Discourse
TT Kontext

UNLEARNING Patriarchy I

TT Context

  • In English with German translation

Past Dates

We like to thank the students of the IALT at Leipzig University for the translation at the event.

What is the connection between cat calls and the gender pay gap? How do old, familiar images of masculinity and structural sexism relate to each other? Are we even able to cast off ways of living that we learned from a young age and shouldn’t the theatre as a“moral institution” pave the way regarding issues of equal opportunity policies? Beyond the confines of the stage, UNLEARNING Patriarchy asks whether it would not benefit us all to renegotiate established concepts of masculinity, fixed role images and crusty systems.

Programme

15:00-15:30, Bornemann Bar / Upper Foyer
Everyday Sexism – From Routine Sexism to Gender Injustice
A keynote speech by Laura Bates (London)
As the founder of the “Everyday Sexism Project”, British journalist Laura Bates gives a voice to countless abuses, verbal transgressions and the suffering of many women in their struggle for equal opportunities. This chorus is loud, direct and not to be ignored, confronting us with the brutality of our day-to-day lives – because so far, they are governed by the power of habit.

15:30-17:00, Bornemann Bar / Upper Foyer
Masculinity in Crisis?
A conversation
With Laura Bates (London), Kübra Gümüşay (Hamburg), Elahe Haschemi Yekani (Berlin), Matthias Weigel (Berlin)
Moderation Margarita Tsomou (Berlin)
We want to talk about power asymmetries in our everyday lives. But without ending up, as we did with #MeToo and the issue of gender injustices in the cultural sector, with a debate about the debate. But who can show us ways out of the dilemma of outdated images of masculinity and structural sexism? A conversation about ways of cracking patriarchal role images.

Recording from 06.05.2018

Diskurs
TT Kontext

UNLEARNING Patriarchat I

TT Kontext

  • In englischer Sprache mit deutscher Übersetzung

Herzlichen Dank an die Studierenden des IALT der Universität Leipzig für die Verdolmetschung bei der Veranstaltung.

Was haben Catcalls mit dem Gender Pay Gap zu tun? Wie bedingen sich altgewohnte Männlichkeitsbilder und struktureller Sexismus? Können wir von klein auf gelernte Lebensweisen überhaupt ablegen und sollte nicht gerade das Theater als „moralische Anstalt“ Vorreiter*in in Fragen der Gleichstellungspolitik sein? UNLEARNING Patriarchat fragt über die Bühne hinaus, ob wir nicht alle gewinnen, wenn wir etablierte Vorstellungen von Männlichkeit, starre Rollenbilder und verkrustete Systeme neu aushandeln.

Programm

15:00-15:30, Bornemann Bar / Oberes Foyer
Everyday Sexism – Vom Alltagssexismus zu Genderungleichheit
Eine Keynote von Laura Bates (London)
Als Gründerin des „Everyday Sexism Project“ gibt die britische Journalistin Laura Bates unzähligen Übergriffen, verbalen Entgleisungen und dem Leid vieler Frauen im Kampf um Gleichberechtigung eine Stimme. Laut, direkt und unüberhörbar schreit uns dieser Chor die Brutalität unseres Alltags entgegen – denn hier regiert die Macht der Gewohnheit.

15:30-17:00, Bornemann Bar / Oberes Foyer
Männlichkeit in der Krise?
Ein Gespräch
Mit Laura Bates (Journalistin und Gründerin des „The Everyday Sexism Project“, London), Kübra Gümüşay (Freie Journalistin, Bloggerin & Netz-Aktivistin, Hamburg), Elahe Haschemi Yekani (Department of English and American Studies, Schwerpunkt Postcolonial Studies an der HU-Berlin, Berlin), Matthias Weigel (Creative Production „Weltrecorder“, Berlin)
Moderation Margarita Tsomou (Redaktion „Missy Magazine“, Berlin)
Über Machtasymmetrien im Alltag wollen wir sprechen. Ohne jedoch, wie bei #MeToo und Fragen der Genderungerechtigkeit im Kulturbetrieb, erneut bei einer Debatte über die Debatte zu landen. Nur wer weist uns den Ausweg aus dem Dilemma veralteter Männerbilder und strukturellem Sexismus? Ein Gespräch über Möglichkeiten, patriarchale Rollenbilder aufzubrechen.

Mitschnitt vom 06.05.2018