Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Konzerthausorchester Berlin / Lothar Zagrosek

Dark times and gloomy topics form the background to which the music applies its glowing script, thereby breaking, if not banishing the darkness. The basic colour of Leos Janáček’s Paternoster-composition is already shifted into lightness by means of its instrumentation: solo tenor, harp and organ. The music sounds like an infinite variation of the first plea: »Thy kingdom come …«. Yet it should not appear in the foreign tongue of the Western church, but rather in the composer’s own – stylised into sublimity: Church Slavonic. God should be a god of liberty – the liberty to one’s own identity.

Looked at in this way Francis Poulenc’s choral cantata Figure humaine (the human countenance) would also be a religious work – even though the name of God is not mentioned. The composition is based on poems by Paul Eluard, written and distributed illegally by him during the Resistance. In the course of the composition it seems as if the music lifts the poetry out of its view of suffering, agony and cruelty; as if it raises its head and voice up to that 21-verse call – at the end of which stands the salvational word: »Liberté«. The darkness of time transforms itself into a shelter for the partisans of humanity.

Leos Janáček composed his last opera based on Fyodor Dostoevsky’s The House of the Dead. It is a penal camp, one of those institutions that the totalitarian century took over from the times of dynastic autocracy and perfected into a hell on earth. Partly, the opera erases the wish for a heaven on earth; partly, it militantly allows this wish to shine anew.

Nekuia stands for a magical rite, in which the spirits of the dead are invoked and questioned about the future. Iannis Xenakis gave his composition for voices and instruments a plastic shape; he created an architecture in time, the inside of which is invigorated by melodies, both instrumental and word-borne, that wander through the sound space, transforming themselves, changing, drawing distinct lines or shrouding themselves in a sounding mist. They keep within themselves the memory of singing – the elementary and individual basis of music. On the boundaries of experience, human dignity is on trial.

Concert Programme

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Otcenáš
for tenor, choir, harp and organ [1901/06]

Francis Poulenc [1899–1963]
Figure humaine
Cantata on a text by Paul Eluard [1943]
for mixed double choir

Leoš Janáček
From the House of Dead [1925–27]
Orchestra suite from the opera of the same name
arranged by Harold Byrns

Iannis Xenakis [1922–2001]
Nekuia
for mixed choir and orchestra [1981]
based on texts by Jean Paul and Françoise Xenakis

Cast

Joachim Dalitz organ
Maria Graf harp
Algirdas Janutas tenor

Latvian Radio Choir and State Choir of the Republic of Latvia »Latvija«
Sigvards Klava choir director

Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Lothar Zagrosek conductor

A joint event of musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele and Konzerthaus Berlin

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Konzerthausorchester Berlin / Lothar Zagrosek

Finstere Zeiten und düstere Themen bilden den Hintergrund, auf den die Musik ihre Leuchtschrift aufträgt und damit das Dunkel bricht, wenn nicht bannt. Schon die Besetzung – Solo-Tenor, Chor, Harfe und Orgel – rückt die Grundfarbe von Leos Janáčeks Vaterunser-Komposition ins Helle. Die Musik klingt wie eine unendliche Variation der ersten Bitte: „Dein Reich komme …“. Es soll aber nicht in der Fremdsprache der westlichen Kirche, sondern in des Komponisten eigener, ins Erhabene stilisierten Sprache erscheinen, dem Kirchenslawisch. Gott sei ein Gott der Freiheit, der Freiheit zur eigenen Identität.

So betrachtet, wäre auch Francis Poulencs Chorkantate Figure humaine (Das menschliche Antlitz) ein geistliches Werk, auch wenn der Name Gottes nicht fällt. Komponiert ist sie nach Gedichten, die Paul Eluard im Widerstand schrieb und illegal verbreitete. Ihr Verlauf wirkt, als hole die Musik die Dichtung aus ihrer Betrachtung von Leid, Qual und Grausamkeit heraus, hebe ihr den Kopf und die Stimme bis zu jenem 21-strophigen Ruf, an dessen Ende wie ein Hymnus das eine erlösende Wort steht: »Liberté« – Freiheit. Das Dunkel der Zeit wandelt sich zum Schutzraum für die Partisanen der Menschlichkeit.

Leos Janáček komponierte seine letzte Oper nach Fjodor Dostojewskis Aufzeichnungen aus einem Totenhaus. Es ist ein Straflager, eine jener Einrichtungen, die das Jahrhundert des Totalitarismus aus den Zeiten dynastischer Selbstherrschaft übernahm und zur Hölle auf Erden perfektionierte. Teils löscht sie den Wunsch nach dem Himmel auf Erden, teils lässt sie ihn militant neu erglühen.

Nekuia steht für „einen magischen Ritus, in dem die Geister der Toten angerufen und nach der Zukunft befragt werden. Iannis Xenakis gab seiner Komposition für Stimmen und Instrumente eine plastische Gestalt, schuf eine Architektur in der Zeit, die im Innern belebt ist durch Melodien, die wortlos oder sprachgetragen durch den Tonraum wandern, sich wandeln, scharfe Linien ziehen oder sich in Klangnebel hüllen. Sie halten die Erinnerung an den Gesang in sich, die elementare und individuelle Basis der Musik. An den Grenzen der Erfahrung steht die Menschenwürde auf dem Prüfstand.

Konzertprogramm

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Otcenáš
für Tenor, Chor, Harfe und Orgel [1901/06]

Francis Poulenc [1899–1963]
Figure humaine
Kantate auf einen Text von Paul Eluard [1943]
für gemischten Doppelchor

Leoš Janáček
Aus einem Totenhaus [1925–27]
Orchestersuite aus der gleichnamigen Oper
arrangiert von Harold Byrns

Iannis Xenakis [1922–2001]
Nekuia
für gemischten Chor und Orchester [1981]
nach Texten von Jean Paul und Françoise Xenakis

Besetzung

Joachim Dalitz Orgel
Maria Graf Harfe
Algirdas Janutas Tenor

Lettischer Rundfunkchor und Staatschor der Republik Lettland »Latvija«
Sigvards Klava Chorleitung

Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Lothar Zagrosek Leitung

Eine gemeinsame Veranstaltung des musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele und des Konzerthaus Berlin