Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

There are texts too powerful to be set as songs, whose musical treatment demands a larger form: in grappling with the poetry of Goethe and Hölderlin, Johannes Brahms broke down boundaries between existing genres and came up with new forms for vocal music. In the Alto Rhapsody after Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s poem Harzreise im Winter (Winter Journey through the Harz Mountains), about a man suffering from disappointment in love, Brahms orients himself closely on the structure prescribed by the poem. He does, however, sharpen the profile of the individual stanzas by giving each its own particular character. Brahms in this work combines different traditional genres to create a miniature drama: a disrupted orchestral character piece with arioso, a dramatic orchestral song and a consolatory, quietly flowing choral piece with contralto solo.

Brahms finds a completely different solution for the Schicksalslied (Song of Destiny) from Friedrich Hölderlin’s Hyperion. The extreme contrast between the world of the gods, above in the light, and suffering mankind below is resolved by Brahms in an orchestral postlude. “For the conclusion here you will indeed find no text, no chorus”, writes Brahms to a friend. “The poem is not the kind of text to which one can tack something on.” Instrumental music here is the only means to relieve the pain, brought back at the end of the piece as balm for the oppressive gloom of mankind’s hopeless situation, described in the final stanza.

Ferruccio Busoni initially planned to set the Danish poet Adam Gottlob Oehlenschläger’s verse drama Aladdin as a “Gesamtkunstwerk with drama, music, dance, magic”. The composer, who later composed a Faust opera on a libretto deliberately not based on Goethe, saw in Aladdin a popular Faust subject and thus an alternative to the great German poet’s famous tragedy. In the end, he decided against a dramatic setting in favour of an “architectonic, landscaped, symbolic scene” (Busoni). Poetic natural theatre, Neapolitan landscape, symbolic building, mythical creature, and at the end a nature-mystical final chorus from the Aladdin epilogue – these elements determine the programmatic orientation of Busoni’s Piano Concerto with men’s chorus, Op. 39. The composer devises an experimental form, a mixture of piano concerto, symphonic poem and choral cantata in which the virtuosi, serious and effusive movements leavened are balanced and reflected by two lighter movements, with the final choral movement as a sort of apotheosis to which all the previous movements have been leading.

Concert Programme

Johannes Brahms [1833–1897]
Schicksalslied
for mixed choir and orchestra op. 54 [1871]

Johannes Brahms
Rhapsody for alto solo, male choir and orchestra op. 53 [1869]
on a fragment from J.W. v. Goethe’s Harzreise im Winter

Ferruccio Busoni [1866–1924]
Concerto for piano and orchestra with final chorus op. 39 [1904]
Concerto per un Pianoforte principale e diversi Strumenti ad arco, ad fiato, ed a percussione. Aggiuntovi un Coro finale per voci d’uomini a sei parti. Le parole alemanne del poeta Oehlenschlaeger, danese.

Cast

Yvonne Naef alto
Marc-André Hamelin piano

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Nicolas Fink coach

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Marek Janowski conductor

An event of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in cooperation with the musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Texte, die zu gewaltig sind für eine Liedvertonung, Dichtung, deren Ausrichtung im Musikalischen eine größere Form verlangt: In der Auseinandersetzung mit Goethe und Hölderlin fand Johannes Brahms zu neuartigen Formen im Vokalen und sprengte die herkömmlichen Gattungsgrenzen. In der Altrhapsodie nach Johann Wolfgang von Goethes Gedicht Harzreise im Winter über einen von enttäuschter Liebe Versehrten orientiert sich Brahms eng an der im Gedicht vorgegebenen Struktur. Allerdings schärft er das Profil der einzelnen Strophen, indem er ihnen jeweils ein charakteristisches Gepräge gibt. Dafür verbindet er verschiedene Gattungstraditionen zu einem Miniaturdrama: ein zerrissenes orchestrales Charakterstück mit Arioso, ein dramatisches Orchesterlied und ein versöhnliches, ruhig fließendes Chorstück mit Altsolo.

Eine völlig andere Lösung findet Brahms für das Schicksalslied aus Friedrich Hölderlins Hyperion. Den extremen Kontrast zwischen lichter Götterwelt und menschlicher Geworfenheit löst Brahms in einem instrumentalen Nachspiel auf. »Zum Schluss findest Du hier freilich keinen Text, keinen Chor. Es geht doch durchaus nicht. Es ist doch kein Gedicht, dem man was anflicken kann«, schreibt Brahms einem Freund. Instrumentalmusik wird hier als einzig wirksames Schmerzmittel, als Balsam gegen das monströs Bedrückende der in der Schlussstrophe geschilderten trostlosen Lage des Menschen eingesetzt.

Ferruccio Busoni plante zunächst, das Versdrama Aladdin des dänischem Dichter Adam Gottlob Oehlenschläger zu einem »Gesamtwerk von Schauspiel, Musik, Tanz, Zauberei« heranzuziehen. Der Komponist, der später eine Faust-Oper schrieb, deren Libretto bewusst nicht von Goethe ausging, sah in Aladdin einen volkstümlichen Faust-Stoff und damit eine Alternative zu Goethe. Letzten Endes entschied sich Busoni jedoch gegen eine dramatische Darstellung und stattdessen für ein »architektonisch-landschaftlich-symbolisches Bild« (Busoni). Poetisches Naturschauspiel, napolitanische Landschaft, symbolische Gebäude, Fabelwesen und am Ende ein naturmystischer Schlusschor aus dem Epilog von Aladdin, diese Elemente bestimmen die programmatische Ausrichtung von Busonis Konzert für Klavier und Orchester mit Männerchor op. 39. Der Komponist findet zu einer experimentellen Form, einer Mischung aus Klavierkonzert, symphonischer Dichtung und Chorkantate, mit drei virtuosen, ernsten, überschwänglichen Sätzen, die von zwei leichteren Sätzen aufgelockert werden, ausbalanciert, sich spiegelnd und mit dem finalen Chorsatz gewissermaßen als Apotheose, zu der die Vordersätze hinführen.

Konzertprogramm

Johannes Brahms [1833–1897]
Schicksalslied
für gemischten Chor und Orchester op. 54 [1871]

Johannes Brahms
Rhapsodie für Alt-Solo, Männerchor und Orchester op. 53 [1869]
auf ein Fragment aus J.W. v. Goethes Harzreise im Winter

Ferruccio Busoni [1866–1924]
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester mit Schlusschor op. 39 [1904]
Concerto per un Pianoforte principale e diversi Strumenti ad arco, ad fiato, ed a percussione. Aggiuntovi un Coro finale per voci d’uomini a sei parti. Le parole alemanne del poeta Oehlenschlaeger, danese.

Besetzung

Yvonne Naef Alt
Marc-André Hamelin Klavier

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Nicolas Fink Einstudierung

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Marek Janowski Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in Kooperation mit dem musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele