Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

© Charitra Jain

Multimedia Performance

TIME TIME TIME

Multimedia Performance by Jennifer Walshe and Timothy Morton

Experimental composer Jennifer Walshe and philosopher Timothy Morton join forces to explore the multiplicity of temporalities at the heart of being human.

Time. If no one asks us, we know what it is. Or at least we know what one of the different versions of it is. Deep ecological time, evolutionary time, time travel, longitude, time expansion and contraction, alternative timelines and parallel universes. Polyphasic sleep, anti-ageing creams, fertility clocks, groups of neurons in our brains and black holes.

Visionary philosopher Timothy Morton (*1968) and experimental composer Jennifer Walshe (*1974) join forces to explore the multiplicity of temporalities at the heart of being human. Everyone in the room is important – the fast-paced digital time of Matmos' M.C. Schmidt and Walshe; the deep geological rhythms of instrument builder Lee Patterson; the liminal eternal drones of Irish experimentalist Áine O’Dwyer; the shifting tectonic plates of sound from Norwegian ensembles Streifenjunko and Vilde&Inga. The audience, whose entropy demonstrates that time is indeed passing …

Programme

TIME TIME TIME (2019) GP

Music Jennifer Walshe, developed in collaboration with Áine O’Dwyer, Lee Patterson, M.C. Schmidt, Streifenjunko (Eivind Lønning & Espen Reinertsen), Vilde&Inga (Inga Aas & Vilde Alnæs)
Text Timothy Morton & Jennifer Walshe

Cast

Direction & video Jennifer Walshe
Stage & lighting Aedín Cosgrove
Sound design Úna Monaghan

Jennifer Walshe voice & electronics
Áine O’Dwyer voice, harp & electronics
Lee Patterson electronics
M.C. Schmidt voice & electronics
Eivind Lønning trumpet
Espen Reinertsen saxophone
Inga Aas double bass
Vilde Alnæs violin

Commissioned by Borealis – en festival for eksperimentell musikk, Sonic Acts, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues, Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival and London Contemporary Music Festival / Serpentine Galleries

Commission supported by Arts Council Norway, Arts Council of Ireland and the Performance Arts Fund NL. Funded by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. Commissioned as part of Re-Imagine Europe, co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

Geophysikalische Fluiddynamik, ETH Zürich, Schweiz

Geophysikalische Fluiddynamik, ETH Zürich, Schweiz

© Charitra Jain

Multimedia-Performance

TIME TIME TIME

Eine neue Multimedia Performance von Jennifer Walshe und Timothy Morton und eine musikalische und philosophische Reflexion über die multiplen Schichten von Zeit. (Deutsche Erstaufführung)

Jennifer Walshe beschreibt in einem Interview ihre persönliche Fusion von Kunst und Wissenschaft so: „Ich benutze wissenschaftliche Forschung genauso wie ich mit interessanten Gegenständen oder Sounds umgehe, flexibel und locker … Natürlich betreibe ich mit meiner Arbeit keine „Philosophie“ … Timothy Morton sieht das übrigens genauso. Er denkt wie ich, nämlich dass wir einfach zwei Menschen sind, die über das Leben sprechen. Und über das Leben sprechen, bedeutet über Zeit zu sprechen.“

Zeit. Wenn uns niemand danach fragt, wissen wir, was sie ist. Oder zumindest wissen wir, was eine der verschiedenen Versionen davon ist. Tiefe ökologische Zeit, evolutionäre Zeit, Zeitreise, Längengrad, Zeitausdehnung und -kontraktion, alternative Zeitachsen und Paralleluniversen. Polyphasischer Schlaf, Anti-Aging-Cremes, biologische Uhren, Neuronengruppen in unserem Gehirn und Schwarze Löcher.

Der visionäre Philosoph Timothy Morton (*1968) und die Komponistin Jennifer Walshe (*1974) erforschen gemeinsam die Vielfalt der Zeitlichkeiten im Zentrum des Menschseins. Jede*r im Raum ist wichtig – die schnelle digitale Zeit von Matmos’ M.C. Schmidt und Walshe; die tiefen geologischen Rhythmen des Instrumentenbauers Lee Patterson; die unterschwelligen Drohnen der irischen Experimentalistin Áine O’Dwyer; die tektonischen Klangplatten der norwegischen Ensembles Streifenjunko und Vilde&Inga; das Publikum, dessen Entropie demonstriert, dass die Zeit tatsächlich vergeht …

Programm

TIME TIME TIME (2019) DE

Musik Jennifer Walshe, entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit Áine O’Dwyer, Lee Patterson, M.C. Schmidt, Streifenjunko (Eivind Lønning & Espen Reinertsen), Vilde&Inga (Inga Aas & Vilde Alnæs)
Text Timothy Morton & Jennifer Walshe

Besetzung

Regie & Video Jennifer Walshe
Bühne & Licht Aedín Cosgrove
Sound design Úna Monaghan

Jennifer Walshe Stimme & Elektronik
Áine O’Dwyer Stimme, Harfe & Elektronik
Lee Patterson Elektronik
M.C. Schmidt Stimme & Elektronik
Eivind Lønning Trompete
Espen Reinertsen Saxofon
Inga Aas Kontrabass
Vilde Alnæs Violine

Auftragswerk von Borealis – en festival for eksperimentell musikk, Sonic Acts, MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen, Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival und London Contemporary Music Festival / Serpentine Galleries

Werkauftrag unterstützt von Arts Council Norway, Arts Council of Ireland und dem Performance Arts Fund NL. Gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. Werkauftrag im Rahmen von Re-Imagine Europe, ko-finanziert durch das Creative Europe-Programm der Europäischen Union.