Illustration by Hugo L. Braune for the “Valkyrie”

Illustration by Hugo L. Braune for the “Valkyrie”

Image: National Archive of the Richard Wagner Foundation Bayreuth

Concert
Ligeti and Langgaard / Berlin-based orchestras

Orchester und Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin

19:00 work introduction

A deception with unforeseen consequences: In 1968, György Ligeti was a jury member for a composition competition, together with his Danish colleague Per Nørgård. Nørgård planted the forgotten oeuvre of a Danish composer of the late Romantic period among the submitted scores. It immediately caught Ligeti’s eye. In the shimmering layering of sound and the clusters that he discovered in Rued Langgaard’s “Sfærenes Musik”, he recognized traits of his own music. This was the beginning of a rediscovery of visionary Dane Langgaard. In his “Music of the Spheres”, featuring a large orchestra, a “distant” orchestra, organ, piano, choir and soprano soloist, Langgaard took Richard Wagner’s atmospheric sound layering one step further.

Around 100 years previously, Richard Wagner composed “Die Walküre” (The Valkyrie) as the second part (or first day) of his “Bühnenfestspiel” (stage festival play) “Der Ring des Nibelungen”. Its first act takes up the narrative of the fall of the Gods. The prelude to the first act signals severe weather – chaos – a manhunt. In the encounter of Siegmund and Hunding, the hunted and his pursuer, and in the mutual recognition of siblings Siegmund and Sieglinde and their incestuous love, the violations of the law occur that will ultimately entangle Wotan and foil his plans to protect and safeguard his authority.

Donald Runnicles, a “Ring”-specialist renowned from San Francisco to Vienna and Berlin will conduct this concertante performance of Act One of “Die Walküre”. He is joined by soprano Anja Harteros, tenor Peter Seiffert and bass Georg Zeppenfeld.

Rued Immanuel Langgaard [1893-1952]
Sfærernes Musik
for soloists, choir and orchestra [1916-1918]

Richard Wagner [1813-1883]
Die Walküre Act I [1870]
Concert performance

Siobhan Stagg solo soprano (Sfærernes Musik)
Ronnita Miller mezzo soprano (Sfærernes Musik)
Abigail Levis mezzo soprano (Sfærernes Musik)

Anja Harteros soprano (Sieglinde)
Peter Seiffert tenor (Siegmund)
Georg Zeppenfeld bass (Hunding)

Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Raymond Hughes chorus master
Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Donald Runnicles conductor

A Deutsche Oper Berlin event
in collaboration with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Illustration von Hugo L. Braune zur „Walküre“

Illustration von Hugo L. Braune zur „Walküre“

Abbildung: Nationalarchiv der Richard-Wagner-Stiftung Bayreuth

Konzert
Ligeti und Langgaard / Berliner Orchester

Orchester und Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

Eine Täuschung mit ungeahnten Folgen: 1968 saß György Ligeti mit seinem dänischen Kollegen Per Nørgård in der Jury eines Kompositionswettbewerbs. Nørgård schmuggelte das vergessene Werk eines dänischen Spätromantikers unter die eingereichten Partituren. Ligeti fiel dies prompt ins Auge. In den flirrenden Klangschichtungen und Clustern, die er in Rued Langgaards „Sfærernes Musik“ entdeckte, fand er Züge seiner eigenen Musik. Seitdem wurde der visionäre Däne Langgaard neu entdeckt. In der mit großem Orchester, Fernorchester, Orgel, Klavier, Chor und Sopransolo besetzten „Sphärenmusik“ hat er die atmosphärischen Klangschichtungen Richard Wagners weitergedacht.

Etwa 100 Jahre zuvor hat Richard Wagner die „Walküre“ als den zweiten Tag seines Bühnenfestspiels „Der Ring des Nibelungen“ komponiert. In deren ersten Aufzug wird die Erzählung vom Fall der Götter wieder aufgenommen. Das Vorspiel zum ersten Akt signalisiert Unwetter – Chaos – Menschenjagd. Im Aufeinandertreffen von Siegmund und Hunding, von Gejagtem und Verfolger, und im Wiedererkennen der Geschwister Siegmund und Sieglinde und ihrer inzestuösen Liebe ereignen sich die Gesetzesbrüche, in die sich Wotan verstrickt und lassen seine Pläne zur Wahrung und Rettung seiner Macht misslingen.

Mit Donald Runnicles übernimmt ein von San Francisco bis Wien und Berlin ausgewiesener „Ring“-Spezialist die konzertante Aufführung des ersten Aufzugs der „Walküre“, zusammen mit der Sopranistin Anja Harteros, dem Tenor Peter Seiffert und dem Bass Georg Zeppenfeld.

Rued Immanuel Langgaard [1893-1952]
Sfærernes Musik
für Soli, Chor und Orchester [1916-1918]

Richard Wagner [1813-1883]
Die Walküre I. Aufzug [1870]
Konzertante Aufführung

Siobhan Stagg Solosopran (Sfærernes Musik)
Ronnita Miller Mezzosopran (Sfærernes Musik)
Abigail Levis Mezzosopran (Sfærernes Musik)

Anja Harteros Sopran (Sieglinde)
Peter Seiffert Tenor (Siegmund)
Georg Zeppenfeld Bass (Hunding)

Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Raymond Hughes Einstudierung
Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Donald Runnicles Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Deutschen Oper Berlin
in Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin