Colin Self

Colin Self

© the artist

Colin Self: Xhoir I: A Workshop Series & Xhoir II: Open Sessions

Open Sessions: 30 Jun, 07, 14, 21 Jul and 04 Aug 2018, 16:00 Workshops: 02, 09, 16, 23 & 30 Jul 2018, 18:00

Workshop as part of the exhibition “Welt ohne Außen”

  • The Participation in all workshops as part of “Welt ohne Außen” is free (with exhibition ticket).

    The WoA permanent ticket allows multiple visits and participation in all workshops and live-works throughout the entire duration of the exhibition.

    Participation in the workshops requires preregistration:

    Spontaneous participation in the Open Sessions is possible and welcome.
    (Limited capacities, admission subject to availability.)

    More information upon registration

  • In English

Xhoir is a non-utilitarian vocal workshop led by Colin Self focused on alternative modalities of group singing. Rooted in somatic research and experimentation, the goal of Xhoir is to foster a generative environment for individuals to connect with voice and vocality on an individual and collective level. Xhoir is open to anyone interested in exploring their voice as a tool for learning or re-posturing a new relationship to singing and listening. Prior participation in choral or vocal practices is not required, but any prior experience with listening and engaging experimentally in a musical or studio practice is encouraged.

Xhoir I: A Workshop Series

A commitment-based registered weekly group practice in which participants meet as a group to develop an integrated practice of exploring group singing as a research-based practice. These weekly sessions will travel through a variety of focal points, emphasizing somatic relationships, cognitive resistance, and methods of non-authoritarian leadership. Integrating a series of guest instructors and speakers, these sessions will culminate toward a public performance at the end of the programme.
Registration required. Participants are also welcome to join the Open Sessions.

Xhoir II: Open Sessions

An open come-and-go process that is specifically addressed at participants who have pre-existing abandoned practices of singing (from religious, institutional, familial, educational backgrounds) and are given opportunities to re-encounter their relationship to group singing. This programme will be based less in theory and praxis-building, and more focused on creating an open and inviting environment for people to examine the means by which they initially stopped singing and find sustainable architecture to integrate the voice back into their lives through group and solo practices.
Walk-ins welcome.

Colin Self: Xhoir I: A Workshop Series & Xhoir II: Open Sessions

Open Sessions: 30.06., 07., 14., 21.07. und 04.08.2018, 16:00 Workshops: 02., 09., 16.,  23. & 30.07.2018, 16:00

Workshop zur Ausstellung „Welt ohne Außen“

Colin Self

Colin Self

© the artist

  • Die Teilnahme an allen Workshops im Rahmen von „Welt ohne Außen“ ist kostenlos (mit Ausstellungsticket).

    Die WoA-Dauerkarte berechtigt für die gesamte Laufzeit zum Besuch der Ausstellung sowie zur Teilnahme an allen Workshops und Aufführungen.

    Teilnahme an den Workshops nur nach Voranmeldung:

    Spontane Teilnahme an den Open Sessions ist möglich und erwünscht.
    (Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten, Zutritt jeweils nach Verfügbarkeit.)

    Weitere Informationen bei Anmeldung

  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Xhoir ist ein an keiner Zweckmäßigkeit orientierter Gesangsworkshop mit Colin Self, der sich mit Vokalität und alternativen Formen des Gruppengesangs beschäftigt. Xhoir basiert auf somatischer Forschung und Experimenten und möchte ein produktives Umfeld fördern, in dem Menschen sich auf individueller und kollektiver Ebene mit Stimme und Vokalität verbinden können. Xhoir steht allen offen, die ihre Stimme als Instrument des Lernens erkunden oder eine neue Haltung zum Singen und Zuhören finden möchten. Vorkenntnisse im Chorgesang oder anderen Gesangspraktiken sind nicht erforderlich, aber jede Erfahrung mit dem Hören oder experimentellen Mitwirken an musikalischen Praktiken oder im Studio ist willkommen.

Xhoir I: A Workshop Series

In verbindlicher wöchentlicher Gruppenpraxis mit Anmeldung treffen sich die Teilnehmenden, um eine integrierte Praxis der Erforschung des Gruppengesangs als recherchegestützten Vorgang zu entwickeln. Gemeinsam mit Gastdozent*innen und -referent*innen geht es um Körperbeziehungen, kognitive Widerstände und nicht-autoritäre Führungsmethoden. Den Höhepunkt bildet eine öffentliche Performance zum Abschluss des Programms.
Eine Anmeldung ist erforderlich. Die Teilnehmer*innen sind außerdem eingeladen, an den Open Sessions teilzunehmen.

Xhoir II: Open Sessions

Dieser offene Prozess, bei dem das Kommen und Gehen jederzeit möglich ist, richtet sich vor allem an Teilnehmende, die über Erfahrungen mit dem Singen verfügen (ob kirchlich, institutionell in der Familie oder Schule), sich aber von diesen Praktiken verabschiedet haben. Hier erhalten sie Gelegenheit zu einer Neubegegnung mit dem Gruppengesang. Warum singe ich nicht mehr? Wie kann ich meine Stimme durch Gesang in der Gruppe oder alleine wieder in meinen Alltag integrieren?
Spontane Teilnahme jederzeit möglich.