces to transform an audience into protagonists?

“El Público” premiered at Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires (FIBA) in January 2020. Together with “The Audience”, a version made in Athens, it is part of an ongoing film project by Mariano Pensotti / Grupo Marea about audiences, their relationship with theatre and their cities.

Cast

Script & Direction Mariano Pensotti
Art Direction Mariana Tirantte
Music Diego Vainer
General Production Florencia Wasser / Grupo Marea
Cinematography/DOP Soledad Rodríguez

With Luis Ziembrowski, Antonio Ziembrowski, Agustina Muñoz, Javier Drolas, Lena Pensotti Pescio, Lisandro Rodriguez, Guillermo Wasser, Julián Ponce Campos, Diego Velazquez, Min Chen, Ignacio Huang, Shang Min Lee, Maximiliano Totake, Juan Minujin, Guillermo Arengo, Tomás Castaño, María Cottet, Patricio Aramburu, Marcelo Mariño, Susana Pampin, Claudio Mendez, Jorge Dubatti, Lorena Vega, Juan Barberini, Horacio Acosta, Natalí Lipski, Sofia Palomino, Agustín Gagliardi, Martín Feldman, Jose Ansaldo, Valentina Ansaldo, Walter Jacob, Juliana Muras, Pablo Seijo, Pablo Lugones, Walter Jacob, Manuel Attwell, Yamil Zeid, Horacio Parisotto, Moussa Dieng Hijo del Tambor, Pilar Gamboa, Julián Larquier, Claudio Barbieri, Vanesa Maja, Gregorio Barrios, Gaby Ferrero, Sebastián Chávez, Juliana Oubel, Silvia Villazur

“El Público” is a co-production between GRUPO MAREA and Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires (FIBA).

Mariano Pensotti: El Público (2020)

In Mariano Pensottis Film „El Público“ folgen wir mehreren Zuschauer*innen aus dem Theater in den Stadtraum, erhalten ausschnitthafte Einblicke in ihren Alltag und erfahren durch ihre Geschichten und Gedanken, wie sie den geteilten Theaterabend erlebt haben. Wer sind die Menschen, die ins Theater gehen?

El Público

93 min, in spanischer Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln
Verfügbar 2. – 11. Juni

Eine Gruppe von Zuschauer*innen geht ins Theater, um dort ein Stück zu sehen. Vor Vorstellungsbeginn setzen sie sich auf ihre Plätze, blättern im Programmheft und unterhalten sich miteinander. Das Stück beginnt, aber wir sehen es nicht – es bleibt hier im Film ausgespart. Wir sehen nur das Publikum, wie es das Theater gleich nach Vorstellungsende verlässt; scheinbar war es ein erstaunliches Stück – eine extrem komplexe Performance über eine wahre, verheimlichte Geschichte aus der jüngsten Vergangenheit des Landes, welche die Zuschauer*innen bewegt hat.

Wir begleiten sodann 11 Menschen, die das Theater verlassen, und ihre Geschichten während der nächsten 24 Stunden, wobei jeder Episode ein eigener Kurzfilm gewidmet ist. So erfahren wir, auf welche Weise der erlebte Theaterabend ihr Leben beeinflusst hat. Trotz der ganz verschiedenen Geschichten und ihrer individuellen Konflikte unterhalten sich irgendwann alle Zuschauer*innen über das Stück, das sie gesehen haben und wir nicht. Sie alle erzählen eine andere Szene des Stücks. Indem wir ihre Geschichten verfolgen und ihren Erzählungen zuhören, können wir – als das wahre Publikum – das Stück, welches das fiktive Publikum gesehen hat, rekonstruieren.

Wer sind die Menschen, die ins Theater gehen? Wie verändert sich ihr Leben durch diese Erfahrung? Inwiefern wird das Gesehene durch ihre Erinnerungen umgestaltet? Welcher Effekt entsteht, wenn das Publikum selbst zur*zum Protagonist*in wird?

„El Público“ feierte im Januar 2020 beim Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires (FIBA) Premiere. Zusammen mit „The Audience“, einer in Athen entstandenen Fassung, ist der Film Teil eines andauernden Projekts von Mariano Pensotti / Grupo Marea, das sich in einer Reihe von Filmen mit dem Publikum und seiner Beziehung zum Theater sowie zu seiner Stadt auseinandersetzt.

Besetzung

Konzept & Regie Mariano Pensotti
Ausstattung & Kostüme Mariana Tirantte
Musik Diego Vainer
Künstlerische Produktionsleitung Florencia Wasser / Grupo Marea
Kamera Soledad Rodríguez

Mit Luis Ziembrowski, Antonio Ziembrowski, Agustina Muñoz, Javier Drolas, Lena Pensotti Pescio, Lisandro Rodriguez, Guillermo Wasser, Julián Ponce Campos, Diego Velazquez, Min Chen, Ignacio Huang, Shang Min Lee, Maximiliano Totake, Juan Minujin, Guillermo Arengo, Tomás Castaño, María Cottet, Patricio Aramburu, Marcelo Mariño, Susana Pampin, Claudio Mendez, Jorge Dubatti, Lorena Vega, Juan Barberini, Horacio Acosta, Natalí Lipski, Sofia Palomino, Agustín Gagliardi, Martín Feldman, Jose Ansaldo, Valentina Ansaldo, Walter Jacob, Juliana Muras, Pablo Seijo, Pablo Lugones, Walter Jacob, Manuel Attwell, Yamil Zeid, Horacio Parisotto, Moussa Dieng Hijo del Tambor, Pilar Gamboa, Julián Larquier, Claudio Barbieri, Vanesa Maja, Gregorio Barrios, Gaby Ferrero, Sebastián Chávez, Juliana Oubel, Silvia Villazur

„El Público“ ist eine Koproduktion der GRUPO MAREA und des Festival Internacional de Buenos Aires (FIBA).