Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann and Patricia Hofmann

Music in Conversation

Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann and Patricia Hofmann

Available from 19 September 2020
30 min
In German. With optional German and English subtitles.

Who could be better qualified to give an introduction to an evening of music by Wolfgang Rihm than two musicians who are extremely familiar with the composer’s music: The final talk of the series “Music in Conversation”, moderated by Patricia Hofmann, brings together violist Tabea Zimmermann and composer, clarinettist and conductor Jörg Widmann.
Tabea Zimmermann has previously played the premiere concerts of two viola concertos by Wolfgang Rihm, and during the final concert of the 2020 Musikfest Berlin, she and baritone Christian Gerhaher will premiere the composer’s latest work “Stabat Mater” for viola and baritone.
Jörg Widmann studied composition under Wolfgang Rihm and is dedicatee of several of his works. Beyond all dry musical analysis, they give us an understanding of what is special about Rihm’s music by granting us insights into the rehearsal process and talking about their encounters with the composer. They discuss the importance of breath in making music and build bridges between Rihm’s music and the works of other composers.

Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann und Patricia Hofmann

Musik im Gespräch

Tabea Zimmermann, Jörg Widmann und Patricia Hofmann

Verfügbar ab 19. September 2020
30 min
In deutscher Sprache. Mit optionalen deutschen und englischen Untertiteln.

Wer könnte besser in den Abend mit Musik von Wolfgang Rihm einführen als zwei mit der Musik Wolfgang Rihms vertraute Musiker*innen: In dem letzten Gespräch der Reihe „Musik im Gespräch“ finden die Bratschistin Tabea Zimmermann der Komponist, Klarinettist und Dirigent Jörg Widmann zusammen, moderiert von Patricia Hofmann.
Tabea Zimmermann hat bereits zwei Bratschenkonzerte des Komponisten uraufgeführt und hebt im letzten Konzert des Musikfest Berlin 2020 Wolfgang Rihms neuestes Werk „Stabat Mater“ für Bratsche und Bariton gemeinsam mit Christian Gerhaher aus der Taufe.
Jörg Widmann, selbst Kompositionsschüler von Wolfgang Rihm ist als Instrumentalist Widmungsträger mehrerer Werke. Jenseits trockener musikalischer Analysen bringen sie uns das Besondere an der Musik Rihms nahe, in dem sie uns Einblicke in ihre Probenarbeit gewähren und von ihren Begegnungen mit dem Komponisten berichten. Sie diskutieren über die Bedeutung des Atems für das Musizieren und schlagen Brücken von Rihms Musik zu den Werken anderer Komponisten.