Theatre
The 10 Selected Productions

Five Easy Pieces

By Milo Rau
A production by International Institute of Political Murder and CAMPO Gent
Co-production with Sophiensæle, Berlin / Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels 2016 / Münchner Kammerspiele / La Bâtie – Festival de Genève / Kaserne Basel / Gessnerallee Zürich / Singapore International Festival of Arts (SIFA) / SICK! Festival UK / Le phénix – scène nationale Valenciennes pôle européen de création.

World premiere Kunstenfestivaldesartes Brussels: 14 May 2016
Premiere Sophiensæle Berlin: 1 July 2016
Five Easy Pieces

Five Easy Pieces. Willem Loobuyck, Pepijn Loobuyck, Rachel Dedain, Elle Liza Tayou, Winne Vanacker, Maurice Leerman, Polly Persyn

© Phile Deprez

  • 1h 30, no interval
  • In Flemish with German and English surtitles

Past Dates

Opening night party on 13 May, following the performance
Public discussion on 20 May, following the performance

Staging a play about the Belgian child murderer Marc Dutroux with children between the ages of 8 and 14, of all people? This reeks of scandal – and of an idea developed by Swiss director Milo Rau, who has been exploring the representability of evil for some time. In “Five Easy Pieces”, Rau duplicates the theatre situation by showing seven children and a director (Peter Seynaeve) at rehearsals. Scenes based on documentary material from the Dutroux case – interviews with the perpetrator’s father, but also with victims’ parents, a policeman’s report, a never-sent letter from a kidnapped girl to her parents – are increasingly superimposed by the question of how and whether children can play characters in this case at all. In his highly ambivalent production, which rigorously reflects on its own ethics, Milo Rau manages to set the self-confident individualities of the children from Ghent against evil, including the evil in art.

international-institute.de | www.campo.nu | www.kfda.be

Concept, text and direction Milo Rau
Text and performance Rachel Dedain, Maurice Leerman, Pepijn Loobuyck, Willem Loobuyck, Polly Persyn, Peter Seynaeve, Elle Liza Tayou, Winne Vanacker
Performance film Sara De Bosschere, Pieter-Jan De Wyngaert, Johan Leysen, Peter Seynaeve, Jan Steen, Ans Van den Eede, Hendrik Van Doorn, Annabelle Van Nieuwenhuyse

Dramaturgy Stefan Bläske
Set and costume design Anton Lukas
Video and sound design Sam Verhaert
Directing assistant and performance coach Peter Seynaeve
Research Mirjam Knapp, Dries Douibi
Children coach Ted Oonk
Music coach Herlinde Ghekiere
Realisation scenography Ian Kesteleyn
Technical Bart Huybrechts, Korneel Coessens, Piet Depoortere
Production management Wim Clapdorp, Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann
PR Yven Augustin
Tour management Leen De Broe
Sales management Marijke Vandersmissen

Funded by means of the Governing Mayor of Berlin – Senate Department – Cultural Affairs, Pro Helvetia Swiss Cultural Foundation, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Fachausschuss Tanz und Theater BS/BL and GGG Basel. CAMPO is supported by The Flemish Government, The Province of East Flanders & The City of Ghent.

Theater
10er Auswahl

Five Easy Pieces

von Milo Rau
Eine Produktion des International Institute of Political Murder und CAMPO Gent
In Koproduktion mit Sophiensæle, Berlin / Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels 2016 / Münchner Kammerspiele / La Bâtie – Festival de Genève / Kaserne Basel / Gessnerallee Zürich / Singapore International Festival of Arts (SIFA) / SICK! Festival UK / Le phénix – scène nationale Valenciennes pôle européen de création.

Uraufführung Kunstenfestivaldesartes Brüssel: 14. Mai 2016
Premiere Sophiensæle Berlin: 1. Juli 2016
Five Easy Pieces

Five Easy Pieces. Willem Loobuyck, Pepijn Loobuyck, Rachel Dedain, Elle Liza Tayou, Winne Vanacker, Maurice Leerman, Polly Persyn

© Phile Deprez

  • 1h 30, keine Pause
  • In flämischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Vergangene Termine

Premierenfeier am 13. Mai im Anschluss an die Vorstellung
Publikumsgespräch am 20. Mai im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

Ein Theaterstück über den belgischen Kindermörder Marc Dutroux ausgerechnet mit Kindern zwischen 8 und 14 Jahren auf die Bühne zu bringen – das riecht nach Skandal und einer Idee des Schweizer Regisseurs Milo Rau, der sich schon länger mit der Darstellbarkeit des Bösen befasst. In „Five Easy Pieces“ verdoppelt Rau die Theatersituation, indem er sieben Kinder und einen Regisseur (Peter Seynaeve) beim Proben zeigt. Die auf dokumentarischem Material beruhenden Szenen rund um den Fall Dutroux – Interviews mit dem Vater des Täters, aber auch mit Eltern der Opfer, der Bericht eines Polizisten, der nie verschickte Brief eines entführten Mädchens an ihre Eltern – werden zunehmend von der Frage überlagert, wie und ob überhaupt Kinder in diesem Fall Figuren spielen können. In seiner hochambivalenten, die eigene Ethik streng reflektierenden Inszenierung gelingt es Milo Rau, die selbstbewussten Individualitäten der Genter Kinder gegen das Böse, auch in der Kunst, in Szene zu setzen.

international-institute.de | www.campo.nu | www.kfda.be

Konzept, Text und Regie Milo Rau
Text und Performance Rachel Dedain, Maurice Leerman, Pepijn Loobuyck, Willem Loobuyck, Polly Persyn, Peter Seynaeve, Elle Liza Tayou, Winne Vanacker
Performance Film Sara De Bosschere, Pieter-Jan De Wyngaert, Johan Leysen, Peter Seynaeve, Jan Steen, Ans Van den Eede, Hendrik Van Doorn, Annabelle Van Nieuwenhuyse

Dramaturgie Stefan Bläske
Bühne und Kostüme Anton Lukas
Video- und Sounddesign Sam Verhaert
Regieassistenz und Performancecoach Peter Seynaeve
Recherche Mirjam Knapp, Dries Douibi
Kindercoach Ted Oonk
Musikcoach Herlinde Ghekiere
Mitarbeit Bühne und Kostüme Ian Kesteleyn
Technik Bart Huybrechts, Korneel Coessens, Piet Depoortere
Produktionsmanagement Wim Clapdorp, Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit Yven Augustin
Tourmanagement Leen De Broe
Salesmanagement Marijke Vandersmissen

Gefördert aus Mitteln des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten, Pro Helvetia Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Fachausschuss Tanz und Theater BS/BL und GGG Basel. CAMPO wird unterstützt durch die Flämische Regierung, die Provinz Ostflandern und die Stadt Gent.