MEGA ISRAEL: Minus 16

MEGA ISRAEL: Minus 16. Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

© Regina Brocke

MEGA ISRAEL

Choreographies by Hofesh Shechter, Sharon Eyal & Gai Behar, Ohad Naharin
Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Gauthier Dance presents a programme which shows contemporary dance at its most dynamic – full of power and energy and striking a distinctly personal note. The central theme: The choreographers are all natives of Israel who, today, collaborate with major companies all over the world. What’s more, all three productions marked an important step in their artistic careers.

  • 2h, one interval

In ‘Uprising’, Hofesh Shechter explores the extremely physical, virile side of dance. The seven male performers, all barefoot and casually dressed in T-shirts and trousers, are wavering between insecurity and aggressiveness, a longing for companionship and the urge for dominance. The mood is dictated by the music: harsh rock sounds, electronically distorted, composed by the trained percussionist Shechter himself. A strong statement that adds a whole new colour to contemporary dance.

Gai Behar and Sharon Eyal achieved their international breakthrough with ‘Killer Pig’. The duo is to create an extra version for Gauthier Dance – cast with six female dancers like in the world premiere, and condensed into 30 radical minutes. In the context of ‘MEGA ISRAEL’, the rough style and precise movements of ‘Killer Pig’ make for the ideal counterpart to Shechter’s ‘Uprising’. We see enigmatic Amazons in perfectly synchronized formations and desperate outbursts, coolly debunking all clichés of female dancing.

The third piece is ‘Minus 16’ by Ohad Naharin – the long-term Artistic Director of the magnificent Batsheva Dance Company who is widely regarded as the greatest master of dance from Israel. After the great success of ‘Kamuyot’, the creator of the Gaga method trusts Gauthier Dance with another production. Save that one should rather call it THE production … After all, ‘Minus 16’ is Naharin’s signature piece which became iconic soon after the premiere in 1999. Like in a kaleidoscope, the choreography combines diverse episodes, musical material and moods which Naharin continually re-arranges and modifies. Whether it is the raw energy emanating from a circle of dancers on chairs, chanting powerful Jewish traditional Echad Mi Yodea or the rapture of a pas de deux set to Antonio Vivaldi’s setting of ‘Nisi Dominus’ (Psalm 126) – Minus 16 offers an intense experience for both the dancers and the audience.

Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart is a young, dynamic company of 17 highly individual, versatile dancers, directed by the dancer, choreographer and musician Eric Gauthier. The Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart presents contemporary dance by Gauthier and internationally renowned choreographers such as Mauro Bigonzetti, William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián, Itzik Galili, Paul Lightfoot / Sol León and Hans van Manen. Set up in October 2007, Gauthier Dance established itself in the German dance scene with record speed and has become an international brand.

www.gauthierdance.com 
www.facebook.com/gauthierdance 
www.twitter.com/theaterhaus  
www.instagram.com/gauthierdance 

Cast

Uprising
Hofesh Shechter Choreography & Sound Composition
Vex’d Additional Music
Hofesh Shechter Stage & Costume Design
Lee Curran commissioned by The Robin Howard Foundation Lighting Design

Killer Pig
Sharon Eyal, Gai Behar Choreography
Ori Lichtik Music
Sharon Eyal, Gai Behar Costume Design
Kevin A. Jones Lighting Design

Minus 16
Ohad Naharin Choreography
Excerpts from “Zachacha” (1998), “Anaphaza” (1993), “Mabul” (1992)
Soundtrack from “Cha-Cha de Amo”; popular song arranged by Dick Dale; trad. song arranged and performed by the Tractor’s Revenge and Ohad Naharin; “Stabat Mater“ by Vivaldi; song by Arlen Harold arranged by Marusha; Frédéric Chopin and others Music
Ohad Naharin Costume Design
Avi Yona Bueno Lighting Design

Eric Gauthier Artistic Director
Federica Dadamo, Louisa Rachedi Ballet Mistresses
Mario Daszenies Technical Production Management
Gudrun Schretzmeier Artistic Coordination Stage & Costumes
Alexandra Brenk Production Management
Lisa Beck Artistic Management
ecotopia dance productions Tour Management

Organiser Theaterhaus Stuttgart
Media Partners Exberliner Magazine, kulturradio vom rbb, radioeins vom rbb, tip Berlin, Yorck Kinogruppe and ZITTY

A Theaterhaus Stuttgart production
A warm thank you to our premium partner ElringKlinger AG, our sponsor Fashion- und Lifestylehaus Breuninger in Stuttgart as well as to our supporters The First Friends und Friends of Gauthier Dance and the Foundation Herbert Metzger and Anneliese Metzger-Nord.
Theaterhaus Stuttgart is sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Bank, the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg and the City of Stuttgart

© Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

MEGA ISRAEL

Choreografien von Hofesh Shechter, Sharon Eyal & Gai Behar, Ohad Naharin
Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart

Gauthier Dance präsentiert ein Programm, das den zeitgenössischen Tanz von seiner dynamischsten Seite zeigt – voller Power, Energie und mit einer ausgeprägten persönlichen Handschrift. Der rote Faden: Alle Choreographen sind gebürtige Israelis, arbeiten aber heute mit und für führende Companies auf der ganzen Welt. Und alle drei Produktionen markierten für ihre Schöpfer bedeutende Stationen in ihrer künstlerischen Karriere.

  • 2h, eine Pause

Hofesh Shechter erkundet mit „Uprising“ die extrem physische, virile Seite des Tanzes. Sieben Männer, barfuß und lässig in T-Shirts und Hosen gekleidet, voller Unsicherheit und latenter bis hin zu unverstellter Aggressivität. Die Sehnsucht nach Gemeinschaft liegt im Clinch mit brutalem Dominanzstreben. Den Takt gibt die Musik vor: peitschende, elektronisch verzerrte Rock-Sounds, komponiert vom Profi-Schlagzeuger Shechter selbst. Ein starkes Statement und eine eigene, neue Farbe, durch die Hofesh Shechter den Tanz unverkennbar bereichert hat.

Auch Gai Behar und Sharon Eyal lieferten mit „Killer Pig“ ihre internationale Visitenkarte ab. Für Gauthier Dance haben Eyal–Behar eine neue Fassung kreiert – besetzt mit sechs Tänzerinnen, wie bei der Uraufführung, und kondensiert auf 30 radikale Minuten. Im Gefüge von „MEGA ISRAEL“ bilden die herbe Ästhetik und präzisen Bewegungen von „Killer Pig“ das ideale Gegenstück zu Shechters Uprising. Wir sehen rätselhafte Amazonen in perfekt synchronen Formationen und verzweifelten Ausbrüchen, die jedes Klischee vom weiblichen Tanz sarkastisch pulverisieren.

Der dritte Beitrag im Bunde ist „Minus 16“ von Ohad Naharin, der mit seiner Batsheva Dance Company als Großmeister des Tanzes aus Israel gilt. Nach „Kamuyot“ vertraute der Erfinder der Gaga-Methode der Company nun erneut ein Stück an. Nur dass man statt „ein“ Stück lieber DAS Stück sagen sollte … Schließlich schuf Naharin mit „Minus 16“ ein echtes Signature Piece, das schon bald nach der Premiere im Jahr 1999 Kultstatus erlangte. Wie in einem Kaleidoskop vereint es unterschiedlichste Episoden, Musiken und Stimmungen, die Naharin jeweils neu arrangiert und variiert – vom entfesselten Stuhlkreis mit kraftvollen, orientalisch angehauchten Gesängen bis zum entrückten Pas de deux zu Antonio Vivaldis „Stabat Mater“. Eine denkbar intensive Gruppenerfahrung für Tänzer und Publikum, die bis heute nichts von ihrer Anziehungskraft verloren hat.

Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart ist ein junges dynamisches Ensemble von sechzehn vielseitigen Tänzerpersönlichkeiten unter der Leitung des Choreographen, Tänzers und Musikers Eric Gauthier. Das Repertoire der Company umfasst originelle, oft humorvolle Werke von Gauthier und renommierten zeitgenössischen Choreographen wie Mauro Bigonzetti, William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián, Itzik Galili, Lightfoot/León und Hans van Manen. Nach der Gründung im Oktober 2007 etablierte sich die Company in Rekordgeschwindigkeit als internationale Marke. Mittlerweile zählt sie zur derjenigen Handvoll deutscher Ensembles mit der intensivsten Tourneetätigkeit – national wie international.

www.gauthierdance.com 
www.facebook.com/gauthierdance 
www.twitter.com/theaterhaus  
www.instagram.com/gauthierdance 

Besetzung

Uprising
Hofesh Shechter Choreografie & Klangkomposition
Vex’d Zusätzliche Musik
Hofesh Shechter Bühne & Kostüme
Lee Curran im Auftrag von The Robin Howard Foundation Licht

Killer Pig
Sharon Eyal, Gai Behar Choreografie
Ori Lichtik Musik
Sharon Eyal, Gai Behar Kostüme
Kevin A. Jones Licht

Minus 16
Ohad Naharin Choreografie
Ausschnitte aus „Zachacha“ (1998), „Anaphaza“ (1993), „Mabul“ (1992)
Soundtrack aus „Cha-Cha de Amo“; populäres Lied, arrangiert von Dick Dale; traditionelles Lied, arrangiert und aufgeführt von Tractor’s Revenge und Ohad Naharin, „Nisi Dominus“ von Vivaldi, Lied von Arlen Harold, arrangiert von Marusha; Frédéric Chopin u. a. Musik
Ohad Naharin Kostüme
Avi Yona Bueno Licht

Eric Gauthier Künstlerische Leitung
Federica Dadamo, Louisa Rachedi Ballettmeisterinnen
Mario Daszenies Technische Produktionsleitung
Gudrun Schretzmeier Künstlerische Koordination Bühne & Kostüme
Alexandra Brenk Produktionsleitung
Lisa Beck Artistic Management
ecotopia dance productions Tourmanagement

Veranstalter Theaterhaus Stuttgart
Medienpartner Exberliner Magazine, kulturradio vom rbb, radioeins vom rbb, tip Berlin, Yorck Kinogruppe und ZITTY

Eine Produktion von Theaterhaus Stuttgart
Das Theaterhaus bedankt sich bei dem Premiumpartner ElringKlinger AG, den Sponsoren Fashion- und Lifestylehaus Breuninger in Stuttgart und Luisa Cerano/Sporlastic sowie den Unterstützern First Friends und Friends of Gauthier Dance und der Stiftung Herbert Metzger und Anneliese Metzger-Nord.
Das Theaterhaus Stuttgart wird gefördert von der Mercedes-Benz Bank, dem Land Baden-Württemberg und der Stadt Stuttgart