This Is Not a Game

A short history of Q as a mindfuck game

Playing with reality: in his video essay, Arne Vogelgesang looks at the history of and background to QAnon and considers the elements that have contributed to the rapid spread of this conspiracy theory.

Film still from: “This Is Not a Game”

Film still from “This Is Not a Game”

55 min, in German

“Alternate Reality Games” combine reality and fiction in interesting and startling ways. Based on interactive structures, ARGs incorporate a very wide range of media, and generate a strong compulsive effect on the players who (help) shape the game by researching and exchanging information. ARGs use the individual lives of the players as their true gaming platform, thus forming active and enduring communities.

What has this got to do with QAnon? Since this myth, which has also established itself as a brand, became widespread, numerous observers have pointed out how it operates on similar principles to “Larping” (Live Action Role Playing). In QAnon one can find elements of both LARPs and ARGs combining to create a new form. Arne Vogelgesang guides us through stories that shape reality and examines the growth of QAnon primarily in the context of the evolution of US politics.

We wish to thank jugendschutz.net for kindly making this video available.
A shortened version was first presented in lecture form as part of the Remote Chaos Experience in December 2020.

Arne Vogelgesang
is a director and founder-member of the theatre label internil. He has created freelance theatre work under this and other names since 2005, experimenting with a various composites of documentary material, new media and performance. Key themes in his work include political radicalisation, deviant practices and the digitisation of what is human. He also works as a video artist and in cultural education, publishes literary texts and presents lectures and workshops on the aesthetics of radical internet propaganda.
vogelgesang.internil.net

This Is Not a Game

Eine kurze Geschichte von Q als Mindfuck-Spiel

Ein Spiel mit Realität: In seinem Videoessay betrachtet Arne Vogelgesang die Geschichte und Hintergründe von QAnon und überlegt, welche Komponenten zur extrem schnellen Verbreitung dieses Verschwörungsmythos beigetragen haben.

Filmstill aus: „This Is Not a Game“

Filmstill aus „This Is Not a Game“

55 min, in deutscher Sprache

„Alternate Reality Games“ verknüpfen Realität und Fiktion auf interessante und verblüffende Weise. Basierend auf interaktiven Strukturen, binden ARGs verschiedenste Medien ein, erzeugen eine starke Sogwirkung für die Spielenden, die durch gemeinsames Recherchieren und Austauschen das Spiel (mit)gestalten, und benutzen die individuellen Leben der Spieler*innen als eigentliche Spielplattform. So organisieren sie oft aktive und beständige Gemeinschaften.

Was hat dies nun mit QAnon zu tun? Zahlreiche Beobachter*innen haben seit der Verbreitung dieses Mythos, der sich zugleich als Marke etabliert hat, auf die Verbindung zum Spielprinzip des „Larping“ hingewiesen. In QAnon lassen sich Bestandteile von LARPs (Live Action Role Playing) und ARGs finden, die in ihrer Kombination eine neue Form ergeben. Arne Vogelgesang führt uns durch Geschichten, die Realität gestalten, und betrachtet die Entwicklung von QAnon vor allem im Kontext der Entwicklung der US-Politik.

Wir danken jugendschutz.net für die freundliche Zurverfügungstellung des Videos.
Eine verkürzte Version fand als Vortrag erstmals im Rahmen der Remote Chaos Experience im Dezember 2020 statt.

Arne Vogelgesang
ist Regisseur und Gründungsmitglied des Theaterlabels internil. Unter diesem und eigenem Namen betreibt er seit 2005 freie Theaterarbeit und experimentiert dabei mit verschiedenen Zusammensetzungen von dokumentarischem Material, neuen Medien und Performance. Inhaltlich beschäftigt er sich mit politischer Radikalisierung, devianten Praktiken und der Digitalisierung des Menschlichen. Außerdem arbeitet er als Videokünstler und in der kulturellen Bildung, veröffentlicht literarische Beiträge und hält Vorträge und Workshops zur Ästhetik radikaler Internet-Propaganda.
vogelgesang.internil.net