Concert
Visiting Orchestras

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Opening Concert

Hector Berlioz never had regular piano lessons. In the limited possibilities afforded by his provincial hometown of La Côte-Saint-André, this doctor’s son was instructed in flute, guitar and singing. Later he wrote: “I can only offer up my gratitude to chance which taught me perforce to compose freely and in silence and thus saved me from the tyranny of keyboard habits, so dangerous to thoughts, and from the lure of conventional sonorities.” And so Berlioz’s conception of sonority was not oriented to the constraints of piano writing – he composed directly with the more variegated sound of an orchestra in his ear. With the Symphonie fantastique he devised novel instrumental sounds to represent the drug-induced dreams of his lovesick anti-hero as an orchestral drama in five acts.

Ever since he attended the first performance of the Symphonie fantastique, Liszt held up Berlioz as his great model. In an essay on Berlioz, Liszt asks rhetorically: “Should those who feel themselves driven by their own genius and the spirit of the time to invent and mould new forms bend under the yoke of already finished forms?” Obviously not. This encouraged the piano virtuoso Liszt to go his own way as well and to explore new terrain. The raison d’être of his Piano Concerto No. 2 in A major is neither pianistic brilliance as an end in itself nor competition between soloist and orchestra. In the unconventional number of six movements, which follow on without a break and give the impression of being a single movement, Liszt constantly varies the main theme of his concerto and leads it into ever-changing, highly contrasting contexts – much as Berlioz treated his idée fixe in the Symphonie fantastique. The concerto, which Liszt originally intended to call a “concert symphonique”, becomes a symphonic poem with obbligato piano, though without any concretely formulated programme. Liszt does away with the conventions of traditional piano concertos, replacing them with the principle of transformation of the opening material.

Wolfgang Rihm’s “music for orchestra” Verwandlung (Transformation) 3 already takes up that principle in its title. Playing for around ten minutes, the piece draws on the opulence of the highly developed Romantic orchestral apparatus available to Berlioz and Liszt’s successors at the beginning of the 20th century. Verwandlung 3 spectacularly reflects the dizzying orchestral effects that composers like Richard Strauss, Franz Schreker and Erich Wolfgang Korngold exploited and exhausted for modern music. At the same time, Rihm clearly demonstrates how vulnerable these hypertrophic masses of sonority can be.

Konzertprogramm

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Verwandlung 3
Music for orchestra [2007–08]

Franz Liszt [1811–1886]
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 in A major [1839/57]

Hector Berlioz [1803–1869]
Symphonie fantastique op. 14 [1830]

Konzert
Gastorchester

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Eröffnungskonzert

Regulären Klavierunterricht hatte Hector Berlioz nie. Der Arztsohn wurde in den begrenzten Möglichkeiten seiner Heimatstadt La Côte-Saint-André in der französischen Provinz in Querflöte, Gitarre und Gesang unterwiesen: »Ich kann dem Zufall danken, der mich in die Notwendigkeit versetzt hat, still und frei komponieren zu lernen. Er hat mich vor der für den Gedanken so gefährlichen Tyrannei der Fingergewohnheiten bewahrt«, bemerkte er später. Berlioz’ Klangvorstellungen richteten sich deshalb nicht nach den Kategorien der Stimmen eines Klaviersatzes. Stattdessen komponierte er direkt mit der Klangvorstellung der vielfältigen Orchesterfarben. In der Symphonie fantastique gelangen ihm auf diese Weise neuartige instrumentale Klänge, um den Drogentraum eines von Liebeskummer verstörten Antihelden in einem instrumentalen Drama in fünf Akten darzustellen.

Seitdem er die Uraufführung der Symphonie fantastique erlebt hatte, war Berlioz für Franz Liszt das großes Vorbild. In einem Aufsatz über Berlioz fragt Liszt rhetorisch: »Sollen diejenigen, die von ihrem Genius und dem Geiste der Zeit zur Erfindung und zum Gusse neuer Formen sich getrieben fühlen, unter das Joch bereits fertiger Formen gebeugt werden?« Natürlich nicht! Das ermutigte den Klaviervirtuosen Liszt, auch auf ureigenem Terrain neue Wege zu gehen. In seinem Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 A-Dur geht es weder um pianistische Brillanz als Selbstzweck noch um den Wettstreit zischen Solist und Orchester. In unkonventionellen sechs Sätzen, die ohne Zäsur aufeinander folgen und dadurch wie ein einziger Satz wirken, verändert Liszt das Hauptthema seines Konzerts permanent und führt es in immer neue kontrastreiche Zusammenhänge, wie vorher Berlioz seine idée fixe in der Symphonie fantastique. Das Klavierkonzert, das Liszt ursprünglich »Concert symphonique« nennen wollte, gerät zur Symphonischen Dichtung mit obligatem Klavier, ohne dass ein konkretes Programm formuliert wäre. Die Gesetzmäßigkeiten traditioneller Klavierkonzerte hebelt Liszt aus und setzt an deren Stelle das Prinzip der Transformation des Ausgangsmaterials, der Verwandlung, das Geschehen.

Wolfgang Rihms »Musik für Orchester« Verwandlung 3 greift dieses Prinzip schon im Titel auf. Das rund zehnminütige Stück schöpft aus der Opulenz des hochentwickelten romantischen Orchesterapparates, wie er sich zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts den Nachfolgern von Berlioz und Liszt bot. Verwandlung 3 ist eine furiose Reflektion jener rauschhaften Orchestereffekte, die Komponisten wie Richard Strauss, Franz Schreker und Erich Wolfgang Korngold für die Moderne ausreizten. Gleichzeitig führt Rihm deutlich vor, wie gefährdet diese hypertrophen Klangmassen sein können.

Konzertprogramm

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Verwandlung 3
Musik für Orchester [2007–08]

Franz Liszt [1811–1886]
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 2 A-Dur [1839/57]

Hector Berlioz [1803–1869]
Symphonie fantastique op. 14 [1830]