Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

“Faust may have been written but Goethe but it isn’t his monopoly that excludes everyone else. This Faust is humanity’s common property,” asserted the Austrian poet Nikolaus Lenau self-confidently in presenting his own interpretation of the old legend. Lenau’s epic-dramatic poem, unfortunately largely forgotten today, is markedly more rustic, burlesque and, at times, livelier than Goethe’s version. In the course of his career Franz Liszt, drew upon both Faust poems for compositions. In contrast with his Faust Symphony after Goethe, in which he reflects the three main characters Faust, Gretchen and Mephistopheles in three “character sketches”, his orientation in the Lenau setting is largely limited to two scenes. He was audibly inspired by the colourful text and depicts the situations vividly.

Although the viola repertoire of the Classical, Romantic and early modern periods is far from extensive, there is a considerable number of contemporary works for the instrument – thanks not least to Tabea Zimmermann. Composers have dedicated numerous works to this extraordinary artist. When Wolfgang Rihm sent her his viola concerto subtitled “Über die Linie [Over the Line] IV”, he wrote: “Well, here it is. Once again nothing Paganiniesque. But I hope, of course, something good. Internal monologue from beginning to end....Everything is just line, never scraped, always sung. I can’t shake off my old notion of a vocalized concerto, an ‘instrumental cantata’.” At musikfest berlin Tabea Zimmermann plays this instrumental song that Rihm dedicated to her, of which she gave the world premiere nearly a decade ago.

Camille Saint-Saëns, organist at the Madeleine in Paris as well as a composer, dedicated his “Organ” Symphony to Franz Liszt. This was more than a gesture of thanks to Liszt for making possible the premiere of Saint-Saëns’s opera Samson et Dalila at Weimar; it was also an act of obeisance to the composer of the famous B minor Sonata. Liszt’s great piano work made a lasting impression on the French composer’s conception of form. In his Third Symphony, unusual in its integration of piano and organ into the orchestral tapestry, Saint-Saëns shows himself to be a bold innovator in colourful harmonies and the formal principles he learned from Liszt. “I gave everything to it I was able to give,” wrote Saint-Saëns about his “Organ” Symphony. “What I have accomplished here, I will never achieve again.”

Franz Liszt [1811–1886]
Zwei Episoden aus Lenaus Faust [1860/61]
1. Der nächtliche Zug
2. Der Tanz in der Dorfschenke

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Second Viola Concerto (»Über die Linie« IV) [2000/02]

Franz Liszt [1811–1886]
La Campanella in G sharp minor [1851]
from Six Grandes Etudes de Paganini
adapted for solo organ by Cameron Carpenter

Camille Saint-Säens [1835–1921]
Symphony No. 3 in C minor op. 78 »Organ Symphony« [1886]

An event of the DSO Berlin in cooperation with the musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Vergangene Termine

»Faust ist zwar von Goethe geschrieben, aber deshalb kein Monopol Goethes, von dem jeder andre ausgeschlossen wäre. Dieser Faust ist Gemeingut der Menschheit«, betonte der österreichische Dichter Nikolaus Lenau selbstbewusst und legte eine eigene Interpretation des alten Sagenstoffs vor. Lenaus heute leider weitgehend vergessene episch-dramatische Dichtung ist deutlich rustikaler, burlesker und mitunter auch lebhafter als die Verarbeitung Goethes. Franz Liszt hat im Laufe seiner Karriere beide Faust-Dichtungen für Kompositionen herangezogen. Im Gegensatz zu seiner Faust-Symphonie nach Goethe, in der er in drei »Charakterbildern« frei über die drei Hauptfiguren Faust, Gretchen und Mephistopheles reflektiert, orientiert sich Liszt bei seiner Lenau-Vertonung relativ nah an zwei Szenen des Texts. Von dessen Farbigkeit ließ er sich deutlich hörbar inspirieren und erzählt die Situationen geradezu plastisch nach.

Dass es gegenüber dem extrem überschaubaren Bratschenrepertoire der Klassik, Romantik und Moderne in der zeitgenössischen Musik mehr Werke für die Bratsche gibt, liegt nicht zuletzt an der Ausnahmekünstlerin Tabea Zimmermann. Komponisten haben ihr zahlreiche Werke gewidmet. Als Wolfgang Rihm sein Bratschenkonzert mit dem Beinamen »Über die Linie IV« der Interpretin zuschickte, schrieb er ihr: »Da ist es nun. Wieder nichts Paganinieskes. Aber ich hoffe natürlich: etwas Gutes. Innerer Monolog von Anfang bis zum Schluss. (…) Alles ist eben Linie, geschabt wird nirgends, gesungen immer. Meine alte Idee des gesanglichen Konzertes, der ›Instrumentalkantate‹, lässt mich nicht los.« Auf dem Musikfest Berlin spielt Tabea Zimmermann diesen ihr gewidmeten, instrumentalen Gesang, den sie vor einigen Jahren uraufgeführt hat.

Camille Saint-Saëns, nicht nur Komponist, sondern einst auch Organist an der Madeleine in Paris, widmete seine Orgelsymphonie Franz Liszt. Dies war nicht nur eine dankbare Geste, weil Liszt in Weimar am Großherzoglichen Theater die Uraufführung von Saint-Saëns’ Oper Samson et Dalila ermöglicht hatte, sondern auch eine Verbeugung vor dem Komponisten der berühmten h-Moll-Sonate. Liszts Klavierwerk hat Saint-Saëns’ Formempfinden nachhaltig geprägt. In der Orgelsymphonie, die unkonventionell Klavier und Orgel in den Orchesterklang integriert, beweist Saint-Saëns Mut zu farbiger Harmonik und neuartigen, an Liszt geschulten Formprinzipien. »Mit ihr habe ich alles gegeben, was ich geben konnte. So etwas wie dieses Werk werde ich nie wieder schreiben«, sagte Saint-Saëns über seine Orgelsymphonie.

Franz Liszt [1811–1886]
Zwei Episoden aus Lenaus Faust [1860/61]
1. Der nächtliche Zug
2. Der Tanz in der Dorfschenke

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Zweites Bratschenkonzert (»Über die Linie« IV) [2000/02]

Franz Liszt [1811–1886]
La Campanella gis-Moll [1851]
aus Six Grandes Etudes de Paganini
bearbeitet für Solo Orgel von Cameron Carpenter

Camille Saint-Säens [1835–1921]
Symphonie Nr. 3 c-Moll op. 78 »Orgelsymphonie« [1886]

Eine Veranstaltung des DSO Berlin in Kooperation mit dem musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele