One Day for … Martin Luther King, Jr.. Documentation

© Greenpocket Bewegtbild / Berliner Festspiele

Celebration

One Day for … Martin Luther King, Jr.

Now is the time

On 12 September 1964, Martin Luther King, Jr. landed on the runway of Berlin’s Tempelhof airport. On the occasion of the 14th Berliner Festwochen, which also provided the founding impulse for the Berliner Jazztage (a festival that still exists as Jazzfest Berlin today), a memorial for John F. Kennedy was held. In the summer of 1963, Kennedy – “Ich bin ein Berliner!” – had won the hearts of the divided city’s inhabitants; he was assassinated only a few months later. On 13 September 1964, Martin Luther King, Jr. spoke in his memory at the Berlin Philharmonic. Later he gave a sermon in front of an audience of 20,000 at the Waldbühne and also spoke at Marienkirche and Sophienkirche in the Eastern part of the city.

To mark the 50th anniversary of his visit and this speech, the Berliner Festspiele, in cooperation with ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, celebrate “One Day for … Martin Luther King, Jr.” Together with artists, writers, students, activists and witnesses of this time, we will search for traces of this visit.

We will also explore how relevant the values which Martin Luther King, Jr. represented and lived by are for us today and how they influence current political education and the promotion of civil courage in our society.

The day will begin with a tour of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s traces in Berlin, either by bicycle or on foot. From 15:30, the Haus der Berliner Festspiele will open its doors and present an interplay of discussions and performances by Clayborne Carson, Grada Kilomba, Jocelyn B. Smith, Elke Naters, Philipp Ruch and the Label Noir theatre company. Exhibitions and a programme of films will set out leads which will be brought together onstage in the evening: With Denys Baptiste’s concert performance “Now Is the Time – Let Freedom Ring!”, we will celebrate both the 50th anniversary of this historic visit and the 50th edition of Jazzfest Berlin, which is dedicating a festival focus to Martin Luther King this year.

Programme

Discussions, performances and music Upper Foyer
16:00: “Martin Luther King, Jr. in the US: Yes, we can! – Mission accomplished?”
Keynote by Clayborne Carson (in English)

16:30: Jocelyn B. Smith, “Soul Message”, piano and vocals

17:00: “Where are we now? – Berlin 2014”
Panel with Saraya Gomis (King Code), Elke Naters (Sharehaus), Philipp Ruch (Zentrum für Politische Schönheit) and Roland Stolte (Marienkirche)
Moderation: Natasha A. Kelly
With film clips and short theatre scenes from “Heimat, bittersüße Heimat” and “Satoe” by Label Noir

18:15: “Challenges ahead in a globalized world: facing the future”
Excerpts from the play reading “Plantation Memories” by Grada Kilomba
Dialogue between Clayborne Carson and Grada Kilomba (in English)

Jazzfest Berlin Kassenhalle
18:00: Artistic director Bert Noglik presents the programme of the Berlin Jazz Festival 2014.

Closing concert Main Stage
20:00: “Now Is the Time – Let Freedom Ring!”
Concert and audiovisual performance by Denys Baptiste
In cooperation with Jazzfest Berlin

Exhibitions
• The King Code Exhibition: Martin Luther King, Jr. @ Berlin 1964–2014
EDEWA – Einkaufsgenossenschaft Antirassistischen Widerstands
• “Aus dem Fels der Verzweiflung einen Stein der Hoffnung hauen” – Martin Luther King und die DDR (touring exhibition of the Martin-Luther-King-Zentrum Werdau)
Each One Teach One e.V. (book table)

Films
• “King: A Filmed Record … Montgomery to Memphis”
(USA 1970, directed by Sidney Lumet, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, production: Ely Landau)
• “Der King Code. Martin Luther King, Jr. in Berlin” (Germany 2014, directed by Andreas Kuno Richter, production: EIKON Nord Filmproduktion)

An event of Berliner Festspiele in cooperation with ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius

Ein Tag für … Martin Luther King, Jr.. Dokumentation

© Greenpocket Bewegtbild / Berliner Festspiele

Fest

Ein Tag für … Martin Luther King, Jr.

