Benvenuto Cellini, Perseus with the head of Medusa (detail), 1553

Benvenuto Cellini, “Perseus with the head of Medusa” (detail), 1553

© Wikimedia Commons

Opera
Visiting Orchestras / London I

Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, conductor
Opening Concert
Hector Berlioz Year 2019

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, a renowned expert on Hector Berlioz, will bring the composer’s first opera to the stage of the Berlin Philharmonie in a version that he created himself: This semi-staged performance will feature the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique, founded by the conductor, the Monteverdi Choir and soloists, and will be played on instruments from Berlioz’ times.

  • 3 h
  • In French with German surtitles

It is hard to believe: Berlin, where Hector Berlioz had once felt at home and accepted, avoided a performance of his first opera – almost as if there were something improper about it. In 1838, “Benvenuto Cellini” was premiered in Paris. The subject matter was one that the composer had already addressed in different forms: Both the “Symphonie fantastique” and “Lélio or the Return to Life” dealt with “episodes from the life of the artist”, partly as pure instrumental music, guided by the main classical genre, and partly as a hybrid of music and narrative. With “Cellini”, the subject finally arrived in the arena where it could have the greatest impact in France – the opera. The story of the Renaissance-sculptor Cellini is set during the time of the Carnival, when normal conditions are turned upside-down and masks can reveal just as much as they conceal. By creating the perfect work of art, the artist manages to win both his beloved and absolution from a Carnival-murder.

The opera was first presented in Weimar in 1952 – in an abridged German-language version. In 1894, it was presented in Berlin for the first and only time. There was a concertante performance in 2003 at the Berlin Konzerthaus, formerly Schauspielhaus. Now, the work will be presented in a semi-staged version at the Philharmonie: with costumes, lighting and staging, but without a stage set. Sir John Eliot Gardiner will lead a highly attuned and committed ensemble of soloists, the Monteverdi Choir and the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique in a performance that will be exclusive to the Musikfest Berlin.

Concert Programme

Hector Berlioz (1803 – 1869)
Benvenuto Cellini
Opéra Comique op. 23 (1834 – 1838)
Libretto by Léon Wally and Henri-August Barbier based on the autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini translated by Denis Dominique Farjasse

Semi-staged performance
Adapted by Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Cast

Michael Spyres tenor (Benvenuto Cellini)
Sophia Burgos soprano (Teresa)
Matthew Rose bass (Giacomo Balducci)
Adèle Charvet mezzo soprano (Ascanio)
Tareq Nazmi bass (Pope Clemens VII)
Krystian Adam tenor (Francesco)
Lionel Lhote baritone (Fieramosca)
Ashley Riches bass baritone (Bernardino)
Duncan Meadows actor (Perseus)

Noa Naamat movement director
Rick Fisher lighting design
Sarah Denise Cordery costume design

Monteverdi Choir
Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor

Only performance in Germany as part of the European tour 2019 (La Côte-Saint-André, Berlin, London, Paris).

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event,
funded by means of the Capital Cultural Funds

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Benvenuto Cellini, Perseus mit dem Haupt der Medusa (Ausschnitt), 1553

Benvenuto Cellini, „Perseus mit dem Haupt der Medusa“ (Ausschnitt), 1553

© Wikimedia Commons

Oper
Gastorchester / London I

Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Leitung
Eröffnungskonzert
Hector Berlioz-Jahr 2019

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, ein ausgewiesener Berlioz-Kenner, bringt die erste Oper von Hector Berlioz in einer von ihm kreierten Fassung auf die Bühne der Berliner Philharmonie: Mit dem von ihm gegründeten Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique, dem Monteverdi Choir und Solist*innen, halbszenisch und auf Instrumenten der Berlioz-Zeit.

  • 3 h
  • In französischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln

Man mag es kaum glauben: Berlin, wo sich Hector Berlioz einst wohl und anerkannt fühlte, mied dessen erste Oper, als sei an ihr irgendetwas Anstößiges. 1838 erlebte „Benvenuto Cellini“ die Premiere in Paris. Der Komponist brachte ein Thema auf die Bühne, das ihn bereits in anderer Form beschäftigt hatte: Die „Symphonie fantastique“ und „Lélio oder die Rückkehr ins Leben“ behandelten „Episoden aus dem Leben des Künstlers“, teils als reine, an der klassischen Hauptgattung orientierte Instrumentalmusik, teils als Mischform aus Musik und Erzählung. Mit „Cellini“ kam der Stoff endlich dorthin, wo er in Frankreich die größte Wirkung erreichen konnte, in die Oper. Die Geschichte um den Renaissance-Bildhauer spielt im Karneval, in dem die Verhältnisse Kopf stehen und Masken ebenso viel offenbaren wie verbergen. Durch das perfekte Kunstwerk gewinnt der Künstler seine Geliebte und Absolution von einem Faschingsmord.

Die Oper kam 1852 in Weimar – gerafft und auf Deutsch – heraus. In Berlin wurde sie 1894 erstmals inszeniert und dann nie wieder. Im Konzert-, dem ehemaligen Schauspielhaus, wurde sie 2003 konzertant gegeben. In die Philharmonie kommt sie nun halbszenisch: mit Kostümen, Licht-, Raum und Bewegungsregie, aber ohne Bühnenbild. Sir John Eliot Gardiner leitet ein eingespieltes und engagiertes Ensemble aus Solist*innen, dem Monteverdi Choir und dem Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique in einer Aufführung, die es nur beim Musikfest Berlin zu hören und zu sehen gibt.

Konzertprogramm

Hector Berlioz (1803 – 1869)
Benvenuto Cellini
Opéra semi-sérieux in zwei Akten op. 23 (1834 – 1838)

Libretto von Léon Wally und Henri-August Barbier nach der Autobiografie Benvenuto Cellinis in der Übersetzung von Denis Dominique Farjasse

Halbszenische Aufführung
Fassung von Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Besetzung

Michael Spyres Tenor (Benvenuto Cellini)
Sophia Burgos Sopran (Teresa)
Maurizio Muraro Bass (Giacomo Balducci)
Adèle Charvet Mezzosopran (Ascanio)
Tareq Nazmi Bass (Papst Clemens VII)
Vincent Delhoume Tenor (Francesco)
Lionel Lhote Bariton (Fieramosca)
Ashley Riches Bassbariton (Bernardino)
Duncan Meadows Schauspieler (Perseus)

Noa Naamat Bewegungsregie
Rick Fisher Lichtdesign
Sarah Denise Cordery Kostüme

Monteverdi Choir
Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Sir John Eliot Gardiner Leitung

Einziges Gastspiel in Deutschland im Rahmen der Europa-Tournee 2019 (La Côte-Saint-André, Berlin, London, Paris).

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin,
gefördert durch Mittel des Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds