Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Berliner Philharmoniker

The swan-song of an age, depicted as a hall of mirrors replete with nooks and crannies: in his opera Der Rosenkavalier, Richard Strauss superficially evokes the period of Empress Maria Theresia. Although alluding to the music of Handel and Mozart, Strauss writes music of his own time – glowing colours, sophisticated, sumptuous, intoxicating. He uses the Viennese waltz idiom, a deliberate anachronism, for local colour, sentimental reminiscence and caricature. And so he composes an endgame of his own period. “Do you not understand when something is over and done with?”, asks the Marschallin in Act III of the opera. One of the creators of modern music at the time of Der Rosenkavalier, Strauss understood.

The period-straddling composer Heinrich Kaminski is one of the discoveries of musikfest berlin. In a secularist time, he tried to make a musical gesture of returning to spiritual roots. In the orchestral work Dorian Music, Kaminski employs late-Romantic sonorities in conjuring up the modal basis of Western music at a time when many of his colleagues were already pressing against the boundaries of tonality. This kind of scalar harmony, as developed by Kaminski and other contemporaries, offered another alternative to the exhausted major-minor system.

The paradigm shift in modern music caused Hans Pfitzner to look backward as well. His opera Palestrina is at once the dramatic treatment of an artist’s life and Pfitzner’s own composed-out aesthetic credo. The protagonist is depicted as the saviour of church music at the end of a golden age and as keeper of an older art form, rich in tradition, from which the younger generation is already turning away. But in Palestrina, Pfitzner, who warns against the “danger of the Futurists” and has been branded as an arch-conservative, did not copy a historical style but rather used it within the context of his own musical language.

Wolfgang Rihm, in a lecture, emphasized the puzzling contradictions in Pfitzner’s music: “Pfitzner is too progressive to be slurped up like Korngold, and he’s too conservative to have audibly had – like Schoenberg, for example – a serious influence on music. At first glance we find in his work neither signs of the would-be contemporary nor a member of the unadulterated old guard. We find both – in other words, nothing that allows us to pigeon-hole him.” In Marsyas, Rihm is working with an ancient artist’s story: Marsyas, a satyr driven solely by feelings and a virtuoso on the aulos (a Greek reed instrument), challenges Apollo, god of the arts and a figure of orderliness, to a contest reflecting the tension of emotion pitted against rationality.

Konzertprogramm

Hans Pfitzner [1869–1949]
Prelude for the second act of the musical legend Palestrina [1917]

Heinrich Kaminski [1886–1946]
Dorische Musik
for violin, viola, cello and orchestra [1933]

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Marsyas
Rhapsody for trumpet with percussion and orchestra, 2nd version [1998/99]

Richard Strauss [1864–1949]
Rosenkavalier-Suite [1944]

Cast

Gábor Tarkövi trumpet
Jan Schlichte percussion
Andreas Buschatz violin
Amihai Grosz viola
Ludwig Quandt cello

Berliner Philharmoniker
Andris Nelsons conductor

An event of the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in cooperation with the musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Berliner Philharmoniker

Der Abgesang einer Epoche als verwinkeltes Spiegelkabinett: In seiner Oper Der Rosenkavalier beschwört Richard Strauss vordergründig die Zeit der Kaiserin Maria Theresias herauf. Doch trotz Anspielungen auf die Musik Händels und Mozarts schreibt Strauss Musik seiner Zeit, in schillernden Farben, raffiniert, schwelgerisch, rauschhaft. Und er setzt in bewusster Geschichtsklitterung als Lokalkolorit, sentimentale Reminiszenz und Karikatur das Idiom des Wiener Walzers ein. Er komponiert damit ein Endspiel der Zeit, aus der er selbst kommt. »Versteht Er nicht, wann eine Sach' ein End' hat?« fragt die Feldmarschallin im dritten Akt der Oper. Strauss, der zur Zeit des Rosenkavalier schon die Moderne mitgestaltet, hat verstanden.

Der zwischen den Zeiten stehende Komponist Heinrich Kaminski ist eine der Entdeckungen des Musikfests Berlin. In säkularisierter Zeit wollte er mit seiner Musik ein Zeichen setzen, um zu spirituellen Wurzeln zurückzufinden. In der Orchesterkomposition Dorische Musik bezieht sich Kaminski in spätromantischer Klangfülle auf die tonalen Grundlagen der abendländischen Musik, als viele seiner Kollegen die Tonalität bereits zu neuen Ufern führen. Doch gerade solch eine Skalenharmonik, wie sie Kaminksi und andere Zeitgenossen ausprägten, bot eine weitere Alternative zum ausgereizten Dur-Moll-System.

Angesichts des Paradigmenwechsels der Moderne blickte auch Hans Pfitzner in die Vergangenheit. Seine Oper Palestrina ist Künstlerdrama und auskomponiertes ästhetisches Bekenntnis. Der Protagonist wird darin als Retter der Kirchenmusik am Ende einer großen Ära gezeichnet und als Bewahrer einer traditionsreichen alten Kunst, von der sich die Jüngeren bereits abwenden. Doch Pfitzner, der vor »Futuristengefahr« warnt und den Ruf des ewig Gestrigen hat, schreibt mit Palestrina keine historistische Stilkopie, sondern Musik mit den Mitteln seiner Zeit.

Wolfgang Rihm hat das verstörend Querständige Pfitzners in einem Vortrag betont: »Pfitzner ist zu progressiv; um einfach wie Korngold eingeschlürft werden zu können, und er ist zu konservativ, um etwa wie Schönberg die Musik hörbar folgenreich beeinflusst zu haben. Wir finden nicht auf den ersten Blick das gebrochene Heutige in seinem Werk, aber auch nicht das ungebrochen Gestrige. Wir finden beiden – also keines, und dies lässt Einordnungsversuche stocken.« In Marsyas bezieht sich Wolfgang Rihm auf ein antikes Künstlerdrama: Marsyas, der rein vom Gefühl geleitete Satyr, der virtuos das Blasinstrument Aulos spielt, gerät in der Konfrontation mit dem ordnenden Gott der Künste Apollo in das Spannungsfeld zwischen Emotion und Ratio.

Konzertprogramm

Hans Pfitzner [1869–1949]
Vorspiel zum 2. Akt der Musikalischen Legende Palestrina [1917]

Heinrich Kaminski [1886–1946]
Dorische Musik
für Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Orchester [1933]

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Marsyas
Rhapsodie für Trompete mit Schlagzeug und Orchester, 2. Fassung [1998/99]

Richard Strauss [1864–1949]
Rosenkavalier-Suite [1944]

Besetzung

Gábor Tarkövi Trompete
Jan Schlichte Schlagzeug
Andreas Buschatz Violine
Amihai Grosz Viola
Ludwig Quandt Violoncello

Berliner Philharmoniker
Andris Nelsons Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit dem musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele