The BBC Broadcasting House, 1984

The BBC Broadcasting House, 1984

Photo: flickr.com © Jonathan Brennan 1984

Concert
Visiting Orchestras / London II / In honour of Louis Andriessen III

BBC Symphony Orchestra

Sakari Oramo, conductor

This varied concert programme moves in leaps and bounds across the centuries: from mystical elements in the works of Mussorgsky and Sibelius via Andriessen’s flirtation with pop songs (interpreted by Nora Fischer) to Neuwirth’s precise and intense Trumpet Concerto.

19:10 work introduction

Three orchestras from London will perform at the 2019 Musikfest Berlin. Each of them represents a different aspect of orchestra culture: the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique (31 August) stands for historical performance practice, the London Symphony Orchestra (16 September) for the large-scale classical-romantic ensemble and the BBC Symphony Orchestra comes from a tradition of radio orchestras distinguished by their nuancing skills and familiarity with more contemporary music.

Sakario Oramo, who has been the latter’s chief conductor since 2012, organises his programme in leaps over centuries. The mythical seethes in the works of Modest Mussorgsky and Jean Sibelius. Mussorgsky found darkly romantic tones for the legend of the witches’ dance on Midsummer’s Night – the church bell that dispels the haunting and promises a beautiful morning is in fact an ingredient provided by Rimsky-Korsakov. The flight of the swans, stuff of countless sagas and fairy-tales, gave Jean Sibelius the suggestive breadth for the main theme of his fifth symphony and set its measure and tone.

Flanked by these mythical outposts, there are works by contemporary composers. Louis Andriessen, a century younger than Mussorgsky, took inspiration for his lied cycle “The Only One” from two discoveries he made: the writings of Belgian poet Delphine Lecompte and the singer Nora Fischer, who is just as versed in the area of jazz and pop as in classical music. “The piece flirts a little with pop songs and light music. It begins with a beautiful lied, but there is not much left of it in the end.” (Andriessen)

Olga Neuwirth’s trumpet concerto “…miramondo multiplo…” is a “beautiful, frothy virtuoso poem”, says Wolfgang Schreiber. “In five short movements, which all play on the concept of ‘aria’ (melody, air), she unfolds a sequence of sound images, opportunities for dialogue – a brilliant contest of the elements, the trumpet’s gleaming virtuosity, a precisely arranged blaze of orchestral colours.”

Concert Programme

Modest Mussorgsky (1839 – 1881)
Night on Bald Mountain op. posth.
(1886, in the version by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov)

In honour of Louis Andriessen III
Louis Andriessen (*1939)
The Only One
for voice and orchestra on poems by Delphine Lecompte
Commissioned by Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, Gustavo Dudamel, NTR ZaterdagMatinee (M)-Radio 4’s Concert Series in the Concertgebouw Amsterdaam, BBC Radio 3
European Premiere

Olga Neuwirth (*1968)
… miramondo multiplo … (2006)*
for trumpet and orchestra

Jean Sibelius (1865 –1957)
Symphony No. 5 in E flat major (1919)

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

The performances “In the honour of Louis Andriessen I-III“ on 2, 4 and 5 September are supported by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung and the Aventis Foundation.

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung     Aventis Foundation

Das BBC Broadcasting House, 1984

Das BBC Broadcasting House, 1984

Foto: flickr.com © Jonathan Brennan 1984

Konzert
Gastorchester / London II / Louis Andriessen zu Ehren III

BBC Symphony Orchestra

Sakari Oramo, Leitung

In Jahrhundertsprüngen bewegt sich das abwechslungsreiche Konzertprogramm: von mystischen Elementen in den Werken von Mussorgsky und Sibelius über Andriessens Flirt mit dem Pop-Song, interpretiert von Nora Fischer, bis hin zu Neuwirths präzisem und intensivem Trompetenkonzert.

19:10 Einführung

Drei Londoner Orchester sind beim Musikfest 2019 zu Gast. Jedes steht für einen Aspekt der Orchesterkultur: das Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique (31. August) für historische Aufführungspraxis, das London Symphony Orchestra (16. September) für das große klassisch-romantische Ensemble; das BBC Symphony Orchestra kommt aus der Tradition der Rundfunkorchester, die sich durch Nuancierungskunst und Vertrautheit mit neuerer Musik auszeichnen.

Sakari Oramo, seit 2012 dessen Chefdirigent, organisiert sein Programm in Jahrhundertsprüngen. Mythisches gärt in den Werken von Modest Mussorgski und Jean Sibelius. Mussorgski gab der Legende vom Hexentanz zur Johannisnacht schwarzromantische Klänge; das Kirchenglöcklein, das am Ende den Spuk vertreibt und einen schönen Morgen verheißt, ist Rimsky-Korsakows Zutat. Der Flug der Schwäne, um die sich viele Sagen und Märchen ranken, gab Jean Sibelius das Hauptthema seiner Fünften mit seiner suggestiven Weite ein und bestimmte damit Maß und Ton der Symphonie.

Zwischen den mythischen Außenposten stehen Werke von Zeitgenossen. Louis Andriessen, ein Jahrhundert jünger als Mussorgski, brachten zwei Entdeckungen auf die Idee zu seinem Liederzyklus „The Only One“: die Lyrik der Belgierin Delphine Lecompte und die Sängerin Nora Fischer, die Jazz und Pop so virtuos und überzeugend beherrscht wie das klassische Fach. „Das Stück liebäugelt ein wenig mit Popsongs und leichter Musik. Es beginnt mit einem schönen Lied, von dem am Ende nicht mehr viel bleibt.“ (Andriessen)

Mit ihrem Trompetenkonzert „…miramondo multiplo…“ schrieb Olga Neuwirth „ein schönes, duftiges Virtuosenpoème“, so Wolfgang Schreiber. „In fünf kurzen Sätzen, die alle mit dem Begriff der ,aria‘ (Melodie, Luft) spielen, entfaltet sie eine Abfolge von Klangbildern, Möglichkeiten des Dialogisierens – ein brillanter Wettstreit der Elemente, gleißende Virtuosität der Trompete, präzise inszenierter Orchesterfarbenrausch.“

Konzertprogramm

Modest Mussorgsky (1839 – 1881)
Eine Nacht auf dem kahlen Berge op. posth.
(1886, in der Bearbeitung von Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov)

Louis Andriessen zu Ehren III
Louis Andriessen (*1939)
The Only One
für Stimme und Orchester auf Gedichte von Delphine Lecompte
Auftragswerk der Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, Gustavo Dudamel, NTR ZaterdagMatinee (M)-Radio 4’s Konzertserien im Concertgebouw Amsterdaam, BBC Radio 3
Europäische Erstaufführung

Olga Neuwirth (*1968)
… miramondo multiplo … (2006)*
für Trompete und Orchester

Jean Sibelius (1865 –1957)
Symphonie Nr. 5 Es-Dur (1919)

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Die Aufführungen „Louis Andriessen zu Ehren I-III“ am 2., 4. und 5. September werden unterstützt von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und der Aventis Foundation.

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung     Aventis Foundation