River delta in Island

River delta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh Slobodeniuk

Conference
Thinking Together

Circluding History I

  • Simultaneous translation into German

Circluding History II
Sunday, 24 Mar 2019, 14:00 — 18:00

Thinking Together 2019 looks at history and historiography through a politically focused lens of time. In its fifth year of investigation, the Thinking Together Conference scrutinizes common and dogged conceptions of linear time and history in order to disclose their underlying political matrices. What are the variegated politics behind historically contingent philosophies of history? What conceptions of time are they based on? And how do they, in turn, influence views onto the present, the ways of relating to the past and the ability to shape the future? The title of the conference, “Circluding History”, hints at a different way to approach history. “Circlusion” (a term coined by Bini Adamczak) is the antonym of penetration. It suggests non-linear understandings, inverts the relation between activity and passivity, and calls for a symmetrical distribution of agencies. Following its speculative trajectories, this conference will investigate and (re)imagine relations to the past, present and future, alternative genealogies, decolonized, global, connected as well as queer histories.

Dag Herbjørnsrud
Fake history, distorted world-views: How ideology shapes what we (think we) know.

What do we know? And how do we know it? – In this presentation, Dag Herbjørnsrud, specialised in global history of ideas, will make a tour de force through some of the most vital parts of our knowledge systems within history and the humanities. The presented material – text, pictures, and music – will cover, among other things: Our distorted world maps; music by Mozart, Haydn, and their contemporary Joseph Bologne; colourful statues and buildings of the ancient Greeks;the creation of the first philosophy (in Egypt); women thinkers of antiquity from India, China, Syria, Nigeria, and Mexico; the influence of the Egyptian Saint Maurice, the Moritzkirche, and African Christianity on Central Europe; the untold story of Muslim-Christian cooperation at the Battle of Vienna in 1683; the importance of the pre-Kant African scholars Abba Gorgoryos and Anton Wilhelm Amo for Germany; the Enlightenment of the Haitian Revolution; the relationship between Zhuangzi and Buber/Heidegger; the latest research on the original writing and communication systems of the Maya, Aztec, and Inka cultures; the hidden stories of the Vikings, the stave church in Heddal (Telemark), and the Sami people in the Nordic countries,. and then some more.
Dag Herbjørnsrud’s presentation will try to open our minds for a new, decolonised, and non-Eurocentric take on history – in order to make us better understand the present and be prepared for the future in a global 21st century.
For more information: www.sgoki.org/no/english/
__________

Anke Charton
Making History Great Again: Performing Narratives of Nostalgia

How do conceptualisations of history partake in a Now that increasingly calls upon nostalgia to constitute subjectivities? If enacting the yearning for a past ‘golden age’ becomes the decisive pattern of presence past – as an affective authenticity – then prior realities become fictions: the memory of something that never was.
Thinking the past as an imagination of the present opens up a space to consider multifold histories: history fragments into stories, inviting non-linear, fragmented and marginalized perspectives as parts of the kaleidoscope.
Yet if the memory of something that never was threatens to cover up a factual past and is instrumentalised as a tool of oppression, questions of ethos and truth must be considered foremost – if history is a practice that constitutes our realities as enacted narratives, how do we ’do’ history responsibly?
__________

Rolando Vázquez
Time and the Coloniality of History

There is a strong kinship between contemporaneity and history. They are both expressions of the temporality of modernity, of modernity’s metaphysics of presence and the forgetfulness of time. History has functioned in modernity as a way of mediating and governing our relation to the past. It became an epistemic and most often textual representation of the past. The relation to lived memories came to be replaced by the mediation of a past understood as the object of history. The decolonial critique of modern time contests the harnessing of the relations with what has been lived to the technologies of presence.
Decoloniality is concerned with a justice that cannot be reduced to the present, nor speculated as simple futurity. The justice of decoloniality implies a process of healing the colonial wound. The temporality of the wound, the temporality of healing is a deep relational temporality. It is carried by the bodies, the land, and the sea that cannot forget. Decoloniality is a struggle against the oblivion imposed by modernity’s notions of history and contemporaneity.
Below the surface of appearance, the surface of presence that modernity affirms as the totality of the real, there is the radical plurality of lived time. There is a time that precedes us, in that it is before and before us – both in front and prior to –, that carries hope. Precedence names a temporal mode of wording the world that moves against the forgetfulness of who we are as earth, as peoples, as time.

