Concert
Visiting Ensembles

Klangforum Wien / Emilio Pomárico

Past Dates

Since 1985 – the European year of music – the Klangforum Wien has been conceiving its own events at the Wiener Konzerthaus, doing guest performances at renowned contemporary music festivals, as well as various other collaborations with initiatives of new music theatre. »Forum« stands for both the ensemble’s artistic spectrum and its working methods. The Viennese artists convey the entire panorama of music created in the last century – »from Classical Modernism, through works by young composers, to experimental Jazz and free improvisation.« Decisions about repertoire, performances and collaborations are taken consensually by the 24 permanent members of the ensemble.

Wohin? (Whereto?) In the question-title of his work, Hans Zender names the open horizon one has to face with every new composition. For him intention and the form of performance belong together. »The direct democratic structure of the ensembles that have evolved worldwide«, says Zender »is merely a mirror to the intellectual norms that have evolved in the modern age. These have turned away from hierarchical order and towards free juxtaposition of forms. This expresses itself in the variety of styles and linguistic forms, as well as in the variety of instrumental resources and combinations.« Hans Zender reflects new music as also being a model for social behaviour. It works against that strict administrative organisation from above which has already established itself in economy and politics.

Isang Yun came to Europe twice; the first time by artistic determination, the second as a result of political force: the South Korean secret service had abducted and arrested him, only releasing him after international protests. In response to this state terror, Yun acted as a man of culture: in his compositions he embedded sound images and the feeling for time of music from the Far East into the forms of thinking of the modern Western world. Music counteracts power and authority – as utopian art. In Woe betide the cold monsters Nono draws a great bow from the harshness with which he initially crosses and counters writings on the authority of the state, to the calm sounds lifted out of time, with and on to which, ultimately, he evokes a life without fear: utopian beauty.

Concert Programm

Isang Yun [1917–1995]
Pièce concertante
for chamber ensemble [1976]

Hans Zender [born 1936]
¿Adónde? Wohin?
Concerto for violin, soprano and instruments [2008]
World premiere
Commissioned work of Klangforum Wien and musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele

Luigi Nono [1924–1990]
Guai ai gelidi mostri
for 2 alto voices, flute, clarinet, tuba, viola, violoncello, double bass and live electronics [1983]

Cast

Ernst Kovacic violin
Angelika Luz soprano
Susanne Otto alto 1
Noa Frenkel alto 2
Peter Böhm, Florian Bogner sound direction

Klangforum Wien
Emilio Pomàrico conductor

Konzert
Gastensemble

Klangforum Wien / Emilio Pomárico

Seit 1985, dem europäischen Jahr der Musik, konzertiert das Klangforum Wien: mit eigenen Veranstaltungen im Wiener Konzerthaus, mit Gastspielen bei namhaften Festivals aktueller Musik und in Zusammenarbeit mit Initiativen des neuen Musiktheaters. »Forum« steht für das künstlerische Spektrum und die Arbeitsweise des Ensembles gleichermaßen. Die Wiener Künstler vermitteln das ganze Panorama der Musik, die in den letzten hundert Jahren entstand – »von der klassischen Moderne über Werke junger Komponisten bis zu experimentellem Jazz und freier Improvisation«. Über Repertoire, Auftritte und Kooperationen entscheiden die 24 festen Ensemblemitglieder einvernehmlich.

Wohin? – in der Titel-Frage seines Werkes nennt Hans Zender den offenen Horizont, vor dem sich jedes neue Komponieren sieht. Intention und Aufführungsform gehören für ihn zusammen. »Die basisdemokratische Struktur der weltweit entstandenen Ensembles für neue Musik«, so Zender, »ist nur ein Spiegel der in der Moderne neu entstandenen geistigen Gesetzmäßigkeiten. Diese haben sich von hierarchischen Ordnungen ab- und einem freien Nebeneinander der Formen zugewandt. Das äußert sich sowohl in der Vielfalt der Stile und Sprachformen wie auch in der Vielfalt der instrumentalen Mittel und Kombinationen.« Hans Zender reflektiert neue Musik auch als Modell gesellschaftlichen Verhaltens. Es widerspricht der administrativen Durchorganisation von oben, wie sie in Wirtschaft und Politik um sich gegriffen hat.

Isang Yun kam zwei Mal nach Europa, einmal aus künstlerischem Entschluss, das andere Mal aus politischem Zwang: Der südkoreanische Geheimdienst hatte ihn entführt, inhaftiert und erst nach internationalen Protesten wieder frei gelassen. Yun antwortete dem staatlichen Terror als Mann der Kultur: In seinen Kompositionen brachte er Klangbilder und Zeitempfinden fernöstlicher Musik in die Denkformen der westlichen Moderne ein. Musik entgegnet Macht und Gewalt – als utopische Kunst. Nono spannt in Wehe den eiskalten Monstern einen großem Bogen von der Schärfe, mit der er anfangs Texte über Staatsgewalt durchkreuzt und kontert bis zu den ruhigen, zeitenthobenen Klängen, mit und zu denen er am Schluss ein Leben ohne Angst beschwört. Utopisch schön.

Konzertprogamm

Isang Yun [1917–1995]
Pièce concertante
für Kammerensemble [1976]

Hans Zender [geb. 1936]
¿Adónde? Wohin?
Konzert für Violine, Sopran und Instrumente [2008]
Uraufführung
Kompositionsauftrag des Klangforum Wien und des musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele

Luigi Nono [1924–1990]
Guai ai gelidi mostri
für 2 Altstimmen, Flöte, Klarinette, Tuba, Viola, Violoncello, Kontrabass und Live-Elektronik [1983]

Besetzung

Ernst Kovacic Violine
Angelika Luz Sopran
Susanne Otto Alt 1
Noa Frenkel Alt 2
Peter Böhm, Florian Bogner Klangregie

Klangforum Wien
Emilio Pomàrico Leitung