Liquid Room. Kaaitheater, Brussels 2009. [Trailer]

Concert

Opening: Liquid Room

The nomadology of movement becomes the natural order of thought. Nigel Thrift

“Liquid Room” is a special concert format that Belgian ensemble Ictus developed and now presents in its six edition: a format that shakes up concert conventions and starts up a kind of live streaming of music. Over time a handpicked repertoire mostly of chamber music gradually unfolds. The instrumental music and its performative quality, interdisciplinary ventures across the boundaries between acoustic and electronic forms, the fusion of sound and light, audio and video are equally important and come together to create a precisely planned composition in both time and space, enabling the visitors to move around freely within it.

The concert hall’s “fourth wall” gives way to four stages, with the energies unleashed by sounds and bodies newly reconfiguring and freely unfolding between them. A setting that enables self-determined listening and various listening positions: from the meditative immersion into sound landscapes or the analytical listening of a composition, a stroller incidentally listening while passing by yet maintaining a certain distance to the events on the stage, to being completely absorbed in the virtuosity and presence of the musicians and a self-selected pause.

“Liquid Room” refers to: the liquefied space, a concert as a complete experience between installation and performance, a hybrid that seems to correspond more to the nomadic and hectic pace of life and its logic of permanent change than sitting still in the darkened container space of a concert hall.

The Berlin edition of “Liquid Room” expands this approach for the first time towards a collaboration of two leading ensembles for contemporary music: invited by the festival, Ictus and Ensemble Mosaik have put together this highly energetic evening along with special guests such as Eva Reiter, Cédric Dambrain and Bruce McClure.

Ictus Ensemble
ensemble mosaik

Cédric Dambrain electronics
Eva Reiter viola da gamba, voice
Bruce McClure modified projector performance
Alex Fostier direction, sound direction
Daniel Plewe sound direction
Caspar Langhoff lighting design

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Liquid Room. Kaaitheater, Brüssel 2009. [Trailer]

Konzert

Eröffnung: Liquid Room

The nomadology of movement becomes the natural order of thought. Nigel Thrift

„Liquid Room“ ist ein besonderes Konzertformat, das das belgische Ensemble Ictus entwickelt hat und nun in seiner sechsten Ausgabe präsentiert: ein Format, das die Konventionen des Konzerts aufbricht und eine Art Live-Streaming von Musik in Gang setzt. Über eine lange Zeitstrecke entfaltet sich ein handverlesenes Repertoire meist kammermusikalischen Zuschnitts. Das instrumentale Spiel und seine performative Qualität, interdisziplinäre Grenzgänge zwischen akustischen und elektronischen Spielformen, die Fusion von Klang und Licht, Audio und Video stehen dabei gleichberechtigt nebeneinander und fügen sich zu einer präzise geplanten Komposition in Raum und Zeit, innerhalb derer sich die Besucher frei bewegen können.

Die „vierte Wand“ des Konzertsaals weicht einem Ensemble von vier Bühnen, zwischen denen sich die Energien von Klängen und Körpern neu zusammensetzen und frei entfalten können. Eine Situation, die selbstbestimmtes Hören und unterschiedliche Hörhaltungen ermöglicht: von der meditativen Versenkung in Klanglandschaften oder dem analytische Durchhören einer Komposition über das beiläufige Hören des Flaneurs, der zum Bühnengeschehen Distanz wahrt, bis hin zum völligen Aufgehen in der Virtuosität und Präsenz der Musiker und der selbst gewählten Pause.

„Liquid Room“ – das meint: der verflüssigte Raum, Konzert als Gesamterfahrung zwischen Installation und Performance, ein Hybrid, der dem nomadischen und beschleunigten Leben und seiner Logik der permanenten Verwandlung mehr zu entsprechen scheint als das Stillsitzen im abgedunkelten Containerraum des Konzertsaals.

Die Berliner Ausgabe von „Liquid Room“ erweitert diesen Ansatz erstmals in Richtung einer Zusammenarbeit zweier führender Ensembles für Musik der Gegenwart: Ictus und Ensemble Mosaik gestalten auf Einladung des Festivals diesen hochenergetischen Abend gemeinsam mit speziellen Gästen wie Eva Reiter, Cédric Dambrain und Bruce McClure.

Ictus Ensemble
ensemble mosaik

Cédric Dambrain Elektronik
Eva Reiter Viola da Gamba, Stimme
Bruce McClure Modified Projector Performance
Alex Fostier Leitung, Klangregie
Daniel Plewe Klangregie
Caspar Langhoff Licht

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Logo Kulturstiftung des Bundes