Concert
Berlin-based Orchestras

Luigi Nono

  • 2 h 30 min, without interval

During the last years of his life, Luigi Nono redefined music theatre. His Prometeo became a key work of this genre, and its influence continues to be felt on today’s composers – in the areas of experimental music theatre, concert music, sound installations, musical spatial collage and sound art. In Prometeo, the dramatic quality is genuinely and exclusively generated by the music. “Tragedia dell’ascolto” – tragedy for listening – is what Nono called his composition, theatre for listening that develops an incredibly strong pull which transmutes the hearing of sounds into something truly dramatic and takes the transfixed listener on a fascinating acoustical voyage of discovery.

In his last years the politically engaged composer called old certainties into question, broke down old categories of thinking, and dissolved the traditional boundaries between dramatic and concert genres, between word and tone, and between voice and instrument. With the ancient myth of Prometheus as its point of departure, Prometeo is a philosophical and artistic reflection on humanity, utopias, failure and hope. Passages of texts by Aeschylus, Friedrich Hölderlin, Walter Benjamin, Friedrich Nietzsche and Rainer Maria Rilke mark out the framework of content but are not set to music in the traditional sense. The sung texts in Prometeo are in part normal, in part electronically alienated, at times determining the direction of the music only as traces or even silently. The parameters of space and timbre take on enormous significance compared with the traditional constants of pitch and rhythm. Through the combination of varied chamber-musical instrumental groups, live electronics and spatially distributed vocalists, the sounds in Prometeo assume unimagined dimensions.

Wolfgang Rihm, a close friend of Luigi Nono’s in the last years of the Italian composer’s life, who has himself made opera history with important works, regards Prometeo as a milestone in the evolution of musical theatre: “These perspectives approach that of a ‘birth’ of theatre ‘from the spirit of music’”, he wrote, alluding to Nietzsche, shortly before the world premiere of Prometeo. In 2011 at musikfest berlin, the work will be performed in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie, the same venue where in 1988 Prometeo received its Berlin premiere in the presence of Luigi Nono.

Concert Programme

Luigi Nono [1924–1990]
Prometeo – Tragedia dell’ ascolto
nach Texten u.a. von Aischylos, Walter Benjamin und Friedrich Hölderlin
zusammengestellt von Massimo Cacciari
für 5 Vokalsolisten, 2 Sprecher, Chor, Solostreicher, Solobläser, Gläser, 4 Orchestergruppen, Live-Elektronik und 2 Dirigenten [1981–84, 1985]

Cast

Cyndia Sieden soprano
Silke Evers soprano
Susanne Otto alto
Noa Frenkel alto
Hubert Mayer tenor
Caroline Chaniolleau speaker
Mathias Jung speaker

Instrumental soloists of the Ensemble Modern
Schola Heidelberg
Walter Nußbaum coach

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Live electronical realisation: Experimentalstudio des SWR
André Richard head of sound direction / artistic coordination
Michael Acker, Reinhold Braig, Joachim Haas sound direction

Matilda Hofman conductor (II)
Arturo Tamayo conductor (I)

A production of the musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele in collaboration with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker and the Salzburger Festspiele.
Supported by means from the Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Konzert
Berliner Orchester

Luigi Nono

  • 2 h 30 min, ohne Pause

In seinen letzten Lebensjahren definierte Luigi Nono das Musiktheater noch einmal neu: Mit Prometeo ist dem Komponisten ein Schlüsselwerk gelungen, dessen Einflüsse bei heutigen Komponisten noch immer zu spüren sind, in Bereichen des experimentellen Musiktheaters, in der Konzertmusik, in der Klanginstallation, in der musikalischen Raumcollage und in der Klangkunst. In Prometeo wird das Dramatische genuin und ausschließlich durch die Musik erzeugt. »Tragedia dell’ascolto«, Tragödie des Hörens, Hörtragödie, nannte Nono seine Komposition, Hörtheater, das einen ungeheuren Sog entwickelt, bei dem das Hören der Klänge, die Hörerfahrung, zum eigentlich Dramatischen wird und den gebannten Hörer auf eine faszinierende akustische Erkundungsreise mitnimmt.

In seinen letzten Jahren hat der stets politisch engagierte Komponist alte Gewissheiten in Frage gestellt, alte Denkkategorien gesprengt, herkömmliche Gattungsbeschränkungen des Dramatischen und Konzertanten, des Wortes und des Tons, des Vokalen und Instrumentalen aufgelöst. Ausgehend vom antiken Prometheus-Mythos ist Prometeo eine philosophisch-künstlerische Reflexion über den Menschen, über Utopien, Scheitern und Hoffnung. Textpassagen aus Werken des Aischylos, von Friedrich Hölderlin, Walter Benjamin, Friedrich Nietzsche und Rainer Maria Rilke stecken den inhaltlichen Rahmen ab, werden aber nicht im traditionellen Sinne vertont. Teils sind in Prometeo die gesungenen Texte real oder elektronisch verfremdet, mitunter bestimmen sie nur noch als Spuren oder stillschweigend die Ausrichtung der Musik. Parameter des Raums und der Klangfarbe erhalten gegenüber den traditionellen Konstanten Tonhöhe und Rhythmus enorme Bedeutung. Überhaupt erreicht der Klang in Prometeo durch die Verbindung verschiedener kammermusikalischer Instrumentalgruppen, Live-Elektronik und durch im Raum verteilte Vokalisten ungeahnte Dimensionen.

Wolfgang Rihm, in Luigi Nonos letzten Lebensjahren eng mit ihm befreundet, der selbst mit wichtigen Werken Operngeschichte geschrieben hat, betrachtet Prometeo als Meilenstein in der Entwicklung des Musiktheaters: »Diese Perspektiven rühren an eine Art ›Geburt‹ des Theaters ›aus dem Geist der Musik‹«, schrieb er kurz nach der Uraufführung von Prometeo. An dem Ort, wo Prometeo 1988 in Anwesenheit Luigi Nonos zur Berliner Erstaufführung kam, im Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie, wird das Werk auch 2011 beim musikfest berlin zu erleben sein.

Konzertprogramm

Luigi Nono [1924–1990]
Prometeo – Tragedia dell’ ascolto
nach Texten u.a. von Aischylos, Walter Benjamin und Friedrich Hölderlin
zusammengestellt von Massimo Cacciari
für 5 Vokalsolisten, 2 Sprecher, Chor, Solostreicher, Solobläser, Gläser, 4 Orchestergruppen, Live-Elektronik und 2 Dirigenten [1981–84, 1985]

Besetzung

Cyndia Sieden Sopran
Silke Evers Sopran
Susanne Otto Alt
Noa Frenkel Alt
Hubert Mayer Tenor
Caroline Chaniolleau Sprecherin
Mathias Jung Sprecher

Instrumentalsolisten des Ensemble Modern
Schola Heidelberg
Walter Nußbaum Einstudierung

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Live-Elektronische Realisation: Experimentalstudio des SWR
André Richard Leitung Klangregie / Künstlerische Koordination
Michael Acker, Reinhold Braig, Joachim Haas Klangregie

Matilda Hofman Dirigentin (II)
Arturo Tamayo Dirigent (I)

Eine Produktion des musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin, der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker und den Salzburger Festspielen.
Gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds