Continu

Continu

© Sebastian Bolesch

Dance
Guest Performance

Continu

Sasha Waltz & Guests

World premiere 20 June 2010, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Schiffbau/Halle

In “Continu” a field of tension between choreographic, musical and visual currents of energy is generated, while the title denotes the continuity of the perpetual forces of Nature.

  • ca, 135 min, one interval

Sasha Waltz engages in “Continu” with primary impulses deriving from her major projects for museums of 2009 - the artistic inaugurations for David Chipperfield's Neues Museum Berlin and Zaha Hadid’s MAXXI in Rome. Employing twenty-four dancers she has conceived a large-format, archaic choreography. The epochal symphonic work »Arcana« by Edgard Varèse represents the musical core of “Continu”, which is then complemented by compositions by other artists like Iannis Xenakis and Claude Vivier.

Ninety years ago Varèse - a visionary artist like no other of his time - promulgated the combining of artistic and scientific content. One may speak of transformation, of change, of awakening in respect to “Arcana”, though it be not so much a matter of alchemy as of a colossal nocturnal volcanic eruption, the Promethean temptation to take possession of the cosmos encompassed by and through sound.

Since the 2010 premiere of “Continu” in Schauspielhaus Zürich the piece has been revised several times and in Salzburg, summer 2011, Sasha Waltz presented the final version. The beginning of the new version includes the live percussion solo “Rebonds B” composed by Iannis Xenakis.

The company Sasha Waltz & Guests was founded by Sasha Waltz and Jochen Sandig in Berlin in 1993. To date, more than 300 artists and ensembles – architects, visual artists, choreographers, filmmakers, designers, musicians, singers and dancers – from 25 countries have collaborated as “Guests” on over 80 productions, ‘Dialoge’ projects and films. Sasha Waltz & Guests works in an international and constantly evolving network of production and guest performance partners, showing parts of its current repertoire of 20 pieces in about 70 performances around the globe each year. In Berlin, the company cooperates with a wide range of institutions such as municipal theatres, opera houses and museums and has contributed to the establishing of innovative production sites for artistic dialogue such as Sophiensaele (1997) and Radialsystem V, Space for Arts & Ideas (2006). The development of innovative forms of performance and creation in choreographic musical theatre has become the most significant focus of the work of Sasha Waltz & Guests.

For its anniversary year 2013 the company has been named ‘European Cultural Ambassador’ by the European Union. In 2014 Sasha Waltz & Guests was awarded the ‘george tabori ehrenpreis’ by Fonds Darstellende Künste.

Cast

Sasha Waltz Direction, Choreography
Iannis Xenakis, Edgard Varèse, Claude Vivier Music
Thomas Schenk, Pia Maier Schriever, Sasha Waltz Stage
Bernd Skodzig Costumes
Martin Hauk Light
Jochen Sandig Dramaturgy
Liza Alpízar Aguilar, Ayaka Azechi, Jiří Bartovanec, Davide Camplani, Maria Marta Colusi, Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola, Luc Dunberry, Edivaldo Ernesto, Hwanhee Hwang, Sergiu Matis, Thomas Michaux, Michal Mualem, Virgis Puodziunas, Sasa Queliz, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Orlando Rodriguez, Mata Sakka, Xuan Shi, Idan Yoav, Niannian Zhou Dance, Choreography
Robyn Schulkowsky Percussion
Renate Graziadei, Virgis Puodziunas Repetition

A production of Sasha Waltz & Guests in co-production with Schauspielhaus Zürich/Zürcher Festspiele, spielzeit’europa | Berliner Festspiele and Sadler’s Wells, London. Supported by the Radial Stiftung. Made in Radialsystem.

Sasha Waltz & Guests is funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe and the Capital Cultural Funds.

www.sashawaltz.de

Continu

Continu

© Sebastian Bolesch

Tanz
Gastveranstaltung

Continu

Sasha Waltz & Guests

Uraufführung 20. Juni 2010, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Schiffbau/Halle

„Continu“ erzeugt ein Spannungsfeld choreographischer, musikalischer und bildnerischer Energieströme. Der Titel steht auch für die Kontinuität der nicht enden wollenden Kräfte der Natur.

