Foghorn, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco

Foghorn, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco

© Wikimedia Commons

Concert
Visiting orchestras / Arnold Schönberg

San Francisco Symphony

Visiting: San Francisco

  • Duration 2h, one interval

19:00 work introduction

John Adams treated himself to some “absolute fun” when he gifted the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra a fantasy on Beethoven’s scherzos, including the one from the Ninth Symphony, for its 100th birthday. At the same time, his most recent work “Absolute Jest” is also a serious study by one of the most important American composers, who sharpens his wit on the material of a predecessor – with power, humour and fine craftsmanship.

That Michael Tilson Thomas, who commissioned “Absolute Jest” and premiered it in 2012, is now bringing this work to Berlin and linking it to Beethoven’s “Eroica” is no coincidence either. We are amazed at the revolutionary panache of this symphony, whose music is still kept alive 200 years later.

Arnold Schönberg was a composition professor in Berlin before going into exile in California where he composed his orchestral variations. The Californian composer John Adams on the other hand combined the energy of Schönberg’s Kammersinfonie with the comic figure Road Runner. The San Francisco Symphony and Michael Tilson Thomas present a programme, which looks at European tradition through an American lens.

Arnold Schönberg [1874–1951]
Variations op. 43b [1944]

John Adams [*1947]
Absolute Jest
Concert for string quartet and orchestra [2011]

Ludwig van Beethoven [1770–1827]
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major Eroica [1802/03]

Konzert
Gastorchester / Arnold Schönberg

San Francisco Symphony

Gastspiel: San Francisco

Foghorn, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco

Foghorn, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco

© Wikimedia Commons

  • Dauer 2h, eine Pause

Vergangene Termine

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

Einen „totalen Spaß“ hat sich John Adams gegönnt, als er dem San Francisco Symphony Orchestra zum 100. Geburtstag eine Fantasie über Beethoven-Scherzos geschenkt hat, darunter das aus der Neunten Sinfonie. Zugleich ist sein Werk „Absolut Jest“ aber auch eine ernsthafte Studie eines der bedeutendsten Komponisten, der hier seinen Witz am Material eines Vorgängers schärft – mit Schwung, Humor und feinem Handwerk.

Dass Michael Tilson Thomas, der „Absolut Jest“ in Auftrag gegeben und 2012 uraufgeführt hat, dieses Werk jetzt nach Berlin bringt und mit Beethovens „Eroica“ verbindet, ist also kein Zufall. Wir stehen staunend vor dem revolutionären Elan dieser Sinfonie, der von der Musik auch nach 200 Jahren noch lebendig gehalten wird.

Arnold Schönberg war Kompositionsprofessor in Berlin, bevor er ins kalifornische Exil auswandern musste. Dort sind die Variationen für Orchester als Auftragswerk entstanden. Der kalifornische Komponist John Adams wiederum kombiniert in seiner „Chamber Symphony“ die Energie von Schönbergs Kammersinfonie mit der Comicfigur Road Runner. Die San Francisco Symphony und Michael Tilson Thomas präsentieren ein Programm, das mit amerikanischer Brille auf die europäische Tradition blickt.

Arnold Schönberg [1874–1951]
Variationen op. 43b [1944]

John Adams [*1947]
Absolute Jest
Konzert für Streichquartett und Orchester [2011]

Ludwig van Beethoven [1770–1827]
Symphonie Nr. 3 Es-Dur Eroica [1802/03]