Concert
Visiting Orchestras

Philharmonia Orchestra London

Finland only gained independence in 1917, but the Kalevala, a collection of orally transmitted myths compiled in the 19th century, had become an important reference point of national identity long before the attainment of sovereignty. Jean Sibelius based his Kullervo on texts from the Kalevala and attempted in this choral cantata to fashion a vocal style that assimilated Finnish speech rhythms. Quoting folk music, however, was of little interest to the composer whose works would make a profound and lasting impression on Finnish national music, and early in his career he stated that “a composer who is thoroughly soaked in the folk music of his homeland must, of course, have quite a different perspective on the subject, must emphasize quite different things, must seek his satisfaction in the art in quite different ways from the others. Therein lies a great deal of his originality. In his work he should – especially as regards the means of expression – eschew local colour as much as possible.”

The Finnish composer and conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen belongs to the first generation of composers to have emerged consistently, convincingly and completely from the overwhelming shadow of Sibelius. Together with Kaija Saariaho, Magnus Lindberg and a number of other composers, he founded Korvat auki! (Ears Open!), an association for the performance of contemporary music from Finland and abroad. Salonen, Saariaho and Lindberg are now leading figures of the musical scene, definitive proof that Finnish music has much more to offer than Sibelius. Salonen’s Violin Concerto was premiered by the Los Angeles Philharmonic – which Salonen headed and inspired from 1992–2009 – and soloist Leila Josefowicz. “I decided to cover as wide a range of expression as I could imagine over the four movements of the Concerto: from the virtuosic and flashy to the aggressive and brutal, from the meditative and static to the nostalgic and autumnal.” This is the composer’s modest description of a musical cosmos that awakens associations with the human pulse, sunrises, the California coast and the urban hustle and bustle.

In his Geharnischte Suite (“Armoured Suite”), premiered in Berlin in 1897, Ferruccio Busoni evokes a kind of heroic myth from the age of chivalry. The composer dedicated the work to his Finnish colleague and friend in Helsinki, where he taught piano at the music academy from 1888 to 1890. The first movement, “Prelude”, is dedicated to Sibelius, and Busoni’s dedication cites the city’s Swedish name, Helsingfors. Swedish was the language of Finland’s social elite; it was also Sibelius’s mother tongue.

Concert Programme

Ferruccio Busoni [1866–1924]
Second Orchestra Suite
(Sharply rebuffed suite) op. 34a [1895–1903]

Esa-Pekka Salonen [*1958]
Concerto for violin and orchestra [2009]
German premiere

Jean Sibelius [1865–1957]
Kullervo
Symphonic poem
for great orchestra, soloists and choir op. 7 [1891]

Konzert
Gastorchester

Philharmonia Orchestra London

Erst 1917 wurde Finnland ein eigenständiger Staat. Das Kalevala, eine im 19. Jahrhundert zusammengestellte Sammlung mündlich überlieferter Mythen, wurde lange vor der Erlangung der Souveränität zu einem wichtigen Referenzpunkt nationaler Identität. Jean Sibelius legte Texte des Kalevala seiner Chorkantate Kullervo zugrunde. Darin versucht er, einen Vokalstil auszuprägen, der den Sprachrhythmus des Finnischen aufgreift. Folklorezitate interessieren den Komponisten, dessen Werke die Vorstellung einer finnischen Nationalmusik nachhaltig prägen sollten, allerdings kaum: »Ein Tonkünstler, der ganz und gar von der Volksmusik seiner Heimat durchdrungen ist, muss natürlich eine ganz andere Einsicht in die Dinge haben, ganz andere Sachen hervorheben, seine Befriedigung in der Kunst auf eine ganz andere Weise suchen als die übrigen. Darin liegt zum großen Teil seine Originalität. In seinem Werk soll er – besonders was die Ausdrucksmittel anbelangt – soviel wie möglich vom Lokalen loskommen (…)«, notierte Sibelius schon früh.

Der finnische Komponist und Dirigent Esa-Pekka Salonen gehört zu jener Komponistengeneration, die erstmals aus dem als übermächtig empfundenen Schatten Jean Sibelius’ heraustreten konnten, unüberhörbar und konsequent. Mit Kaija Saariaho, Magnus Lindberg und anderen Komponisten gründete Salonen die Gruppe »Korvat auki!« (»Ohren auf!«), die internationale zeitgenössische Musik aufführte. Alle drei sind mittlerweile feste Größen im internationalen Musikgeschehen und zeigen, dass Finnland musikalisch mehr als nur Jean Sibelius zu bieten hat. Esa-Pekka Salonens Konzert für Violine und Orchester wurde von »seinem« Orchester, dem Los Angeles Philharmonic, dem er als Chefdirigent von 1992 bis 2009 ein unverwechselbares Profil verlieh, und der Solistin Leila Josefowicz uraufgeführt. »Ich habe versucht, in den vier Sätzen des Konzerts eine möglichst große Ausdruckspalette zu gestalten, von meditativen und statischen bis zu nostalgischen und herbstlichen Momenten.« Das ist die bescheidene Beschreibung eines Klangkosmos, der Assoziationen an Herzschläge, Sonnenaufgänge, die kalifornische Küste und urbanes Getriebe weckt, eine Instrumentalmusik, die moderne Mythen vereint.

Eine Art Heldenmythos aus den Zeiten des Rittertums evoziert Ferruccio Busoni in seiner »Geharnischten Suite«. Der Komponist widmete die Suite seinen finnischen Freunden in Helsinki, wo er von 1888 bis 1890 am Musikinstitut Klavier unterrichtete. Der erste Satz mit dem Titel »Prelude« ist Jean Sibelius zugeeignet. In der Widmung von Busonis Komposition steht der schwedische Name Helsingfors für Helsinki. Schwedisch war die Sprache der gesellschaftlichen Elite. Auch Jean Sibelius ist mit dem Schwedischen als Muttersprache aufgewachsen.

Konzertprogramm

Ferruccio Busoni [1866–1924]
Zweite Orchestersuite
(Geharnischte Suite) op. 34a [1895–1903]

Esa-Pekka Salonen [*1958]
Konzert für Violine und Orchester [2009]
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Jean Sibelius [1865–1957]
Kullervo
Symphonische Dichtung
für großes Orchester, Soli und Chor op. 7 [1891]