Now is the time

Am 12. September 1964 landete Martin Luther King, Jr. auf dem Rollfeld des Tempelhofer Flughafens. Zur Eröffnung der 14. Berliner Festwochen, zugleich Gründungsimpuls der Berliner Jazztage, die bis heute im Jazzfest Berlin fortleben, fand eine Gedenkfeier für John F. Kennedy statt. Kennedy hatte im Sommer 1963 – „Ich bin ein Berliner!“ – die Herzen der Bewohner der geteilten Stadt gewonnen und war nur wenige Monate später einem Attentat zum Opfer gefallen. Am 13. September 1964 um 11 Uhr morgens sprach Martin Luther King, Jr. zu seinem Andenken in der Berliner Philharmonie, später predigte er vor 20.000 Menschen in der Waldbühne und sprach auch in der Marien- und der Sophienkirche im Ostteil der Stadt.

Anlässlich des 50. Jahrestages seines Besuchs und dieser Rede veranstalten die Berliner Festspiele in Kooperation mit der ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius „Ein Tag für… Martin Luther King, Jr.“ Mit Künstlern, Autoren, Schülern, Aktivisten und Zeitzeugen begeben wir uns auf Spurensuche dieses Besuchs.

Ebenso widmen wir uns der Frage, welche Aktualität die von Martin Luther King, Jr. vertretenen und gelebten Wertevorstellungen für uns noch haben, und wie sie heute politische Bildung und Förderung von Zivilcourage in unserer Gesellschaft beeinflussen.

Der Tag beginnt mit einer Tour durch Berlin, mit dem Rad oder zu Fuß, auf den Spuren von Martin Luther King, Jr. Ab 15:30 Uhr öffnet das Haus der Berliner Festspiele seine Türen und legt im Wechselspiel zwischen Diskussions-Beiträgen und Performances von u.a. Clayborne Carson, Grada Kilomba, Jocelyn B. Smith, Elke Naters, Philipp Ruch, der Theatergruppe Label Noir, mit Ausstellungen und einem Filmprogramm verschiedene Fäden aus, die dann am Abend auf der Bühne zusammengeführt werden: Mit Denys Baptistes Konzertperformance „Now Is the Time – Let Freedom Ring!“ zelebrieren wir den 50. Jahrestag dieses historischen Besuches wie auch den 50. Geburtstag des Jazzfest Berlin, das Martin Luther King, Jr. in diesem Jahr einen Festivalschwerpunkt widmet.

Programm

Diskussionen, Performances und Musik Rangfoyer
16:00 Uhr: „Martin Luther King, Jr. in the US: Yes, we can! – Mission accomplished?“
Keynote von Clayborne Carson (in engl. Sprache)

16:30 Uhr: Jocelyn B. Smith, „Soul Message“, Piano und Gesang

17:00 Uhr: „Where are we now? – Berlin 2014“
Panel mit Saraya Gomis (King Code), Elke Naters (Sharehaus), Philipp Ruch (Zentrum für Politische Schönheit) und Roland Stolte (Marienkirche)
Moderation: Natasha A. Kelly
Mit Filmclips und kurzen Theaterszenen aus „Heimat, bittersüße Heimat“ und „Satoe“ von Label Noir

18:15 Uhr: „Challenges ahead in a globalized world: facing the future“
Auszüge aus der szenischen Lesung „Plantation Memories“ von Grada Kilomba
Zwiegespräch zwischen Clayborne Carson und Grada Kilomba (in engl. Sprache)

Jazzfest Berlin Kassenhalle
18:00 Uhr: Der künstlerische Leiter Bert Noglik stellt das Programm des Jazzfest Berlin 2014 vor.

Abschlusskonzert Große Bühne
20:00 Uhr: „Now Is the Time – Let Freedom Ring!“
Konzert und audiovisuelle Performance von Denys Baptiste
In Kooperation mit dem Jazzfest Berlin

Ausstellungen
• The King Code Exhibition: Martin Luther King, Jr. @ Berlin 1964–2014
EDEWA – Einkaufsgenossenschaft Antirassistischen Widerstands
• „Aus dem Fels der Verzweiflung einen Stein der Hoffnung hauen“ – Martin Luther King und die DDR (Wanderausstellung des Martin-Luther-King-Zentrums Werdau)
Each One Teach One e.V. (Büchertisch)

Filme
• „King: A Filmed Record… Montgomery to Memphis“
(USA 1970, Regie: Sidney Lumet, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, Produktion: Ely Landau)
• „Der King Code. Martin Luther King, Jr. in Berlin“ (D 2014, Regie: Andreas Kuno Richter, Produktion: EIKON Nord Filmproduktion)

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele in Kooperation mit der ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius