South stand in grazing light

South stand in grazing light

© Willem gr. Darrelmann

Concert
Visiting Orchestras / London III

London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

First Berlin performance of the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir Simon Rattle

A very special premiere: This will be the first concert at the Philharmonie by the London Symphony Orchestra with their Music Director Sir Simon Rattle after his move from the Spree to the Thames. They will perform music by Hans Abrahamsen and Olivier Messiaen.

19:10 work introduction

It’s a premiere: For the first time since his farewell to the Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle will perform in Berlin with his new orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra. The programme he has chosen may indeed be seen as homage to and reminiscence of his years in Berlin and their lasting innovations. Hans Abrahamsen’s work “let me tell you” was composed for Barbara Hannigan and the Berliner Philharmoniker, and performed by these artists on 20 December 2013. In 2016, the composer received the Grawemeyer Award for this work, which is an annually granted recognition of pioneering artistic and scientific achievements. The text is based on Paul Griffith’s eponymous novella; in the words allotted to her by Shakespeare in “Hamlet”, Ophelia tells her own story.

Griffiths made a name for himself not just as a writer of novellas and librettos but also as a critic and writer. He wrote mainly about New Music, including a book about Olivier Messiaen. He remarked on the composer’s final work, “Éclairs sur l’Au-Delà”: “The only signs of age in this last piece are in its wisdom – of which its orchestral virtuosity and its breadth of reference provide material evidence – and perhaps also in its audacity in bringing together an ensemble of 128 players.” In 2004, Sir Simon Rattle performed and recorded this one-hour-long gigantic legacy with its monolithic and tumultuous, fluid and floating, powerful and delicate sound visions together with the Philharmoniker. What will these “meditations on the beyond and about the Heavenly Jerusalem” (Yvonne Loriod) sound like now, 15 years later and with other musical partners?

Concert Programme

Hans Abrahamsen (*1952)
let me tell you
for soprano and orchestra (2013)
Text based on the novella let me tell you by Paul Griffith

Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Éclairs sur L’Au-Delà (Lightning Over the Beyond …)
for full orchestra (1992)
Commissioned for the 150th anniversary of the foundation of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Südtribüne im Streiflicht

Südtribüne im Streiflicht

© Willem gr. Darrelmann

Konzert
Gastorchester / London III

London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle, Leitung

Erstes Berliner Gastspiel des London Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle

Eine Art Premiere ist das Konzert des London Symphony Orchestra beim Musikfest Berlin 2019: zum ersten Mal wird das Orchester mit seinem Chefdirigent Sir Simon Rattle nach seinem Wechsel von der Spree an die Themse in der Philharmonie zu hören sein.

19:10 Einführung

Eine Premiere. Zum ersten Mal seit seinem Abschied von den Berliner Philharmonikern kommt Sir Simon Rattle mit seinem neuen Orchester, dem London Symphony Orchestra nach Berlin, und er kommt mit einem Programm, das auch als Hommage und Erinnerung an seine Berliner Jahre mit ihren nachhaltigen Innovationen verstanden werden darf. Hans Abrahamsens „let me tell you“ wurde für Barbara Hannigan und die Berliner Philharmoniker komponiert und von ihnen am 20. Dezember 2013 uraufgeführt. Der Komponist erhielt dafür 2016 den Grawemeyer Award, der jährlich für richtungsweisende künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Leistungen vergeben wird. Als Text liegt Paul Griffiths gleichnamige Novelle zugrunde; mit den Worten, die Shakespeare in „Hamlet“ für ihre Rolle verwendete, erzählt Ophelia darin ihre Geschichte selbst.

Griffiths trat nicht nur als Novellist und Librettist, sondern auch als Kritiker und Autor vor allem über neuere Musik hervor, unter anderem mit einem Buch über Olivier Messiaen. Zu dessen letzter Komposition, den „Éclairs sur l’Au-Delà“ bemerkte er: „Die einzigen Anzeichen von Alter in diesem letzten Stück liegen in seiner Weisheit, wie die virtuose Orchesterbehandlung und der Beziehungsreichtum belegen, und in der Kühnheit, eine Besetzung von 128 Leuten auf das Podium zu bringen“, die fast alles Dagewesene sprengt. Sir Simon Rattle hat das einstündige, farbenprächtige Riesenvermächtnis mit seinen monolithischen und stürmischen, fließenden und schwebenden, mächtigen und zarten Klangvisionen 2004 mit den Philharmonikern aufgeführt und eingespielt. Wie klingen die „Meditationen über das Jenseits und über das Himmlische Jerusalem“ (Yvonne Loriod) 15 Jahre später, mit größerem Erfahrungshintergrund und anderen musikalischen Partnern?

Konzertprogramm

Hans Abrahamsen (*1952)
let me tell you
für Sopran und Orchester (2013)
Text nach der Novelle let me tell you von Paul Griffith

Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Éclairs sur L’Au-Delà (Streiflichter über das Jenseits …)
für großes Orchester (1992)
Auftragswerk zum 150. Jahrestag der Gründung des New York Philharmonic Orchestra

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin