Music in Conversation

How is music created, how can we imagine the creative collaboration between composer and musician or singer? This is one of the subjects of this series of conversations, which will feature composers and musicians who have been invited to this year’s Musikfest Berlin.

Keyvisual Musikfest Berlin 2020: Detail of a spherical object made of concrete with rough surface and gold traces
Past Recordings
Eleonore Büning and Igor Levit

21 August – 23 September 2020

Igor Levit & Eleonore Büning talk about Beethoven

This conversation between Igor Levit and music journalist Eleonore Büning spans a wide arc: from the importance of music in times of crisis via Beethoven’s piano sonatas, their interpretation and challenges for the pianist, to issues of discrimination.

Martina Seeber, Enno Poppe and Milica Djordjević

15 September – 23 September 2020

Enno Poppe, Milica Djordjević and Martina Seeber

In conversation with music journalist Martina Seeber, composer Milica Djordjević and composer and conductor Enno Poppe touch on questions of musical imagination, the craft of composing and the significance of a lively performance practice for contemporary composers.

Musik im Gespräch

Wie entsteht Musik, wie kann man sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Komponist*in und Interpret*in vorstellen? Das ist u. a. Thema dieser Gesprächsreihe, zu der wir Komponist*innen und Musiker*innen eingeladen haben, die in diesem Jahr zu Gast beim Musikfest Berlin sind.

Keyvisual Musikfest Berlin 2020: Ausschnitt eines kugelförmigen Objekts aus Beton mit grober Oberfläche und Goldspuren
Vergangene Aufzeichnungen
Eleonore Büning und Igor Levit

21. August – 23. September 2020

Igor Levit und Eleonore Büning

Igor Levit und die Musikjournalistin Eleonore Büning ziehen in ihrem Gespräch einen weiten Bogen: von der Bedeutung der Musik in Krisenzeiten über die Klaviersonaten Beethovens, ihre Interpretation und pianistische Herausforderungen bis hin zu Fragen der Diskriminierung und Gerechtigkeit.

Martina Seeber, Enno Poppe und Milica Djordjević

15. – 23. September 2020

Enno Poppe, Milica Djordjević und Martina Seeber

Die Komponistin Milica Djordjević und der Komponist und Dirigent Enno Poppe berühren in ihrer Unterhaltung mit der Musikjournalistin Martina Seeber Fragen der musikalischen Imaginationskraft, des kompositorischen Handwerks und der Bedeutung einer lebendigen Aufführungspraxis für zeitgenössische Komponist*innen.