70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Breaking News, Talking Heads and Arts

Available 5 September 2021 – 3 January 2022

This film project, marking the 70th anniversary of the Berliner Festspiele, is the result of sifting through about 1,000 hours of audiovisual material from public and private archives. More than five hours of sound recordings, images and films have been restored and edited to produce eight new videos presenting news, talks and art from those 70 years.

A person wrapped in clothing, wearing a mask and with their hands raised.

The filmmakers Thilo Fischer and David von der Stein examined dozens of hard drives, hundreds of VHS tapes, numerous large boxes full of 16mm and 35mm films, audiotapes, vinyl records and Betamax tapes. In the eight video works, they tackle the capricious 70-year history of the Berliner Festspiele. The videos are showing as part of the exhibition “Everything Is Just for a While” at Gropius Bau until 17 October 2021. The videos will also be available on demand at the Berliner Festspiele until 3 January 2022.

So much has happened in the last 70 years! We’ll take a close look at some examples of it, create collages and compilations, and observe the undepictable. By digitising old inventory and archives, as well as recoding them through the sumptuous interplay of collage and décollage, we’ll trace the existence of art independently from its reception, along with the interrelation of art and reality. The history of the Berliner Festspiele is outlined through an extensive rearrangement of, in particular, cross-border and contradictory outgrowths and overgrowths. The artefacts and objects of those far-off times testify to the absurdity and progressiveness that they might once have held when performed live. The cinematic patchwork is ready to be overgrown, recede, and its components find a life of their own. They persist for various durations, resist appropriation, become restless and, in doing so, reveal unexpected power and potential.

Thilo Fischer

A Siamese cat in close-up. A human hand rests on its back. Behind the animal, a male read person can be seen who sits at a desk. In the background of the picture on the right, there are two people who are also seated in the same room.

Channel One. Talking Heads

by Thilo Fischer and David von der Stein
Sound: Max Heesen
42 minutes
4:3, stereo
German, English, French with German subtitles

“Channel One. Talking Heads” shows 70 years of authentic Berlin conversation, culture and war history from the Berliner Festwochen and Berliner Festspiele, all condensed into a 40-minute collage with top-class representatives from art and politics. They range from Willy Brandt to Judith Malina, Volker Braun to Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Luther King Jr. to Hildegard Knef, and Fela Anikulapo Kuti to Steffie Spira, and from Angela Hampel to Udo Lindenberg. What are their expectations for the arts? Should art serve only itself, or should it serve the whole complexity of reality? What consequences does Berlin’s former structure as a divided city have on the arts, culture and society? And which legacies of the Nazi era still shape the arts, politics and society today?

Channel Three. Arts

by Thilo Fischer and David von der Stein
Sound: Max Heesen
260 minutes
3 x 4:3, stereo
German, English, French, Russian, partly with German subtitles

“Channel Three. Arts” shows a compilation, lasting more than four hours, of art presentations taken from every decade of the festival’s history, selected because they expose the greatest possible intransigence, obstinacy and lunacy. The assemblage includes previously unpublished material whose video and sound have now been restored and digitised, overcoming the scepticism about the feasibility of preserving stage arts from long ago. It conveys the same feeling that a live audience might once have experienced.

Film still from „Frankenstein“ by The Living Theatre, 1966

Channel Three. Arts

1951–1969

From Anna Magnani through Herbie Mann and John Cage to Merce Cunningham, the programme covering the first 20 years gathers the Who’s Who of the international art scene. Also included are discoveries such as the Living Theatre from New York, the bagpipes jazz player Rufus Harley from Pennsylvania, and Berlin greats such as Boris Blacher, Boleslaw Barlog, Erwin Piscator, and Tatjana Gsovsky. Artistic presentations from Africa have also been part of the programme from the outset.

Film still from “Aktion Tau (Angleichung IV)” by Wolf Kahlen, 1973

Channel Three. Arts

1970–1979, Part 1

In the 1970s, artists increasingly moved away from conventional performance venues and started using exhibition spaces for their performances and concerts. They also made use of public space. The audience was encouraged to participate directly, and political, activist and processional aspects entered the programme of the Berliner Festwochen. From events to circuses, procession to confusion – the art of the 70s shook things up and challenged the status quo. This part includes theatre by Beckett, Fassbinder, Kantor and Zadek; performance art from New York; an entire festival dedicated to the circus; dance and drama from China; war dances from Burundi; and events by Allan Kaprow and Wolf Kahlen.

