Giuseppe Verdi,1899

Giuseppe Verdi, 1899. Photographed by Pietro Tempestini in Montecatini Rerme

© Wikimedia Commons

Concert
Visiting Orchestras

Filarmonica della Scala

Work introduction 19:00

“I’m from Milan. My father worked there, I’ve absorbed opera there since my earliest childhood [...] Our family lives here. I could not help it,” confessed Riccardo Chailly in conversation with Manuel Brug, after he had decided to take over as musical director of La Scala in January, 2015.

Nevertheless, he also held leading positions in concert orchestras, such as today’s DSO in Berlin (1982-1989), the Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam (1988-2004) and the Leipzig Gewandhaus (2005-2016). With all three orchestras, a (late) romantic repertoire – Schumann, Brahms, Mahler, Strauss, Zemlinsky – played an important role; the differentiated but spirited interpretation of this music was soon the Italian conductor’s speciality.

Chailly combines both Italian passion and German Romantic fascination at his first guest performance at the Musikfest as the director of the Scala. The overture of the “Sicilian Vespers” and the imaginary scenic precision of orchestral accompaniment pieces, namely, the “Stabat Mater” and “Te Deum”, present Giuseppe Verdi, an elective citizen of Milan, in a range of styles that extends far beyond his operas.

Johannes Brahms [1833-1897]
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major op. 77 [1878]

Giuseppe Verdi [1813-1901]
Overture from: Les Vêpres siciliennes [1855]

Giuseppe Verdi
Stabat Mater
for choir and orchestra [1886/87]
from the Quattro pezzi sacri [1886-1892]

Giuseppe Verdi
Te Deum
for double choir, soprano solo and large orchestra [1895/96]
from the Quattro pezzi sacri [1886-1892]

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Giuseppe Verdi,1899

Giuseppe Verdi, 1899. Fotografiert von Pietro Tempestini in Montecatini Rerme

© Wikimedia Commons

Konzert
Gastorchester

Filarmonica della Scala

Einführung 19:00 Uhr

„Ich bin Mailänder. Mein Vater hat dort gearbeitet, ich habe dort seit meiner frühesten Kindheit Oper eingesogen […] Unsere Familie lebt hier. Ich konnte gar nicht anders“, bekannte Riccardo Chailly im Gespräch mit Manuel Brug, nachdem er sich entschlossen hatte, ab Januar 2015 die musikalische Leitung der Mailänder Scala zu übernehmen.

Seine Chefpositionen bei Konzertorchestern aber hatte er beim heutigen DSO in Berlin (1982–1989), beim Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam (1988–2004) und am Leipziger Gewandhaus (2005–2016). An allen drei Orten spielte das (spät-)romantische Repertoire – Schumann, Brahms, Mahler, Strauss, Zemlinsky – eine wichtige Rolle. Die differenzierte und zugleich temperamentvolle Interpretation dieser Musik galt schon bald als eine besondere Spezialität des italienischen Dirigenten.

Beides, das italienische Herz und die deutsch-romantische Faszination, bringt Chailly bei seinem ersten Musikfest-Gastspiel als Scala-Direktor zusammen. Die Ouvertüre aus der „Sizilianisches Vesper“ und die imaginär szenischen Prägnanz der orchesterbegleiteten Stücke, des „Stabat mater“ und des „Te Deum“, zeigen den Wahl-Mailänder Giuseppe Verdi in einer Stilbreite, die über seine Opern weit hinausreicht.

Johannes Brahms [1833-1897]
Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur op. 77 [1878]

Giuseppe Verdi [1813-1901]
Ouvertüre aus: Les Vêpres siciliennes [1855]

Giuseppe Verdi
Stabat Mater
für Chor und Orchester [1886/87]
aus den Quattro pezzi sacri [1886-1892]

Giuseppe Verdi
Te Deum
für Doppelchor, Sopransolo und großes Orchester [1895/96]
aus den Quattro pezzi sacri [1886-1892]

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin