Dance

¿Donde estaré esta noche? (Where Will I Be Tonight?)

Wed 15 to Fri 17-06-2005 | 20:00

Play by Claudio Valdés Kuri and Maricarmen Gutiérrez
based on George Bernard Shaw
Teatro de ciertos habitantes (Mexico)
Guest Performance as part of the festival IN TRANSIT

German premiere
World premiere: 2004
  • In Spanish with German translation

Past Dates

Claudio Valdés-Kuri’s latest film “Where will I be tonight?” shows a European myth in the present. He has chosen the “Virgin of Orleans“ (Joan of Arc) as his heroine to explore the complex relationship between religious and national concepts of modernity. Occupied France in the middle ages and contemporary Latin America reveal surprising parallels.

“Jeanne d’Arc stands for the struggle to go beyond oneself, the struggle of man against man.“ (Claudio Valdés Kuri)

Kuri more or less intuitively uncovers the complexity of global interrelationships and fault lines in his theatre. Here, he will be reading the themes of the Joan of Arc (the ‘Virgin of Orleans’) from the perspective of the New World. In his play ¿Dónde estaré esta noche? nine actors, who could have come straight from the streets and are (at first sight) barely distinguishable from the audience, explore the contradiction between political pragmatism and religious allegiance. Valdés Kuri plays with the boundaries between theatre and reality, between audience and performer, and between past and present. “What I am showing here are very simple, strict aesthetics in a totally Baroque frame. I don’t have any specific influences. My language is personal. In this piece you see two chairs, a table, and the theatre seats. By tearing down the fourth wall we seek active audience participation, which is a part of the stage setting: the actor is a spectator, and the spectator an actor. The condemned are judges, victims, perpetrators…” (Claudio Valdés Kuri)

Claudio Valdés Kuri (*1965) is of Mexican-Lebanese origins, and his work reflects this fact. He is a trained actor, singer, set designer, director and documentary film maker. At the early age of eleven he was already touring Mexico with the group run by his acting teacher Susanna Wein. In 1983, he began studying at the Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica film academy in Mexico City and made a name for himself with documentary films. He began directing street theatre productions in the mid-1980s. From 1988 to the present he has staged seventeen plays. From 1996 to 1999, he worked as an actor at the Carpa Theater in Vienna. He is now directing the company he founded in 1997, the Certain Inhabitants Theatre Company in Mexico City. He has produced three plays with this theatre. His theatre production De monstruos y prodigios, la historia de los Castrati (Monsters and prodigies - the History of the Castrati) attracted attention internationally in 2001.

Cast

Directed by Claudio Valdés Kuri
Stage Design Claudio Valdés Kuri, Igor Lozada
Costume Design María Rosa Manzini
Lighting Design Matías Gorlero

With
Gerardo Cruz, Maria Teresa Dal Pero, Gibran Galaviz, Carlos Lopez, Miguel Ángel Lopez, Fermín Martinez, Jose Ruy Olivares, Kaveh Parmas, Gastón Yanes

Co-produced by Cervantino-Festival with House of World Cultures and Wiener Festwochen

Tanz

¿Donde estaré esta noche? (Wo bin ich heute nacht?)

Mi 15. bis Fr 17.06.2005 | 20:00

Theaterstück von Claudio Valdés Kuri und Maricarmen Gutiérrez
nach George Bernard Shaw
Teatro de ciertos habitantes (Mexiko)
Gastspiel im Rahmen des Festivals IN TRANSIT

Deutsche Erstaufführung
Uraufführung: 2004
  • In spanischer Sprache mit deutscher Übersetzung

Vergangene Termine

Claudio Valdés Kuri ist der heute international präsenteste Theatermacher Mexikos. Mit seinem neuesten Stück „Wo bin ich heute Nacht?“ stellt er einen europäischen Gründungsmythos in die Gegenwart. Indem er die „Jungfrau von Orleans“ zu seiner Heldin wählt, lotet er die Verbindungen von religiösen und nationalen Konzepten der Moderne aus. Das besetzte Frankreich des Mittelalters und das heutige Lateinamerika zeigen dabei ungeahnte Parallelen.

„Jeanne d’Arc steht für den Kampf, sich selbst zu besiegen; der Kampf des Menschen gegen den Menschen.“ (Claudio Valdés Kuri)

Kuri deckt mit seinem Theater fast intuitiv die Komplexität globaler Wechselbeziehungen und Verwerfungen auf. Hier liest er die Themen der „Jungfrau von Orleans“ aus der Perspektive der „Neuen Welt“. Wie aus dem Alltag gegriffen entwickeln in seinem Stück ¿Dónde estaré esta noche? neun, anfangs von den Zuschauern kaum unterscheidbare Schauspieler die Konflikte zwischen politischem Pragmatismus und religiöser Gefolgschaft. Valdés Kuri spielt mit den Grenzen zwischen Schauspiel und Realität, zwischen Zuschauer und Darsteller, zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. „Es handelt sich um eine sehr einfache strenge Ästhetik in einer sehr barocken Konstruktion. Ich folge keinem besonderen Einfluss. Meine Sprache ist persönlich. In diesem Werk siehst du zwei Stühle, einen Tisch, die Theaterbestuhlung. Mit dem Niederreißen der vierten Wand suchen wir nach einer aktiven Beteiligung des Publikums, das Teil des Bühnenbildes ist: Der Schauspieler ist Zuschauer, der Zuschauer Schauspieler. Die Gerichteten sind Richter, Opfer und Täter...“ (Claudio Valdés Kuri)

Claudio Valdés Kuri (*1965) ist geprägt von seiner mexikanisch-libanesischen Herkunft. Er ist ausgebildeter Schauspieler, Sänger, Ausstatter, Regisseur und Dokumentarfilmer. Bereits im Alter von elf Jahren tourte er mit der Gruppe seiner Schauspiellehrerin Susana Wein durch Mexiko. Ab 1983 studierte er an der Filmhochschule Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica in Mexico City und machte sich zunächst mit Dokumentarfilmen einen Namen. Zur Regie fand er Mitte der 80er durch Straßentheaterproduktionen, von 1988 bis heute inszenierte er 17 Theaterstücke. Von 1996 bis 1999 arbeitete er als Schauspieler am Carpa Theater in Wien. Heute leitet er die 1997 von ihm gegründete Company „Theater der gewissen Bewohner“ in Mexico City, mit der er bisher drei Stücke erarbeitet hat. Internationale Aufmerksamkeit erregte 2001 auch seine Theaterproduktion „De monstruos y prodigios, la historia de los Castrati“ (Monster und Wunderkinder – Die Geschichte der Kastraten).

Besetzung

Inszenierung Claudio Valdés Kuri
Bühne Claudio Valdés Kuri, Igor Lozada
Kostüme María Rosa Manzini
Licht Matías Gorlero

Mit
Gerardo Cruz, Maria Teresa Dal Pero, Gibran Galaviz, Carlos Lopez, Miguel Ángel Lopez, Fermín Martinez, Jose Ruy Olivares, Kaveh Parmas, Gastón Yanes

Koproduktion von Cervantino Festival, Haus der Kulturen der Welt und Wiener Festwochen