Filmstill from “The Wall” by Gordon Matta-Clark, 1976

Channel Three. Arts

1970–1979, Part 2

The second part is dedicated to musical experimentation, among other things. At the Metamusik festivals of the Austrian music pioneer Walter Bachauer, and later at the first Horizonte festivals, music of all genres and continents came together: griots from Africa, rock from Europe, experimental singing from America and koto string playing from Japan. Also on show are acts by Gordon Matta-Clark, George Maciunas and Wolf Vostell, Luca Ronconi’s knights charging through the audience and, for the first time in Europe, traditional Kabuki theatre from Tokyo.

Film still from “Structures Sonores” by Bernard Baschet, 1980

Channel Three. Arts

1980–1999

In the 1980s, divided Berlin as a construction for peace in Europe becomes the dominant theme of the Berliner Festspiele’s programmes. Above all, the painting and theatre art of East Germany was appreciated in the west of the city long before the fall of the Wall. As the school band Anyway performed at the Treffen Junger Liedermacher (Meeting of Young Songwriters) in 1989, the opening of the German-German border took place just a few kilometres away. Since then, the German-language theatre scene has been strongly influenced by East German artists such as Bert Neumann, Corinna Harfouch, Frank Castorf and Heiner Müller. But the theatre performed at the Berliner Festwochen also drew new energy from other directions: Pina Bausch was the first person to perform dance at the Theatertreffen, Thomas Brasch’s controversial play scripts were interpreted exuberantly there, and Einar Schleef deployed the potent forces of choric theatre. In addition, René Block invented an exhibition for the eyes and ears that was devoted entirely to musical spatial experimentation; an exhibition on Prussia was on display at the reopened Gropius Bau; and the open-air exhibition “Topography of Terror”, which still exists today, opened on the neighbouring site.

Film still from William Shakespeare’s “Hamlet”, directed by Christoph Schlingensief at the Theatertreffen 2001

Channel Three. Arts

2000–2021, Part 1

Arriving in the 21st century, we look back at Jean-Luc Courcoult’s legendary urban space reunification spectacle, “The Giants”; Olafur Elíasson’s play with optical illusions; René Pollesch’s discourses at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz; Milo Rau’s highly political documentary theatre; Christoph Schlingensief’s Nazi Hamlet; Sasha Waltz’s abstract dance pathos; Susanne Kennedy’s expressive alienation theatre; and much more.

Film still from “Nationaltheater Reinickendorf” by Vegard Vinge and Ida Müller, 2017

Channel Three. Arts

2000–2021, Part 2

Rarely has art on the stages of the Berliner Festspiele been as uncompromising and stubborn as it has been for the last 20 years. It no longer has to win anything; the play itself is the big prize. More is more, and love, brutality and humour are not mutually exclusive. We follow this assessment all the way to the home stretch. Artists such as Vegard Vinge and Ida Müller, Ragnar Kjartansson, William Forsythe, Jonathan Meese and Ilya Khrzhanovsky once again strike deep into the pit of the stomach of the international art world. Either it will be very loud or very quiet, extremely long or pure repetition, quickly and directly transferred from the immediate reality of life or artificially created over several years. We also look back at the Immersion programme series and see wonderfully sprawling musical experiments.

“We can’t start until you’re out!”
That is the announcement at the beginning of the performance “Stomp” by the group The Combine; Circus Busch, Berliner Festwochen 1970

Videos Thilo Fischer, David von der Stein

Sound Max Heesen

Cooperation Partners

Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur     null

Partners

Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

With special thanks to

German Embassy in Bujumbura (Burundi), Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Federal Republic of Germany, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zürich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo and Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanese-German Center Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate

as well as René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra and Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Torsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller and Vegard Vinge, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal and Martina Seidel

70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Breaking News, Talking Heads and Arts

Verfügbar 5. September 2021 – 3. Januar 2022

Für dieses Filmprojekt anlässlich des 70. Jubiläums der Berliner Festspiele wurden ca. 1.000 Stunden Material aus öffentlichen und privaten Archiven gesichtet. Daraus wurden über 5 Stunden in Bild und Ton restauriert und zu acht neuen Videoarbeiten montiert, die Nachrichten, Diskurs und Kunst aus 70 Jahren zeigen.

