Concert
Visiting Orchestras

Bayerisches Staatsorchester / Kent Nagano

Contrasts remain unresolved, questions are left unanswered. But history necessarily surfaces, if only via the piano concerto as a genre. Is virtuosity opposed to or in accord with the orchestra? That is the question here. Berio does not resolve it, but instead converts it into the work’s substance. “The Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra evolves a flexible, multidimensional, and highly unstable relationship between soloists and orchestra and between soloists. I perceive in this work a journey through a multitude of instrumental sections and relationships, a variety of functions and activities.”

In Strauss’s Metamorphoses, the act of reminiscence takes on musical dimensions. Appearing at the conclusion is the theme around which this multivoiced marvel revolves, and which has shimmered through the music repeatedly as a presentiment. Reappearing now, buried in the depths, its metamorphoses are behind it. With his back to the future: how else for a composer to present beauty in the year 1945, even in black crepe?

In Stravinsky’s Petrushka, his second score for the Russian ballet, boundary lines are blurred despite sharply contoured details. Which is reality, which fiction? Does the vanquished protagonist triumph after death as a ghost? The music passes through multiple levels, including citations from folk songs, piercing fanfares, flinty rhythms, sweetish harmonies. Petrushka too, this enigmatic burlesque, is a transitional work. It makes its way through a range of emotional and material conditions and styles. They are traversed. But never dissipated. The contrasts remain.

Concert Programme

Luciano Berio [1925–2003]
Concerto
for 2 pianos and orchestra [1972/73]

Richard Strauss [1864–1949]
Metamorphosen
study for 23 solo strings op. 142 [1945]

Igor Stravinsky [1882–1971]
Petrushka
Burlesque scenes in four parts [1910/11, rev. 1947]
I. The Shrovetide Fair – II. Petrushka’s Cell
III. The Moor’s Room – IV. The Shrovetide Fair
in concerto form

Konzert
Gastorchester

Bayerisches Staatsorchester / Kent Nagano

Kontraste bleiben unversöhnt, Fragen ohne Antwort. Aber immer spielt die Geschichte mit, im Klavierkonzert allein durch die Gattung. Virtuose gegen, Virtuose mit dem Orchester, das ist hier die Frage. Berio löst sie nicht auf, sondern verwandelt sie ins Kunstwerk selbst. »Das Konzert für zwei Klaviere und Orchester entwickelt eine bewegliche, mannigfaltige und sehr unstabile Beziehung zwischen den Solisten und dem Orchester und den Solisten unter sich. Ich fasse dieses Werk auf als Reise durch eine Vielfalt von instrumentalen Partien und Beziehungen, von verschiedenen Funktionen und Vorgängen.«

In Strauss’ Metamorphosen wird das Zurückdenken zur musikalischen Gestalt. Am Schluss erscheint das Thema, um das sich das vielstimmige Wunderwerk drehte, und das als Ahnung immer wieder durchschien. Es hat, wenn es verdeckt in der Tiefe auftritt, die Verwandlungen hinter sich. Rücken zur Zukunft – anders konnte sich der Komponist 1945 Schönheit, selbst die im Trauerflor, nicht mehr vorstellen.

In Strawinskys Petruschka, seiner zweiten Musik für das Russische Ballett, verschwimmen die Grenzen trotz scharf konturierter Details. Was ist Wirklichkeit, was ist Spiel? Triumphiert der Verlierer nach dem Tod als Geist? Die Musik durchläuft viele Ebenen, Volksliedzitate, grelle Fanfaren, rhythmische Härte, harmonische Süße. Auch Petruschka, die hintersinnige Burleske, ist ein Passagenwerk. Es führt durch einen Parcours der Gefühls-, der Materialzustände und der Stile. Sie werden durchmessen. Aufgelöst werden sie nicht. Die Kontraste bleiben.

Konzertprogramm

Luciano Berio [1925–2003]
Concerto
für 2 Klaviere und Orchester [1972/73]

Richard Strauss [1864–1949]
Metamorphosen
Studie für 23 Solostreicher op. 142 [1945]

Igor Strawinsky [1882–1971]
Petruschka
Burleske Szenen in vier Bildern [1910/11, rev. 1947]
I. Jahrmarkt in der Fastnachtswoche – II. Bei Petruschka
III. Beim Mohren – IV. Jahrmarkt in der Fastnachtswoche
Konzertante Aufführung