Performance
Shifting Perspectives

Chombotrope

By The Jitta Collective (Nairobi/Cologne)
Shifting Perspectives

Chombotrope

Chombotrope

© Martin Rottenkolber

  • 1h, no interval
  • In English

Past Dates

Through a surreal, raucous fashion concert that blinds and purifies us, the African-European collective attempts to rethink the heritage of cultural appropriation. In a playfully subversive change of perspective, “Chombotrope” connects elements of voguing and contemporary dance with beatboxing, rap, drums and turntables. This creates a mix of futurist identities with an unusual, stirring and captivating dance vocabulary. With a pointed and personal practise of self-empowerment, the collective produces a wormhole between two continents: Tradition and cultural loot are combined, twisted and focussed, allowing for new narratives to emerge. Menacingly and with a confusing lack of identifiable origins, the performance interweaves animism with science-fiction and the spiritual with technology.

Project initiation & Idea Kefa Oiro, Stephanie Thiersch
Conceived by The Jitta Collective

With
Direction, Choreography, Text Stephanie Thiersch
Dance, Choreography, Concept Kefa Oiro
Dance, Performance, Choreography Alexandra Naudet
Voguing, Vocals, Choreography Marie Zoe (aka Marie Buchholz)
Voguing Mother Leo Melody (alias Georgina Philp)
Art Objects, Fashion Design, Lyrics
Xenson (aka Ssamson Ssenkaaba)
Musical Composition, Turntables
DJ Elephant Power (alias Nicolas Baudoux)
Musical Composition, Drums, Beatboxing/Vocals Dodo NKishi
Musical Composition, Drums N’deye Seck
Dramaturgy / Scientific Support, Fashion & Aesthetics Alexandra Karentzos

Chombotrope (Trailer)

A MOUVOIR e.V. Germany & Tuchangamke Group, Kenya production. In co-production with Akademie der Künste der Welt / Cologne as part of PLURIVERSALE VII, tanzhaus nrw, Nairobi Festival of Performance and Media Arts – NFPMA and Goethe Institut – International Coproduction Fund.
Cooperation partners: freihandelszone – ensemblenetzwerk köln, GoDownArtsCenter, Nairobi.

Funded by: Kunststiftung NRW, NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ (NPN), Coproduction Fund for Dance from means of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, Ministry for Culture and Science of the Land North-Rhine Westphalia, Cultural Office of the city of Cologne.

Chombotrope

Chombotrope

© Martin Rottenkolber

Performance
Shifting Perspectives

Chombotrope

von The Jitta Collective (Nairobi/Köln)
Shifting Perspectives

  • 1h, keine Pause
  • In englischer Sprache

Wie kleidet sich die Zukunft? Mit einem surrealen Fashion-Konzert, das blendet, lärmt und läutert, versucht das afrikanisch-europäische Kollektiv das Erbe der kulturellen Aneignung neu zu denken. In einem spielerisch-subversiven Perspektivwechsel verknüpft Chombotrope dabei Elemente des Voguing und des zeitgenössischen Tanzes mit Beatboxing, Rap, Drums und Turntables. Dabei entsteht ein Mix futuristischer Identitäten mit einer ungewöhnlichen tänzerischen Sprache, die mitreißt und fesselt. Mit einer zugespitzten und persönlichen Praxis der Selbstermächtigung erzeugt das Kollektiv ein Wurmloch zwischen zwei Kontinenten: Tradition und kulturelles Diebesgut werden verknüpft, verdreht und gebündelt und lassen neue Narrative entstehen. Bedrohlich und verwirrend-ursprungslos werden Animismus mit Science-Fiction und das Spirituelle mit Technologie verwoben.

Projektinitiation und Idee Kefa Oiro, Stephanie Thiersch
Konzept The Jitta Collective

Mit
Regie, Choreografie, Text Stephanie Thiersch
Tanz, Choreografie, Konzept Kefa Oiro
Tanz, Performance, Choreografie Alexandra Naudet
Voguing, Gesang, Choreografie Marie Zoe (alias Marie Buchholz)
Voguing Mother Leo Melody (alias Georgina Philp)
Kunstobjekte, Fashion-Design, Poesie
Xenson (alias Ssamson Ssenkaaba)
Musikalische Komposition, Turntables
DJ Elephant Power (alias Nicolas Baudoux)
Musikalische Komposition, Schlagzeug, Beatboxing/Gesang Dodo NKishi
Musikalische Komposition, Schlagzeug N’deye Seck
Dramaturgie/Wissenschaftlicher Support, Mode & Ästhetik Alexandra Karentzos

Chombotrope (Trailer)

Eine Produktion von MOUVOIR e.V. Germany & Tuchangamke Group, Kenia. In Koproduktion mit der Akademie der Künste der Welt / Köln im Rahmen der PLURIVERSALE VII, tanzhaus nrw, Nairobi Festival of Performance and Media Arts – NFPMA und Goethe Institut – Internationaler Koproduktionsfonds.
Kooperationspartner: freihandelszone – ensemblenetzwerk köln, GoDownArtsCenter, Nairobi.

Gefördert durch: Kunststiftung NRW, NATIONALES PERFORMANCE NETZ (NPN), Koproduktionsförderung Tanz aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, Kulturamt der Stadt Köln.