Wu Tsang & Vaginal Davis present Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome

Vaginal Davis and Daniel Hendrickson present Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome followed by Late Night Fermentation Salon by Wu Tsang and Liz Rosenfeld

  • Film and Salon € 25, Arsenal Members € 22
    Film € 8, Arsenal Members € 5

  • In English

Past Dates

“It is unclear whether the longing for a white Christmas is being taken seriously, or whether it is intended as a denunciation.”—Harun Farocki

An agitprop film and a musical: White Christmas by Harun Farocki (BRD 1968) and White Christmas by Michael Curtiz (USA 1954). While Farocki thwarts Bing Crosby’s mawkish song with footage of the Vietnam War, Michael Curtiz’s classic tells the story of two war comrades who have now become a successful Broadway duo. They have to help their former general out of a jam. His hotel is chronically under-booked, with a Christmas show supposed to get business going again.

This time Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome is at the Gropius Bau, on invitation of artist Wu Tsang, In House: Artist in Residence 2018. The screening will be followed by cocktails and delicacies at the Late Night Fermentation Salon by Wu Tsang and Liz Rosenfeld.

Vinegar syndrome is the name given to the degradation of film caused by the chemical reaction of cellulose triacetate meeting humidity. Along with Daniel Hendrickson, Vaginal Davis examines the cause and effect of aging processes in different parts of the city.

Wu Tsang und Vaginal Davis präsentieren Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome

Vaginal Davis und Daniel Hendrickson präsentieren Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome begleitet von Late Night Fermentation Salon von Wu Tsang und Liz Rosenfeld.

  • Film und Salon € 25, Arsenal-Mitglieder € 22
    Film € 8, Arsenal-Mitglieder € 5

  • In englischer Sprache

Vergangene Termine

„Unklar, ob die Sehnsucht nach einer weißen Weihnacht nun ernst genommen wird, oder ob sie denunziert werden soll“ — Harun Farocki

Ein agitatorischer Kurzfilm und ein Musical: White Christmas von Harun Farocki (BRD 1968) und White Christmas von Michael Curtiz (USA 1954). Während Farocki Bing Crosbys süßliches Weihnachtslied White Christmas mit Aufnahmen des Vietnamkriegs konterkariert, erzählt Michael Curtiz’ Klassiker die Geschichte zweier ehemaliger Kriegskameraden, mittlerweile ein erfolgreiches Broadway-Duo, die ihrem ehemaligen General aus der Patsche helfen müssen: Dessen Hotel ist chronisch unterbucht – eine Christmas-Show soll das Geschäft wieder ankurbeln.

Das Besondere: Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome findet diesmal im Gropius Bau auf Einladung von Wu Tsang, In House: Artist in Residence 2018, statt. Nach dem Kino empfangen Wu Tsang und Liz Rosenfeld zu ihrem Late Night Fermentation Salon mit Cocktails und Köstlichkeiten.

Als Essigsyndrom bezeichnet man den Zersetzungsprozess von Film, der durch eine chemische Reaktion des Trägermaterials Celluloseacetat mit feuchter Luft hervorgerufen wird. Gemeinsam mit Daniel Hendrickson erforscht Vaginal Davis an verschiedenen Orten der Stadt Ursachen und Effekte von Alterungsprozessen.