  • ca, 135 min, eine Pause

Sasha Waltz greift in „Continu“ wichtige Impulse aus ihren beiden großen Museumsprojekten von 2009 auf: die künstlerische Inauguration des Neuen Museums von David Chipperfield in Berlin und des MAXXI von Zaha Hadid in Rom. Gemeinsam mit 24 Tänzern entwirft sie eine raumgreifende größtenteils abstrakte Choreographie. Elemente ihrer Recherche zu Ritus und Gruppendynamik bestimmen das Vokabular.

Das epochale sinfonische Orchesterwerk „Arcana“ von Edgard Varèse bildet das musikalische Zentrum von „Continu“ umgeben von weiteren Kompositionen des Künstlers, sowie von Iannis Xenakis und Claude Vivier.

Vor 90 Jahren hatte Varèse – visionär wie kein anderer Komponist seiner Zeit – die Zusammenführung von künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Inhalten gefordert. Im Zusammenhang mit „Arcana“ kann man von Transformation sprechen, von Veränderung, von Aufbruch. Aber es geht weniger um Alchemie als um heftige Vulkanausbrüche in der Nacht. Es handelt sich um die prometheische Versuchung, den Kosmos in den Klängen und durch die Klänge zu besitzen.

Sasha Waltz hat „Continu“ seit der Uraufführung 2010 im Schauspielhaus Zürich mehrfach überarbeitet und im Sommer 2011 in Salzburg eine abschließende Form präsentiert. Die neue Fassung integriert in den Anfang das Schlagzeug Solo „Rebonds B“ von Iannis Xenakis, das von der Schlagzeugerin Robyn Schulkovsky live gespielt wird.

„Ein Stern ist höher als alle anderen. Es ist der Stern der Apolakypse; der zweite Stern ist der des Aszendenten, der dritte ist der der Elemente, und deren sind ihrer vier, sodass sechs Sterne feststehen. Neben diesem gibt es noch einen weiteren Stern, die Phantasie, die einen neuen Stern erschafft.“
Edgard Varèse

Sasha Waltz & Guests wurde 1993 von Sasha Waltz und Jochen Sandig in Berlin gegründet. Bis zum heutigen Zeitpunkt haben zahlreiche Künstler*innen und Ensembles – Architekten, Bildende Künstler, Choreographen, Filmemacher, Designer, Musiker, Sänger und Tänzer – aus 30 Ländern in über 80 Produktionen, „Dialoge“-Projekten und Filmen als „Guests“ mitgewirkt. Sasha Waltz & Guests arbeitet in einem internationalen, sich ständig weiter entwickelnden Netz von Produktions- und Gastspielpartnern und zeigt aus dem derzeit 20 Produktionen umfassenden Repertoire ca. 70 Vorstellungen pro Jahr weltweit. In Berlin kooperiert die Compagnie mit einer großen Bandbreite von Einrichtungen wie Stadttheatern, Opernhäusern, Museen und hat zur Gründung innovativer Produktionsorte für den Dialog der Künste beigetragen – den Sophiensaelen (1997) und dem Radialsystem V, Space for Arts & Ideas (2006).
2013 wurde die Compagnie offiziell zum „Kulturbotschafter der Europäischen Union“ ernannt. 2014 ehrte der Fonds Darstellende Künste Sasha Waltz & Guests mit dem „george tabori ehrenpreis“.

Besetzung

Sasha Waltz Regie, Choreografie
Iannis Xenakis, Edgard Varèse, Claude Vivier Musik
Thomas Schenk, Pia Maier Schriever, Sasha Waltz Bühne
Bernd Skodzig Kostüme
Martin Hauk Licht
Jochen Sandig Dramaturgie
Liza Alpízar Aguilar, Ayaka Azechi, Jiří Bartovanec, Davide Camplani, Maria Marta Colusi, Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola, Luc Dunberry, Edivaldo Ernesto, Hwanhee Hwang, Sergiu Matis, Thomas Michaux, Michal Mualem, Virgis Puodziunas, Sasa Queliz, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Orlando Rodriguez, Mata Sakka, Xuan Shi, Idan Yoav, Niannian Zhou Tanz, Choreografie
Robyn Schulkowsky Percussion
Renate Graziadei, Virgis Puodziunas Repetition

Eine Produktion von Sasha Waltz & Guests in Koproduktion mit Schauspielhaus Zürich/Zürcher Festspiele, spielzeit’europa | Berliner Festspiele und Sadler’s Wells, London. Unterstützt von der Radial Stiftung. Made in Radialsystem.

Sasha Waltz & Guests wird gefördert aus Mitteln der Kulturverwaltung des Landes Berlin und dem Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

www.sashawaltz.de