In House: Waiting

Wu Tsang In House
  • Free admission

    If you are interested in attending the event, please RSVP by 23 March 2018 to: . As capacity is limited, we will confirm your RSVP on a first-come, first-served basis.

Past Dates

As part of her year-long residency at Gropius Bau, Wu Tsang invites you to the intimate launch of her series “In House”, hosting a conversation with Athens-based photographer and photojournalist Eirini Vourloumis. Wu Tsang has curated a selection of works by Eirini Vourloumis from the photo series “In Waiting”, which are presented throughout the building.

“In Waiting” explores a number of predominantly empty spaces in Athens: waiting rooms, passageways and unnoticed, hidden spaces within bureaucratic structures. With Eirini Vourloumis’ discerning and playful eye, these environments become narrators of stagnation, dysfunction and resilience – in quiet, unexpected ways.

This intervention takes advantage of the Gropius Bau’s momentary empty state. Eirini Vourloumis’ poetic images are choreographed through various spaces and stairwells by Wu Tsang and placed in dialogue with the historic architecture, highlighting contrasts between transition and stasis.

The evening will begin with a conversation in the cafe between the artists about their upcoming film collaboration, followed by a book launch reception. You are then invited to explore the empty building and Eirini Vourloumis’ photography.

Eirini Vourloumis is a photojournalist and photographer based in Athens. She is a regular contributor to international publications including “The New York Times”, “The Wall Street Journal”, “The New Yorker”, “Time”, “Le Monde”, and “The Guardian”; focusing on the ongoing economic and refugee crises in Greece. Her artistic work combines documentary and conceptual practices, exploring complex social and political environments within the context of Greece.

Wu Tsang, the 2018 artist-in-residence, moved into her studio at Gropius Bau earlier this year. Wu Tsang is an award-winning artist and filmmaker whose work explores various states of connectedness and ‘in-between’-ness within society and with regard to personal identity. Often this fluidity manifests itself as collaboration, or in the merging of disciplines, such as performance, moving image, sculpture, and installation. Wu Tsang’s work collapses the boundaries between documentary and fiction, as a way of reflecting, reformulating and destabilising the meanings associated with traditional forms of image creation.

Wu Tsang in conversation with Eirini Vourloumis

The event is kindly supported by Hatje Cantz.

Wu Tsang In House

In House: Waiting

  • Eintritt frei

    Da die Platzkapazitäten begrenzt sind, bitten wir um eine verbindliche Anmeldung bis zum 23. März 2018 an und empfehlen eine frühzeitige Anmeldung, da die Plätze in der Reihenfolge der eingegangenen Anfragen vergeben werden.

Vergangene Termine

Im Rahmen ihres einjährigen Aufenthalts im Gropius Bau lädt uns Wu Tsang zu einem intimen Auftakt ihrer Programmreihe In House ein. Diese beginnt mit einem Gespräch mit der in Athen lebenden Fotografin und Fotojournalistin Eirini Vourloumis. Wu Tsang nimmt den leerstehenden Gropius Bau in den Blick und kuratiert dort Eirini Vourloumis Fotografien aus der Serie „In Waiting“.

„In Waiting“ erforscht vorwiegend leere Räume in Athen: Wartezimmer, Durchgänge und unbemerkte, versteckte Orte innerhalb der Bürokratie. Auf ruhige, unerwartete Weise lässt Eirini Vourloumis diese Umgebungen durch ein scharfes und spielerisches Auge von Stagnation, Dysfunktionalität und Widerstandskraft erzählen.

Die Intervention greift die momentane Leere des Gropius Bau auf. Eirini Vourloumis’ poetische Bilder werden von Wu Tsang in den Räumen und Treppenaufgängen choreographiert und in ein Gespräch mit dem historischen Gebäude gebracht, wobei die Kontraste von Übergang und Stillstand beleuchtet werden.

Der Abend beginnt mit einem Gespräch zwischen den Künstlerinnen über ihre bevorstehende Film-Kollaboration, gefolgt von der Buchpräsentation „In Waiting“. Anschließend sind wir eingeladen, den Gropius Bau anhand Eirini Vourloumis’ Fotografien zu erkunden.

Eirini Vourloumis ist Fotojournalistin und Fotografin in Athen. Sie arbeitet regelmäßig für internationale Publikationen wie die „New York Times“, das „Wall Street Journal“, den „New Yorker“, „Time“, „Le Monde“ und „The Guardian“; mit thematischen Schwerpunkt auf der anhaltenden Wirtschafts- und Flüchtlingskrise in Griechenland. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit verbindet dokumentarische und konzeptuelle Ansätze und erforscht komplexe soziale und politische Umgebungen im Kontext Griechenlands.

Wu Tsang hat Anfang des Jahres als Artist in Residence das Studio im Gropius Bau bezogen. Wu Tsang ist eine vielfach ausgezeichnete Künstlerin und Filmemacherin. Ihre Arbeit erforscht Zustände von Verbundenheit und Dazwischen-Sein in der Gesellschaft und hinsichtlich der eigenen Identität. Diese ungewissen Beziehungen zeigen sich meist als Kollaborationen oder im Verschmelzen der Disziplinen wie Performance, Film, Skulptur und Installation. Wu Tsang bricht mit den Grenzen von Dokumentation und Fiktion, um die Bedeutungen, die mit den traditionellen Formen der Bilderzeugung verbunden sind, zu reflektieren, reformulieren und destabilisieren.

Wu Tsang im Gespräch mit Eirini Vourloumis

Die Veranstaltung findet mit Unterstützung von Hatje Cantz statt.