Eine in Kleidung verhüllte Person mit Maske und hochgehobenen Händen.

Mit Dutzenden Festplatten, Hunderten VHS, Umzugskartons, gefüllt mit 16 und 35-mm-Film, Tonbändern, Schallplatten und Betamax-Kassetten bestückt, unternehmen die Filmemacher Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein in acht Videoarbeiten einen Überfall auf die wechselhafte 70-jährige Geschichte der Berliner Festspiele. Die Videos sind noch bis 17. Oktober 2021 als Installationen im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Everything Is Just for a While“ im Gropius Bau zu sehen und stehen bis 3. Januar 2022 auf Berliner Festspiele on Demand zur Verfügung.

Was ist da nicht alles gelaufen in 70 Jahren! Wir entnehmen Proben, die Lupe zur Hand, collagieren und kompilieren, betrachten das Undarstellbare. Durch die Aktivierung und Digitalisierung alter Bestände und Archive und deren Neukodierung im lustvollen Spiel von Collage und Decollage spüren wir dem Eigenleben von Kunst und Rezeption und dem Wechselverhältnis von Kunst und Wirklichkeit nach. Einer maßlosen (Um-)Ordnung vorrangig besonders formensprengender und widersprüchlicher Aus- und Überwüchse aus der Festspielgeschichte gefolgt, zeugen die Artefakte und Objekte längst vergangener Zeiten viel von ihrem Widersinn und ihrer Progressivität, die sie einst vielleicht live mal hatten. Das filmische Stückwerk lässt sich bereitwillig überwuchern, nimmt sich zurück und seine Bestandteile finden zu einem Eigenleben, ziehen größere und kleinere Bahnen, widersetzen sich der Aneignung, werden rastlos und offenbaren dabei eine unerwartete Kraft und unzählige Ideen für die Zukunft.

Thilo Fischer

Es sind vier Bildreihen aus jeweils vier identischen Bildern zu sehen, die vier männlich gelesene Personen zeigen. Sie stehen vor einem Bühnenvorhang in in einer Reihe und tragen ein dunkles knielanges Kostümset aus Jacke, knielanger Hose, hochgezogenen Strümpfen und Schuhen. Sie bewegen ihre Hände.

Channel Sixteen. Breaking News

von Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Ton: Max Heesen
11 Minuten
4:3, Stereo
Deutsch ohne Untertitel
2021

11 Minuten Fernsehgewitter über die Berliner Festwochen aus sechzehn Fernsehern. In den Kinowochenschauen und Fernsehberichten aus den Jahren 1951 bis 1987 zeigt sich in scharfer Aneinanderreihung und peitschender Musikalität der beobachtende, kommentierende, illustrierende, verkürzende, vereinfachende und reißerische Ton der öffentlichen Berichterstattung. Sichtbar wird ein Emanzipationsprozess der Institution Berliner Festwochen im Spannungsfeld zwischen außen- und kulturpolitischem Auftrag, den amerikanischen Alliierten, nationaler Aufbruchstimmung und unendlich viel Kunst und Kultur, die nach 1945 wieder gezeigt und diskutiert werden will. Emanzipation in erster Linie durch das Programm selbst: Hinwendung zu politischer, aktivistischer, experimenteller und avantgardistischer Kunst und Einbeziehung von Kultur- und Kunstspektren außerhalb des mitteleuropäischen Horizonts. Ein televisionäres Ornament.

Eine siamesische Katze in Nahaufnahme. Auf ihrem Rücken ruht eine menschliche Hand. Hinter dem Tier ist eine an einem Tisch sitzende, männlich gelesene Person zu erkennen. Im rechten Bildhintergrund sind zwei Personen zu sehen, die auch im selben Raum sitzen.