Programme

14:00 – 15:00
The Politics of Time
Timothy Morton (USA)in conversation with Berno Odo Polzer

15:00 – 16:00
Fake history, distorted world-views: How ideology shapes what we (think we) know.
With Dag Herbjørnsrud (NO)

16:00 – 17:00
Making History Great Again: Performing Narratives of Nostalgia
With Anke Charton (AT)

17:00 – 18:00
Time and the Coloniality of History
With Rolando Vázquez (MX/NL)

Flussdelta in Island

Flussdelta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh Slobodeniuk

Konferenz
Thinking Together

Circluding History I

Nicht nur die Frage, wie Zeitkonzeptionen unsere Auffassung von Geschichte leiten, ist Gegenstand der Konferenz von Thinking Together. Vor allem werden andere, nicht-lineare Modelle Geschichte zu denken zur Diskussion gestellt.

  • Synchronübersetzung ins Deutsche

Circluding History II
Sonntag, 24.03.2019, 14:00 — 18:00

Thinking Together 2019 betrachtet Geschichte und Geschichtsschreibung durch eine politisch geschärfte Linse der Zeit. In ihrem fünften Jahr untersucht die Thinking Together Konferenz überkommene und hartnäckige Vorstellungen von linearer Zeit und Geschichte sowie die ihnen zugrunde liegenden politischen Matrizes. Welche politischen Einstellungen stecken hinter historisch kontingenten Geschichtsphilosophien? Auf welchen Zeitvorstellungen basieren sie? Und wie beeinflussen sie wiederum den Blick auf die Gegenwart, die Beziehung zur Vergangenheit und die Fähigkeit, die Zukunft zu gestalten? „Circluding History“ – der Titel der Konferenz – deutet einen anderen Ansatz beim Nachdenken über Geschichte an. Der Begriff „Zirklusion“ (geprägt von Bini Adamczak) ist das Antonym von Penetration. Ein Begriff, der auf nichtlineare Verständnisse hinweist, der das Verhältnis von Aktivität und Passivität umdenkt und eine symmetrische Verteilung von Handlungsfähigkeiten einfordert. Seinen spekulativen Bahnen folgend, erforscht und imaginiert die Konferenz Relationen zur Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft, alternative Genealogien sowie dekolonisierte, globale, zusammenhängende und queere Geschichte(n).

Dag Herbjørnsrud
Fake history, distorted world-views: How ideology shapes what we (think we) know.

Was wissen wir? Und wie wissen wir es? – In diesem Vortrag unternimmt Dag Herbjørnsrud, Spezialist auf dem Gebiet der weltweiten Ideengeschichte, eine Reise durch die wichtigsten Bestandteile unserer Wissenssysteme in Geschichte und Geisteswissenschaften. Das Material, das er präsentiert – Text, Bilder und Musik – beschäftigt sich unter anderem mit diesen Themen: Unsere verzerrten Weltkarten; Musik von Mozart, Haydn und ihrem Zeitgenossen Joseph Bologne; farbenfrohe Statuen und Gebäude der alten Griechen; die Entwicklung der ersten Philosophie (in Ägypten); Denkerinnen der Antike aus Indien, China, Syrien, Nigeria und Mexiko; der Einfluss des ägyptischen Heiligen Mauritius, der Moritzkirche und des afrikanischen Christentums auf Mitteleuropa; die nicht-erzählte Geschichte der Zusammenarbeit von Muslimen und Christen bei der Schlacht von Wien im Jahr 1683; die Bedeutung der vor-kantianischen Gelehrten Abba Gorgoryos und Anton Wilhelm Amo für Deutschland; die Aufklärung der haitianischen Revolution; die Beziehung zwischen Zhuangzi und Buber/Heidegger; die jüngsten Forschungen zu originären Schreib- und Kommunikationssystemen in den Kulturen der Maya, Azteken und Inka; die verborgenen Geschichten der Wikinger, die Stabkirche in Heddal (Telemark) und das Volk der Sami in den nordischen Ländern. Und das ist noch lange nicht alles. Dag Herbjørnsrud will uns für eine neue, dekolonisierte und nicht eurozentrische Ansicht von Geschichte sensibilisieren, um uns beim Verstehen der Gegenwart zu unterstützen und uns auf die Zukunft in einem globalen 21. Jahrhundert vorzubereiten.
Weitere Informationen: www.sgoki.org/no/english/
__________

