Kari Rønnekleiv

Kari Rønnekleiv

© Kirsti Reinsberg Mørch

Concert

Ciaccona

On a timeline, almost 300 years lie between J.S. Bach‘s Partita in D Minor for solo violin (1720) and the Ciaccona (2002) by Norwegian composer and violinist Ole-Henrik Moe.

While in Bach’s partitas the sarabands, bourrees, gigues and chaconnes appear like richly ornamented musical objects in the “empty” space, only to disappear again, in Moe’s Ciaconna they are acoustic events whose ephemeral figures emerge from an endlessly filled sound universe and begin to contour themselves, only to vanish again in the silence.

Musicologist Peter Gülke wrote about Bach’s partitas that they primarily conversed with themselves, talking about the person performing it and about the listener behind him who hears it as if he were playing himself. This statement also applies to Ole-Henrik Moe’s Ciaconna. This music devotes itself to sonic worlds that open up beyond the clearly delineated sound: the overtone spectra of the instrument and its diversity, the noises that the bow can produce on the violin, the manifold continuums of rhythm to sound. The wood of the violin becomes audible, not just as a percussion instrument but also the possibilities of creating quasi-electronic sounds with it. Ciaccona by Moe is, like the Bach partitas, a composition at the boundaries of that which can be realized. The musician brings it into an intensive dialogue with its instrument, demanding concentration and ease of the listener.

Moe wrote Ciaccona in 2002 to commemorate his teacher, Iannis Xenakis, who had just died. The over forty-minute work is a variation series that is based on a fragment of the pre-Socratic philosopher Heraklit: “Harmonie (a)phanes phaneres kreiton”, or in English: “invisible harmony is stronger than visible harmony”. For his work, Ole-Henrik Moe translates this to the effect that a hidden structure seems stronger than the clearly visible or audible. For him, the Heraklit fragment became a starting point for various musical compositions, with the phonetic, tonal and rhetorical qualities of the Greek original serving as a foundation for a number of variations.

Johann Sebastian Bach
Ciaccona from the Partita in D minor for violin solo BWV 1004 (1717-1723)

Ole-Henrik Moe
Ciaccona for violin solo (2002)

Kari Rønnekleiv

Kari Rønnekleiv

© Kirsti Reinsberg Mørch

Konzert

Ciaccona

Auf einem Zeitstrahl liegen fast 300 Jahre zwischen der Partita in d-Moll für Violine solo von J.S. Bach (1720) und der Ciaccona (2002) des norwegischen Komponisten und Violinisten Ole-Henrik Moe.

Wenn in Bachs Partiten die Sarabanden, Bourrees, Gigues und Chaconnes wie reich verzierte musikalische Objekte im „leeren“ Raum auftauchen und wieder verschwinden, sind es in Moes Ciaccona Klangereignisse, deren ephemere Gestalten aus einem unendlich angefüllten Klanguniversum heraustreten und sich zu konturieren beginnen, um letztendlich wieder in der Stille zu verschwinden.

Der Musikwissenschaftler Peter Gülke schrieb zu Bachs Partiten, sie unterhielten sich vor allem mit sich selbst, meinten danach den, der sie spielt, und hinter ihm den, der sie so hört, als würde er spielen. Dieses Statement trifft auch die Ciaccona von Ole-Henrik Moe zu. Diese Musik wendet sich Klangwelten zu, die sich jenseits des klar umrissenen Tones auftun: den Obertonspektren des Instruments und ihrer Vielstimmigkeit, den Geräuschen, die auf der Geige mit dem Bogen zu erzeugen möglich sind, den vielfältigen Kontinuen vom Rhythmus zum Klang. Das Holz der Geige wird hörbar gemacht, nicht nur als Schlaginstrument, aber auch die Möglichkeiten mit ihr quasi-elektronische Klänge zu erzeugen. Ciaccona von Moe ist wie die Bach’schen Partiten eine Komposition an der Grenze des Realisierbaren. Den Musiker bringt sie in eine intensive Zwiesprache mit seinem Instrument, dem Hörer verlangt sie Konzentration und Muße zum Hören ab.

Moe schrieb Ciaccona im Jahr 2002 zum Gedenken an seinen kurz zuvor verstorben Lehrer Iannis Xenakis. Das über vierzigminütige Stück ist eine Variations-Reihe, die auf einem Fragment des vorsokratischen Philosophen Heraklit beruht: „Harmonie (a)phanes phaneres kreiton“, zu deutsch etwa: „Nicht offenkundige Harmonie ist starker als offenkundige“. Ole-Henrik Moe übersetzt das für seine Arbeit dahin gehend, dass eine versteckte Struktur stärker wirkt als die offen sichtbare oder hörbare. Das Fragment des Heraklit wurde ihm zum Ausgangspunkt für verschiedene musikalische Ausarbeitungen, wobei auch die phonetischen, klangsprachlichen Qualitäten des griechischen Originals als Grundlage einiger Variationen dienten.

Johann Sebastian Bach
Ciaccona aus der Partita in d-moll für Violine solo BWV 1004 (1717-1723)

Ole-Henrik Moe
Ciaccona für Violine solo (2002)