Talk

Christian Boltanski and Armin Zweite

Installed Memory

The artist in conversation with the curator and museum director
Introduced by Joachim Sartorius

Christian Boltanski

Christian Boltanski

© Agostino Osio

  • In French with simultaneous translation

Past Dates

“Today everything is preserved perfectly. But my work should be on the edge, like a candle which can be extinguished from one moment to the next.”

It is the margins of human existence which interest Christian Boltanski. The transition from life to death appears in a striking, highly considered way in his work, which finds a reference point in the Holocaust. Death and memory, co-incidence and determination, history and the finality of human life are his themes.

Christian Boltanski, born the son of a Jewish Ukrainian father and a Catholic Corsican mother in Paris in 1944, is one of France’s leading contemporary artists. His works are landscapes of memory made out of pieces of clothing, personal effects, recorded heartbeats and voices. In 1990 Boltanski created the Missing House on a bombsite in Berlin’s Große Hamburger Straße – a reminder of the fates of its previous occupants. At the beginning of 2010 he presented the exhibition Personnes in the Grand Palais’ Monumenta series (following Anselm Kiefer and Richard Serra).

Boltanski has been awarded numerous leading art prizes including the 2006 Praemium Imperiale for sculpture. He will be France’s representative at the 2011 Venice Biennale.

Armin Zweite has run the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen and the Lenbachhaus in Munich. Since 2009 he has been the Director of the Brandhorst Museum in the Kunstareal Munich, which exhibits major works by protagonists of contemporary art since 1945. He has both written on and organized exhibitions of Boltanski’s work.

Christian Boltanski

Christian Boltanski

© Agostino Osio

Gespräch

Christian Boltanski und Armin Zweite

Installierte Erinnerung

Gespräch des Künstlers mit dem Kurator und Museumsdirektor
Einführung: Joachim Sartorius

  • In französischer Sprache mit Simultanübersetzung

Vergangene Termine

»Heute bewahrt man alles ganz perfekt. Aber meine Arbeit soll auf der Grenze sein wie eine Kerze, die von einem Moment zum nächsten verlöschen kann.«

Es sind die Grenzzonen der menschlichen Existenz, die Christian Boltanski interessieren. Der Übergang vom Leben zum Tod erscheint in einer eindringlichen, hoch reflektierten Weise in seinem Werk, das einen Referenzpunkt im Holocaust findet. Tod und Erinnerung, Zufall und Bestimmung, Geschichte und Endlichkeit des menschlichen Lebens sind seine Themen.

Christian Boltanski, 1944 als Sohn eines jüdischstämmigen ukrainischen Vaters und einer katholischen korsischen Mutter in Paris geboren, ist einer der wichtigsten französischen Künstler der Gegenwart. Seine Werke sind Erinnerungslandschaften aus Kleidungsstücken, persönlichen Gegenständen, aufgezeichneten Herzschlägen und Stimmen. 1990 schuf Boltanski auf einem Bombengrundstück in der Berliner Großen Hamburger Straße das Missing House – eine Erinnerung an die Schicksale der früheren Bewohner. Zu Beginn des Jahres 2010 zeigte er (nach Anselm Kiefer und Richard Serra) in der Monumenta-Reihe des Grand Palais die Ausstellung Personnes.

Boltanski wurde mit bedeutenden Kunstpreisen ausgezeichnet, darunter 2006 mit dem Praemium Imperiale in der Sparte Skulptur. 2011 vertritt er Frankreich bei der Kunstbiennale Venedig.

Armin Zweite leitete die Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen und das Lenbachhaus München. Seit 2009 ist er Direktor des Museums der Sammlung Brandhorst im Kunstareal München, das zentrale Werke der wesentlichen Künstler seit 1945 zeigt. Mit dem Werk Boltanskis beschäftigte er sich sowohl als Ausstellungsmacher wie als Autor.