Anke Charton
Making History Great Again: Performing Narratives of Nostalgia

Wie nehmen Konzeptualisierungen von Geschichte an einem Jetzt teil, das für die Festsetzung von Subjektivitäten vermehrt auf Nostalgie zurückgreift? Wenn die Darstellung einer Sehnsucht nach einem ‚goldenen Zeitalter‘ zum entscheidenden Muster einer vergangenen Gegenwärtigkeit wird – als affektive Authentizität -, werden vorhergegangene Realitäten zu Fiktion: die Erinnerung an etwas, das nie war.
Wenn die Vergangenheit als Vorstellung der Gegenwart gedacht wird, öffnet sich ein Raum, in dem vielfache Geschichten betrachtet werden können: die Geschichte fragmentiert sich in Geschichten und lädt nicht-lineare, zersplitterte und an den Rand gedrängte Perspektiven ein, Teil des Kaleidoskops zu werden.
Wenn aber die Erinnerung an etwas, das nie war, droht, die tatsächliche Vergangenheit zu verdecken und als ein Instrument der Unterdrückung angewendet wird, müssen vor allem Fragen von Ethik und Wahrheit erwägt werden – wenn die Geschichte eine Praxis ist, die unsere Realitäten als dargestellte Narrative konstituiert, wie können wir dann verantwortungsvoll Geschichte ‚machen‘?
__________

Rolando Vázquez
Time and the Coloniality of History

Zeitgenossenschaft und Geschichte sind eng miteinander verwandt. Beide sind Ausdruck der Zeitlichkeit der Moderne, der Metaphysik der Gegenwärtigkeit, die der Moderne eigen ist, und der Vergesslichkeit der Zeit. In der Moderne hat die Geschichte dazu gedient, unser Verhältnis zur Vergangenheit zu vermitteln und zu regeln. Sie entwickelte sich zu einer epistemischen und zumeist textlichen Darstellung der Vergangenheit. Die Beziehung zu gelebter Erinnerung wurde nach und nach durch die Vermittlung einer Vergangenheit ersetzt, die als Gegenstand von Geschichte begriffen wurde. Die dekoloniale Kritik der modernen Zeit wehrt die Nutzbarmachung der Beziehungen zu dem, was gelebt wurde, für die Technologien der Gegenwärtigkeit ab.
Dekolonialität beschäftigt sich mit einer Gerechtigkeit, die weder auf die Gegenwart beschränkt noch als einfache Zukünftigkeit spekuliert werden kann. Die Gerechtigkeit der Dekolonialität setzt einen Prozess der Heilung von Verletzungen voraus. Die Zeitlichkeit der Verletzung, die Zeitlichkeit der Heilung ist eine Zeitlichkeit tiefer Beziehungen. Sie wird getragen durch die Körper, das Land und das Meer, die nicht vergessen können. Dekolonialität ist ein Kampf gegen die Vergessenheit, die durch moderne Vorstellungen von Geschichte und Zeitgenossenschaft angeordnet wurden.
Unter der Oberfläche der äußeren Erscheinung, der Oberfläche der Gegenwärtigkeit, von der die Moderne behauptet, sie sei die Gesamtheit des Realen, liegt die radikale Pluralität gelebter Zeit. Es gibt eine Zeit, die uns vorausgeht, insofern als sie vor uns und vor uns ist – sowohl räumlich als auch zeitlich – die uns Hoffnung verleiht. Das Vorausgehen benennt eine zeitliche Formulierung der Welt, die gegen das Vergessen dessen arbeitet, wer wir sind, als Erde, als Völker, als Zeit.

Programm

14:00 – 15:00
The Politics of Time
Timothy Morton (USA) im Gespräch mit Berno Odo Polzer

15:00 – 16:00
Fake history, distorted world-views: How ideology shapes what we (think we) know.
mit Dag Herbjørnsrud (NO)

16:00 – 17:00
Making History Great Again: Performing Narratives of Nostalgia
mit Anke Charton (AT)

17:00 – 18:00
Time and the Coloniality of History
mit Rolando Vázquez (MX/NL)