Renée Coulombe

Renée Coulombe

© the artist

Renée Coulombe: Sound Walk Immersion: Deep Listening in Berlin

17 June and 01, 08, 15, 22, 29 Jul and 05 Aug, 12:00 and 13:30

Workshop as part of the exhibition “Welt ohne Außen”

  • The Participation in all workshops as part of “Welt ohne Außen” is free (with exhibition ticket).

    The WoA permanent ticket allows multiple visits and participation in all workshops and live-works throughout the entire duration of the exhibition.

    Preregistration:

    Spontaneous attendance is possible and welcome.
    (Limited capacities, admission subject to availability.)

    More information upon registration

  • In English

The city around us as a concert hall: the workshop aims to immerse participants more fully and deeply into the natural and urban soundscapes all around us.

“Deep Listening” is the sound practice developed over a lifetime by composer, improviser, electronic music pioneer, and Professor of music, Pauline Oliveros. The practice challenges us to listen more often, more deeply, and with more intention in our lives – and to recognize when we are not listening so that we can listen even more. The practice includes bodywork to allow more receptivity to listening, sonic meditations to increase listening capacities, as well as listening to the sounds of daily life, nature, one’s own thoughts, our dreams – even to listen to the sounds of our own listening.

This workshop will introduce participants to some of the principles of Deep Listening and Sonic Meditation. We will do gentle movement and listening exercises to focus our awareness and awaken our senses. We will then take our awakened senses on a curated sound walk through Berlin – slowly and silently listening to the world around us, our own movements, thoughts and reactions – and listening intently to the signs of history and culture, as well as our fellow human beings, in the process. We will then explore our impressions, sensations and discoveries together and close with an interactive and creative sounding experiment together.

The workshop is ideal for anyone who wishes to augment their artistic or creative practice through listening, those desiring to listen more intently to nature and the natural world, as well as anyone wanting to listen more intently to their inner and outer environments with a renewed focus and deepened perspective. Children over the age of 8 are welcome if they can embrace long stretches of silent listening and movement. Everyone is encouraged to dress for comfortable movement indoors and out. The walks are not designed to be strenuous – but slow and meditative.

Biography Renée Coulombe

Renée Coulombe: Sound Walk Immersion: Deep Listening in Berlin

17.06. und 01., 08., 15., 22., 29.07. und 05.08.2018 12:00 & 13:30

Workshop zur Ausstellung „Welt ohne Außen“

Renée Coulombe

Renée Coulombe

© the artist

  • Die Teilnahme an allen Workshops im Rahmen von „Welt ohne Außen“ ist kostenlos (mit Ausstellungsticket).

    Die WoA-Dauerkarte berechtigt für die gesamte Laufzeit zum Besuch der Ausstellung sowie zur Teilnahme an allen Workshops und Aufführungen.

    Voranmeldung:

    Spontane Teilnahme ist möglich und erwünscht.
    (Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten, Zutritt jeweils nach Verfügbarkeit.)

    Weitere Informationen bei Anmeldung

  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Die Stadt als Konzertsaal: In diesem Workshop geht es um das Eintauchen in die natürlichen und urbanen Klanglandschaften, die uns umgeben.

Die Stadt als Konzertsaal: In diesem Workshop geht es um das Eintauchen in die natürlichen und urbanen Klanglandschaften, die uns umgeben. Die Praxis des „Deep Listening“ wurde über Jahrzehnte von der Komponistin, Pionierin der elektronischen Musik und Musikwissenschaftlerin Pauline Oliveros entwickelt. Sie fordert uns dazu auf, öfter, intensiver und absichtsvoller zuzuhören und zu erkennen, wann wir nicht zuhören – um dann umso besser hinzuhören. Körperübungen zur Verbesserung der Aufnahmebereitschaft und Klangmeditationen werden zur Erhöhung der Hörfähigkeit eingesetzt. Die Teilnehmer*innen lauschen den Klängen des täglichen Lebens, der Natur, der eigenen Gedanken und Träume – auch des eigenen Zuhörens.

Der Workshop vermittelt die Grundprinzipien des „Deep Listening“ und der „Sonic Meditation“. Mithilfe von sanften Bewegungs- und Hörübungen konzentrieren wir unser Bewusstsein und wecken unsere Sinne. Mit wachen Sinnen machen wir einen kuratierten, gemächlichen Spaziergang durch Berlin und hören der Welt um uns, unseren eigenen Bewegungen, Gedanken und Reaktionen zu und nehmen Signale der Geschichte und Kultur wahr. Gemeinsam betrachten wir unsere Eindrücke, Wahrnehmungen und Entdeckungen und beschließen den Workshop mit einem interaktiven und kreativen Klangexperiment.

Kleiden Sie sich so, dass Sie sich im Innenraum wie im Freien gut bewegen können. Die Spaziergänge sind nicht anstrengend, sondern langsam und meditativ. Kinder ab 8 Jahren sind willkommen, wenn sie gerne und gut eine längere Strecke des stillen Zuhörens und Gehens durchhalten.

Biografie Renée Coulombe