Channel One. Talking Heads

von Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Ton: Max Heesen
42 Minuten
4:3, Stereo
Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch mit deutschen Untertiteln

„Channel One. Talking Heads“ zeigt 70 Jahre gelebte Gesprächskultur und Konfliktgeschichte der Stadt Berlin und der Institutionen Berliner Festwochen und Berliner Festspiele, verdichtet in einer 40-minütigen Collage mit hochkarätigen Vertreter*innen aus Kunst und Politik: von Willy Brandt bis Judith Malina, von Volker Braun bis Alfred Hitchcock, von Martin Luther King Jr. bis Hildegard Knef, von Fela Anikulapo Kuti bis Steffie Spira, von Angela Hampel bis Udo Lindenberg. Welchen Anspruch erheben sie an die Künste? Soll die Kunst nur sich selbst dienen oder besser doch der ganzen komplexen Wirklichkeit? Welche Folgen hat die Berliner Konstruktion als geteilte Stadt auf Kunst, Kultur und Gesellschaft? Und welche Hinterlassenschaften der Nazizeit prägen Kunst, Politik und Gesellschaft bis heute?

Channel Three. Arts

von Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Ton: Max Heesen
260 Minuten
Superbreitbildformat, Stereo
Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Russisch, teilweise mit deutschen Untertiteln

„Channel Three. Arts“ zeigt einen insgesamt mehr als vier Stunden langen Zusammenschnitt von Kunstpositionen aus allen Jahrzehnten der Festspielgeschichte, ausgewählt nach größtmöglicher Kompromisslosigkeit, Eigensinn und Wahnwitz. Darin enthalten ist unveröffentlichtes, in Bild wie Ton restauriertes und digitalisiertes Material, das der Skepsis gegenüber der Konservierbarkeit längst vergangener Bühnenkünste ein Schnippchen schlägt und ein Gefühl davon transportiert, was einst vielleicht live zu erleben war.

Filmstill aus „Frankenstein“ von The Living Theatre, 1966

Channel Three. Arts

1951–1969

Von Anna Magnani über Herbie Mann bis hin zu John Cage und Merce Cunningham versammelt das Programm der ersten 20 Jahre das Who is Who der internationalen Kunstszene. Außerdem sind Entdeckungen wie das Living Theatre aus New York oder der Dudelsack-Jazzer Rufus Harley aus Pennsylvania, aber auch Berliner Größen wie Boris Blacher, Boreslaw Barlog, Erwin Piscator oder Tatjana Gsovsky dabei. Auch Kunstpositionen aus Afrika sind von Beginn an Teil des Programms.

Filmstill aus „Aktion Tau (Angleichung IV)” von Wolf Kahlen, 1973

Channel Three. Arts

1970–1979, Part 1

In den 1970er-Jahren verlassen die Künstler*innen verstärkt die konventionellen Aufführungsorte – sie bespielen Ausstellungsräume mit Performances und Konzerten und erobern auch den öffentlichen Raum. Das Publikum wird zur direkten Teilhabe ermutigt und das Politische, Aktivistische und Prozessuale erhält Einzug in das Programm der Berliner Festwochen. Von Happening bis Zirkus, von Prozession bis Konfusion – die Kunst der 70er rüttelt auf und agitiert. Mit dabei: Theater von Beckett, Fassbinder, Kantor und Zadek, Performancekunst aus New York, ein ganzes Festival gewidmet dem Zirkus, Tanzdrama aus China, Kriegstänze aus Burundi und Happenings von Allan Kaprow und Wolf Kahlen.

Filmstill aus „The Wall” von Gordon Matta-Clark, 1976

Channel Three. Arts

1970–1979, Part 2

Der zweite Teil widmet sich unter anderem dem musikalischen Experiment. In den Metamusik-Festivals des österreichischen Musikpioniers Walter Bachauer und später auch den ersten Horizonte-Festivals trifft die Musik aller Genres und Kontinente aufeinander: Griots aus Afrika, Rock aus Europa, experimenteller Gesang aus Amerika und Koto-Saitenspiel aus Japan. Zu sehen sind auch Aktionen von Gordon Matta Clark, George Maciunas und Wolf Vostell, Luca Ronconi’s Ritterspiele und erstmals in Europa traditionelles Kabuki-Theater aus Tokio.

Filmstill aus „Structures Sonores“ von Bernard Baschet, 1980

Channel Three. Arts

1980–1999

Das geteilte Berlin als Konstruktion für den Frieden in Europa wird zum beherrschen Thema der Programme der Berliner Festspiele in den 1980er-Jahren. Vor allem die Malerei und die Theaterkunst der DDR findet bereits lang vor dem Mauerfall ihre Wertschätzung im Westen der Stadt. Als die Schülerband Anyway 1989 beim Treffen Junger Liedermacher auftritt, findet gleichzeitig wenige Kilometer weiter die Grenzöffnung statt. Die deutschsprachige Theaterszene wird fortan nachdrücklich geprägt von ostdeutschen Künstler*innen wie Bert Neumann, Corinna Harfouch, Frank Castorf und Heiner Müller. Doch auch aus anderen Richtungen bezieht das bei den Berliner Festwochen aufgeführte Theater neue Schlagkraft: Pina Bausch zeigt erstmals Tanz beim Theatertreffen, Thomas Braschs kontroverse Stücktexte werden überbordend interpretiert und Einar Schleef setzt die Wirkkräfte des chorischen Theaters ein. Daneben erfindet René Block eine Ausstellung für Augen und Ohren, die sich ganz dem musikalischen Raumexperiment widmet, im wiedereröffneten Martin-Gropius-Bau läuft eine Ausstellung über Preußen und auf dem Nachbargrundstück wird die bis heute bestehende „Topographie des Terrors“ eröffnet.

Filmstill aus William Shakespeares „Hamlet“ in der Regie von Christoph Schlingensief beim Theatertreffen 2001

Channel Three. Arts

2000–2021, Part 1

Angekommen im 21. Jahrhundert blicken wir zurück auf das legendäre Stadtraum-Wiedervereinigungs-Spektakel „Die Riesen“ von Jean-Luc Courcoult, auf Olafur Elliassons Spiel mit optischer Täuschung, René Polleschs Volksbühnendiskurse, Milo Raus hochpolitisches Dokumentartheater, Christoph Schlingensiefs Nazi-Hamlet, Sasha Waltz’ abstrakten Tanzpathos, Susanne Kennedys expressives Verfremdungstheater und vieles mehr.

Filmstill aus „Nationaltheater Reinickendorf“ von Vegard Vinge und Ida Müller, 2017

Channel Three. Arts

2000–2021, Part 2

Selten war die Kunst auf den Bühnen der Berliner Festspiele so kompromisslos und eigensinnig wie in den letzten 20 Jahren. Sie begreift, dass sie nichts mehr gewinnen muss, sondern das Spiel selbst der große Gewinn ist. More is more und Liebe, Brutalität und Humor schließen sich nicht aus. Dieser Einschätzung folgen wir bis zur Zielgerade. Künstler*innen wie Vegard Vinge und Ida Müller, Ragnar Kjartansson, William Forsythe, Jonathan Meese und Ilya Khrzhanovsky schlagen noch einmal tief in die Magengrube der internationalen Kunstbeflissenheit. Entweder wird es ganz laut, oder ganz leise, superlang oder pure Wiederholung, schnell und direkt überführt aus der unmittelbaren Lebensrealität oder jahrelang künstlich erschaffen. Außerdem blicken wir zurück auf die Programmreihe Immersion und sehen wunderbar ausufernde musikalische Experimente.

„Wir können erst anfangen, wenn Sie raus sind!“
Ansage zu Beginn der Performance „Stomp“ der Gruppe The Combine, Zirkus Busch, Berliner Festwochen 1970

Videos Thilo Fischer, David von der Stein

Ton Max Heesen

Kooperationspartner

Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur     null

Partner

Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

Ein besonderer Dank an

Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bujumbura (Burundi), Botschaft der Volksrepublik China in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD), Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zürich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo und Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate

sowie René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra und Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Torsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller und Vegard Vinge, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal und Martina Seidel.

Historische Konzertmitschnitte der Berliner Festwochen

Anlässlich Berliner Festspiele 70 wird Deutschlandfunk Kultur in der Reihe „Die besondere Aufnahme“ zwei historische Konzertmitschnitte der Berliner Festwochen senden: Am 11. September in einer Sondersendung zu 9/11 ab 19.05 Uhr den legendären Klavierabend von Peter Serkin, der am 11. September 2001 im Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie ohne abschließenden Applaus stattfand. Am 18. September wird ein Abend mit Werken von Luigi Nono zu erleben sein, aufgeführt vom Sinfonieorchester des Südwestfunks Baden-Baden mit Dirigent Michael Gielen am 21. September 1985 in der Philharmonie.

Deutschlandfunk Kultur am 11.09.2021

Deutschlandfunk Kultur am 18.09.2021