Musikfest Berlin Digital

Together with Berliner Philharmoniker’s Digital Concert Hall, Musikfest Berlin presented several concerts online, too. Live streams of the events were available for subscribers to the Digital Concert Hall there; recordings could be viewed on our site. Unless stated otherwise, the concert recordings were posted at 16:00 on the day following the live concert on Musikfest Berlin Digital and remained accessible for up to ten days from that time on. Information on the exact periods of accessibility is posted with the respective videos. You can find the programme of the Digital Concert Hall at digitalconcerthall.com.

As of 30 August 2021. Programme is subject to change.

Recordings
Not longer available
Earliest version of the “Roderich O’Connor” piece from “Finnegans Wake”

Available 31 August 2021, 16:00 – 10 September 2021, 16:00

Eröffnungskonzert: Ensemble Modern Orchestra

The innovative power of the Ensemble Modern Orchestra and the genre-crossing compositional style of Heiner Goebbels meet again: on the occasion of the Beethoven Year, Heiner Goebbels has written a new work, the premiere of which will take place at the Musikfest Berlin 2021 under the baton of Vimbayi Kaziboni.

Igor Stravinsky playing lyre on a removed Citroën radiator grille, c. 1933

Available 2 September 2021, 16:00 – 12 September 2021, 16:00

Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam

The Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam and Daniel Harding open the series of concerts dedicated to Igor Stravinsky at the Musikfest Berlin with the ballet “Agon” from 1957. In this late work, clear traces of all creative phases of Stravinsky can be heard. It is accompanied by works by his contemporaries Olivier Messiaen and Claude Debussy.

George Benjamin

Available 3 September 2021, 16:00 – 13 September 2021, 16:00

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Igor Stravinsky’s “Movements” for piano and orchestra is considered the most rigorous work in the composer’s œuvre. The idiosyncratic piano concerto will be juxtaposed with the music of Oliver Knussen and Henry Purcell. To round off the programme, the German premiere of George Benjamin’s “Concerto for Orchestra” will be performed under the baton of the composer himself.

John Eliot Gardiner

Available 4 September 2021, 16:00 – 14 September 2021, 16:00

English Baroque Soloists, Monteverdi Choir

The works of George Frideric Handel and Johann Sebastian Bach, presented by John Eliot Gardiner, the English Baroque Soloists and the Monteverdi Choir at the Musikfest Berlin, were composed almost simultaneously: Impressive testimony of the early work of these two great Baroque masters.

Igor Stravinsky working on a score using his “cut and paste” method of composition, California, 13.12.1966

Available 5 September 2021, 16:00 – 15 September 2021, 16:00

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

The Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin and Vladimir Jurowski present an unusual portrait of Stravinsky at the Musikfest Berlin: rarely performed works from the 1920s and the late period, rounded off by the symphony “Mathis der Maler” by Paul Hindemith, whose paths crossed with Stravinsky’s on several occasions.

Bell tower of the village of Graun, Italy, submerged in Lake Reschen

Available 7 September 2021, 16:00 – 8 September 2021, 16:00

Orchestre des Champs-Élysées, Collegium Vocale Gent

Sacred music by three composers whose works are rarely heard together has been compiled here by conductor Philippe Herreweghe: Stravinsky’s “Symphony of Psalms” and Fauré’s “Requiem” as large-ensemble framework points are flanked by Brahms’ early work “Begräbnisgesang” for mixed choir and wind instruments.

Gianlorenzo Bernini, Ecstasy of Saint Teresa of Ávila, detail, 1652. Santa Maria della Vittoria, Rom

Available 8 September 2021, 16:00 – 18 September 2021, 16:00

London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra embark on a search for answers to the great questions of humanity with a work by the composer Ondřej Adámek. “Where are you?” he asks and composes a search for God. This musical testimony is complemented by Beethoven’s “Pastorale”.

Petrus Christus, Portrait of a Young Woman, c. 1470, detail

Available 9 September 2021, 16:00 – 10 September 2021, 16:00

Collegium Vocale Gent

The fifth book of madrigals by Don Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa is presented by the Collegium Vocale Gent under the baton of Philippe Herreweghe. Through its unique expressiveness, the music of the eccentric composer-prince exerts an immense fascination to this day.

Rebecca Saunders

Available 10 September 2021, 16:00 – 20 September 2021, 16:00

Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra

Rebecca Saunders and Anton Webern – one of the most interesting sound researchers of our time meets the modern classic and its precise minimalism. The Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra under the baton of Enno Poppe devotes its Musikfest Berlin guest performance to this promising combination.

Joolz Gale

Available 13 September 2021, 16:00 – 23 September 2021, 16:00

Ensemble Mini

Large orchestral works arranged for a small ensemble – the name says it all with Ensemble Mini. In keeping with the festival’s focus, the ensemble under the baton of Joolz Gale will perform two of Stravinsky’s symphonic works, which were composed under difficult conditions during the Second World War.

Poster announcing the premiere of Igor Stravinsky's “Threni” on 23 September 1958 at the Scuola di San Rocco in Venice

Available 16 September 2021, 16:00 – 26 September 2021, 16:00

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, Kammerakademie Potsdam

The “Lamentiones” – the lamentations of the prophet Jeremiah – will be the focus of the concert by Justin Doyle, director of the RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, together with the Kammerakademie Potsdam. Various settings of the impressive text from the Old Testament will be heard by the great masters of the Renaissance as well as Igor Stravinsky’s version in “Threni”.

Musikfest Berlin Digital

Gemeinsam mit der Digital Concert Hall der Berliner Philharmoniker präsentierte das Musikfest Berlin der Berliner Festspiele ausgewählte Konzerte online. Livestreams der Veranstaltungen waren für Abonnent*innen der Digital Concert Hall dort verfügbar, Aufzeichnungen konnten Sie bei uns sehen. Die Konzertaufzeichnungen wurden, sofern nicht anders angegeben, am Folgetag des Live-Konzerts um 16:00 Uhr auf Musikfest Berlin Digital veröffentlicht und waren von diesem Zeitpunkt an bis zu 10 Tage abrufbar. Die genauen Abrufzeiträume finden Sie bei den jeweiligen Videos. Das Programm der Digital Concert Hall finden Sie unter digitalconcerthall.com.

Programmstand: 30. August 2021. Änderungen vorbehalten.

Aufzeichnungen
Nicht mehr verfügbar
Früheste Version des „Roderich O’Connor”-Stücks aus „Finnegans Wake“

Verfügbar 31. August 2021, 16:00 – 10. September 2021, 16:00

Eröffnungskonzert: Ensemble Modern Orchestra

Die innovative Kraft des Ensemble Modern Orchestra und die genreübergreifende Kompositionsweise von Heiner Goebbels treffen erneut aufeinander: Anlässlich des Beethoven-Jahres hat Heiner Goebbels ein neues Werk geschrieben, dessen Uraufführung beim Musikfest Berlin 2021 unter der Leitung von Vimbayi Kaziboni stattfindet.

Igor Strawinsky spielt Lyra auf einem abgenommenen Citroën-Kühlergrill, um 1933

Verfügbar 2. September 2021, 16:00 – 12. September 2021, 16:00

Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam

Das Concertgebouworkest und Daniel Harding eröffnen die Reihe der Igor Strawinsky gewidmeten Konzerte beim Musikfest Berlin mit dem Ballett „Agon“ von 1957. In dem späten Werk sind deutliche Spuren aller Schaffensphasen Strawinskys herauszuhören. Ihm zur Seite stehen Werke seiner Zeitgenossen Olivier Messiaen und Claude Debussy.

George Benjamin

Verfügbar 3. September 2021, 16:00 – 13. September 2021, 16:00

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Igor Strawinskys „Movements“ für Klavier und Orchester gilt als das dichteste und strengste Werk im Œuvre des Komponisten. Das eigenwillige Klavierkonzert steht der Musik Oliver Knussens und Henry Purcells gegenüber. Abgerundet wird das Programm von der Deutschen Erstaufführung des „Concerto for Orchestra“ von George Benjamin, der das Konzert auch dirigieren wird.

John Eliot Gardiner

Verfügbar 4. September 2021, 16:00 – 14. September 2021, 16:00

English Baroque Soloists, Monteverdi Choir

Nahezu zeitgleich sind die Werke von Georg Friedrich Händel und Johann Sebastian Bach entstanden, die John Eliot Gardiner mit den English Baroque Soloists und dem Monteverdi Choir beim Musikfest Berlin präsentiert: beeindruckende Zeugnisse aus dem Frühwerk der beiden großen Barockmeister.

Igor Strawinsky, Aufnahme aus den 1920er – 1930er Jahren, George Grantham Collection

Verfügbar 5. September 2021, 16:00 – 15. September 2021, 16:00

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Ein ungewöhnliches Strawinsky-Porträt präsentieren das Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin und Vladimir Jurowski beim Musikfest Berlin: selten gespielte Werke aus den 1920er Jahren und dem Spätwerk, abgerundet durch die Symphonie „Mathis der Maler“ von Paul Hindemith, dessen Wege sich mit denen Strawinskys mehrfach kreuzten.

Glockenturm der im Reschensee versunkenen Ortschaft Graun, Italien

Verfügbar 7. September 2021, 16:00 – 8. September 2021, 16:00

Orchestre des Champs-Élysées, Collegium Vocale Gent

Geistliche Musik von drei Komponisten, deren Werke selten zusammen erklingen, hat der Dirigent Philippe Herreweghe hier zusammengestellt: Strawinskys „Psalmensinfonie“ und Faurés „Requiem“ als großbesetzte Rahmenpunkte werden flankiert von Brahms’ frühen Werk „Begräbnisgesang" für gemischten Chor und Blasinstrumente.

Gianlorenzo Bernini, Ekstase der Heiligen Theresa von Ávila, Ausschnitt, 1652. Santa Maria della Vittoria, Rom

Verfügbar 8. September 2021, 16:00 – 18. September 2021, 16:00

London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle und das London Symphony Orchestra begeben sich mit einem Werk des Komponisten Ondřej Adámek auf die Suche nach Antworten auf die ganz großen Fragen der Menschheit. „Where are you?“ fragt dieser und komponiert eine Suche nach Gott. Ergänzt wird dieses musikalische Zeugnis von Beethovens „Pastorale“.

Petrus Christus, Porträt einer jungen Frau, um 1470, Ausschnitt

Verfügbar 9. September 2021, 16:00 – 10. September 2021, 16:00

Collegium Vocale Gent

Das fünfte Madrigalbuch von Don Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa präsentiert das Collegium Vocale Gent unter der Leitung von Philippe Herreweghe. Durch ihre einzigartige Ausdruckskraft übt die Musik des exzentrischen Komponisten-Fürsten bis heute eine immense Faszination aus.

Rebecca Saunders

Verfügbar 10. September 2021, 16:00 – 20. September 2021, 16:00

Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra

Rebecca Saunders und Anton Webern – eine der interessantesten Klangforscherinnen unserer Zeit trifft auf den Klassiker der Moderne und dessen präzisen Minimalismus. Das Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra unter der Leitung von Enno Poppe widmet sich bei seinem Musikfest Berlin-Gastspiel dieser vielversprechenden Kombination.

Paolo Monti, Piazza di San Marco, 1977

Verfügbar 14. September 2021, 16:00 – 21. September 2021, 16:00

Les Siècles, Rundfunkchor Berlin

Einmal durch die verschiedenen Stationen von Strawinskys kompositorischem Schaffen führt uns François-Xavier Roth mit seinem Orchester Les Siècles – von dem frühen Skandalstück „Le Sacre du Printemps“ über das neobarocke „Concerto en ré“ für Streichorchester bis zum „Canticum Sacrum“ aus dem Jahr 1955, einem musikalischen Denkmal des Markusdoms in Venedig.

Joolz Gale

Verfügbar 13. September 2021, 16:00 – 23. September 2021, 16:00

Ensemble Mini

Große Orchesterwerke arrangiert für kleine Ensemblebesetzung – beim Ensemble Mini ist der Name Programm. Passend zum Festivalschwerpunkt ist das Ensemble unter der Leitung von Joolz Gale mit zwei symphonischen Werken Strawinskys zu Gast, die während des Zweiten Weltkriegs unter schwierigen Verhältnissen komponiert wurden.

Plakat mit der Ankündigung der Premiere von Igor Strawinskys „Threni“ am 23. September 1958 in der Scuola di San Rocco in Venedig

Verfügbar 16. September 2021, 16:00 – 26. September 2021, 16:00

RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, Kammerakademie Potsdam

Die „Lamentiones“ – die Klagelieder des Propheten Jeremia – stellt Justin Doyle, Leiter des RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, ins Zentrum des Konzerts zusammen mit der Kammerakademie Potsdam. Verschiedene Vertonungen des eindrucksvollen Textes aus dem Alten Testament werden erklingen von den großen Meistern der Renaissance sowie Igor Strawinskys Version in „Threni“.