Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin / Ing Metzmacher

Jonchaies is French for bulrushes, reed beds of high grass that grow at the crossing point between the elements; that thrive on the borders between water and land. Seen in a mass, they seem all alike. Looked at individually, each stem and stalk appears different. Synchronically they bend in the wind; the only things they cannot withstand are individualised forces and stormy torsions. Bulrushes can serve as a type for musical structures, as well as for the synthesis and antithesis of All and One. They are an image of the human collective. Before Jonchaies, mass structures predominated in Xenakis’ music. In this orchestra piece, written in 1977, melodic contours, the signs of individualisation within the sound, gain a higher meaning.

Arnold Böcklin was of the opinion that his painting Isle of the Dead ought to radiate such a sense of calm that one would be startled were anyone to knock. Reger turns the contemplation into sonic shape – through a focused, inwardly directed music.

On different paths, both works lead to the centre-piece of the programme: Hanns Eisler’s Deutsche Sinfonie. This has the greatness of Brucknerian orchestral works without aspiring to their monumentality, the diversity of Shostakovich’s Fourteenth and consists, like Gustav Mahler’s work, of instrumental movements, vocal pieces and integrated cantatas. The Deutsche Sinfonie is an accompaniment to the historic events of the time of its creation (1935 to 1947, with an epilogue from 1957), which it projects onto the transparency of human history; it is a symphony in the emphatic sense of the classical tradition: as a universal musical genre – a reminder of the legacy of Beethoven, who conceived his symphonies as »public addresses to humanity« (Adorno). In the confrontation between person and power, it takes the side of the oppressed, those who are forced to adapt to mass conformity. What Eisler has to say, he does not only delegate to the texts, however important they are for the whole. The central places of reflection lie within the wordless passages – in particular the Allegro which, before the epilogue was composed later, was initially conceived as the final movement. The belated postscript documents the destiny of the work: it was not performed in the time, to which it responds. Today it seems like a burning-lens of history.

Concert Programme

Iannis Xenakis [1922–2001]
Jonchaies
for large orchestra [1977]

Max Reger [1873–1916]
Die Toteninsel
from Vier Tondichtungen nach Arnold Böcklin op. 128
for orchestra [1913]

Hanns Eisler [1898–1962]
Deutsche Sinfonie
for solos, speakers, choir and orchestra op. 50 [1935–58]

Cast

Isabelle Voßkühler soprano
Christa Mayer mezzo soprano
Matthias Goerne baritone
Thorsten Grümbel bass
Sascha Glintenkamp, Axel Scheidig speakers

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey coach

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Ingo Metzmacher conductor

An event of the DSO Berlin in cooperation with musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin / Ingo Metzmacher

Jonchaies sind Binsen, das Dickicht hoher Gräser, die am Übergang der Elemente, an der Grenze zwischen Wasser und Land gedeihen. Sieht man sie als Masse, erscheinen alle gleich. Betrachtet man sie einzeln, wirkt jeder Halm und jedes Büschel anders. Dem Winddruck beugen sie sich synchron, nur individualisierter Gewalt und stürmischen Verdrehungen sind sie nicht gewachsen. Binsen können als Muster musikalischer Strukturen, der Syn- und Antithesen von Allem und Einem dienen. Sie geben ein Bild kollektivierten Menschseins. Bis Jonchaies herrschten in Xenakis’ Musik Massenstrukturen vor. Im Orchesterstück von 1977 gewinnen melodische Konturen, die Zeichen der Individualisierung im Klang, höhere Bedeutung.

Arnold Böcklin meinte, sein Bild Die Toteninsel müsse so still wirken, dass man aufschrecke, wenn einer anklopft. Reger lässt die Kontemplation durch eine konzentrierte, nach innen gerichtete Musik zur Klanggestalt werden.

Beide Werke führen in diesem Programm auf verschiedenen Wegen zum Hauptstück, Hanns Eislers Deutscher Sinfonie. Sie hat die Größe Brucknerscher Orchesterwerke, ohne ihre Monumentalität anzustreben, sie hat die Vielgestaltigkeit von Schostakowitschs Vierzehnter, besteht, wie bei Gustav Mahler, aus Instrumentalsätzen, Gesangsstücken und integrierten Kantaten. Sie begleitet die historischen Ereignisse ihrer Entstehungszeit (1935 bis 1947 mit einem Epilog von 1957), und projiziert sie vor die Folie der Menschheitsgeschichte, sie ist Symphonie im nachdrücklichen Sinn der klassischen Tradition als universale musikalische Gattung, eine Erinnerung an das Erbe Beethovens, der seine Symphonien als »Volksreden an die Menschheit« (Adorno) entwarf. In der Auseinandersetzung zwischen Mensch und Macht ergreift sie die Partei der Erniedrigten, die zur Konformität der Masse gezwungen werden. Was Eisler zu sagen hat, delegiert er nicht allein an die vertonten Texte, wie wichtig sie auch für das Ganze sind. Die Zentralstellen der Reflexion liegen in den Stücken ohne Worte, vor allem im Allegro, das vor dem nachkomponierten Epilog zunächst als Schlusssatz gedacht war. Die verspätete Nachschrift protokolliert das Schicksal des Werkes: In der Zeit, auf die es antwortet, wurde es nicht aufgeführt. Heute wirkt es wie ein Brennspiegel der Geschichte.

Konzertprogramm

Iannis Xenakis [1922–2001]
Jonchaies
für großes Orchester [1977]

Max Reger [1873–1916]
Die Toteninsel
aus Vier Tondichtungen nach Arnold Böcklin op. 128
für Orchester [1913]

Hanns Eisler [1898–1962]
Deutsche Sinfonie
für Soli, Sprechstimmen, Chor und Orchester op. 50 [1935–58]

Besetzung

Isabelle Voßkühler Sopran
Christa Mayer Mezzosopran
Matthias Goerne Bariton
Thorsten Grümbel Bass
Sascha Glintenkamp, Axel Scheidig Sprecher

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey Einstudierung

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Ingo Metzmacher Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung des DSO Berlin in Kooperation mit dem musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele