Concert
Visiting Orchestras

Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden

Past Dates

At this musikfest berlin concert, the two rivals Ferruccio Busoni and Hans Pfitzner enter into direct competition. “I should like to catch hold of a corner of the coming art of music and, where possible, sew a seam in it myself”, Busoni declared. “Ever more clearly, I sense how all our chirping will be regarded in the future as a prehistoric era.” In his Sketch of a New Aesthetic of Music, he presented the utopia of future music as a counter-proposal to late Romanticism. Hans Pfitzner responded polemically in his essay The Danger of the Futurists: “What if our last century or century and a half represented the flowering of Western music, the climax, the real golden age, which will never return and which is now passing into decline, into a state of decadence, as after the age of Greek tragedy?”

Busoni wrote his Nocturne Symphonique as a preliminary study – to generate a stimulus, standards and atmosphere for the composition of his magnum opus, the opera Doktor Faust. Once again he ventures into the realm of polytonality, and instead of Romantic scoring based on tonal colours he weaves transparent, chamber-like orchestral textures. Hans Pfitzner, on the other hand, deliberately takes up the assertive manner of Beethoven’s piano concertos in his own E flat major Piano Concerto, but also pursuing new formal paths in laying out the work unconventionally in four movements, which follow on without a break.

“I shall never write a symphony,” Johannes Brahms once wrote to a friend. “You can't have any idea what it's like always to hear such a giant marching behind you!” Brahms struggled long and hard to emerge from Beethoven’s shadow, which he found so overwhelming. He faced a further difficulty in the form of competition from Wagner’s music dramas, which were seen as the logical development of Beethoven’s symphonic language. Not until he felt he had sufficiently mastered other genres could Brahms achieve the act of artistic liberation represented by his First Symphony. This process required the invention of individual structural solutions, and it was these in particular that led Schoenberg to hail Brahms – often derided as a classicizing epigone – as a progressive. The tension between conservativism and progressivism in the music of Busoni, Pfitzner and Brahms will be examined by Christian Thielemann with the Dresden Staatskapelle and pianist Tzimon Barto.

Concert Programme

Ferruccio Busoni [1866–1924]
Nocturne Symphonique
for orchestra op. 43 [1914]

Hans Pfitzner [1869–1949]
Concerto for piano and orchestra in E flat major op. 31 [1922]

Johannes Brahms [1833–1897]
Symphony No. 1 in C minor op.68 [1862–77]

Konzert
Gastorchester

Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden

Vergangene Termine

In diesem Konzert des musikfests berlin treten die beiden Kontrahenten gegeneinander an, Ferruccio Busoni und Hans Pfitzner. »Ich möchte noch gern einen Zipfel der neuen Tonkunst erwischen und womöglich selbst einen Saum daran nähen. Immer deutlicher fühle ich, wie künftig unser ganzes Gezirp als prähistorische Epoche bezeichnet wird«, bekannte Ferruccio Busoni. In seinem Entwurf einer neuen Ästhetik der Tonkunst präsentierte er die Utopie einer Zukunftsmusik als Gegenentwurf zur Spätromantik. Hans Pfitzner entgegnete darauf polemisch in seiner Schrift Futuristengefahr: »Wie aber, wenn es anders wäre? Wenn wir uns auf einem Höhepunkt befänden oder gar der Höhepunkt schon überschritten wäre? Wenn unser letztes Jahrhundert oder unsere letzten anderthalb Jahrhunderte die Blütezeit der abendländischen Musik bezeichneten, die Höhe, die eigentliche Glanzperiode, die nie wiederkehren wird und der sich ein Verfall, eine Dekadenz anschlösse, wie die nach der Blütezeit der griechischen Tragödie?«

Das Nocturne Symphonique schrieb Busoni als Vorstudie, als »Anregung, Maßstab, Atmosphäre« zu seinem Opus magnum, der Oper Doktor Faust. Busoni stößt nunmehr vor in Bereiche der Polytonalität, und statt der romantischen Orchestrierung in Farbwerten gestaltet er ein von der Kammermusik beeinflusstes, transparentes orchestrales Klangbild. Hans Pfitzner greift dagegen in seinem Klavierkonzert Es-Dur absichtlich den zupackenden Gestus der Klavierkonzerte Beethovens auf, geht jedoch gleichzeitig in unkonventionellen vier Sätzen, die ohne Zäsur aufeinander folgen, neue formale Wege.

»Ich werde nie eine Symphonie komponieren! Du hast keinen Begriff davon wie es unsereinem zu Mute ist, wenn er immer so einen Riesen hinter sich marschieren hört«, schreibt Johannes Brahms einmal einem Freund. Johannes Brahms kämpfte lange, um aus dem als übermächtig empfundenen Schatten Beethovens herauszutreten. Hinzu kam die Konkurrenz von Wagners Musikdrama, das als Konsequenz aus der Symphonik Beethovens verstanden wurde. Erst als sich Brahms in anderen Gattungen stark genug fühlte, gelang ihm der künstlerische Befreiungsschlag der ersten Sinfonie. Er kam darin zu individuellen strukturellen Lösungen. Gerade diese sind es, die später Arnold Schönberg veranlassten, den oft als klassizistischen Epigonen Brahms belächelten als Progressiven zu bezeichnen. Das Spannungsfeld zwischen Konservativem und Progressivem bei Busoni, Pfitzner und Brahms werden Christian Thielemann mit der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden gemeinsam mit dem Pianisten Tzimon Barto genau unter die Lupe nehmen.

Konzertprogramm

Ferruccio Busoni [1866–1924]
Nocturne Symphonique
für Orchester op. 43 [1914]

Hans Pfitzner [1869–1949]
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Es-Dur op. 31 [1922]

Johannes Brahms [1833–1897]
Symphonie Nr. 1 c-Moll op.68 [1862–77]