River delta in Island

River delta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh Slobodeniuk

Conference
Thinking Together

Circluding History II

  • Simultaneous translation into German

Circluding History I
Saturday, 23 Mar 2019, 14:00 — 18:00

Thinking Together 2019 looks at history and historiography through a politically focused lens of time. In its fifth year of investigation, the Thinking Together Conference scrutinizes common and dogged conceptions of linear time and history in order to disclose their underlying political matrices. What are the variegated politics behind historically contingent philosophies of history? What conceptions of time are they based on? And how do they, in turn, influence views onto the present, the ways of relating to the past and the ability to shape the future? The title of the conference, “Circluding History”, hints at a different way to approach history. “Circlusion” (a term coined by Bini Adamczak) is the antonym of penetration. It suggests non-linear understandings, inverts the relation between activity and passivity, and calls for a symmetrical distribution of agencies. Following its speculative trajectories, this conference will investigate and (re)imagine relations to the past, present and future, alternative genealogies, decolonized, global, connected as well as queer histories.

Elizabeth Freeman
On Libidinal Historiography

Revisiting and drawing from my work in “Time Binds” on chrononormativity (the politics of how the body is normatively timed) and erotohistoriography (the representation of real and fantasised carnal encounters with the past), this talk will explore a model of historical thinking and writing which puts desire at its very centre. The African American writer Pauline Hopkins’s 1908 novel “Of One Blood”, I will argue, approaches history as a matter of bodily interpenetration, using nineteenth-century American investments in animal magnetism, spiritualism, and Egyptology to reimagine the present as a membrane porous to the past. Her work reminds us that historical thinking is always libidinous, always a matter of reinvesting and reigniting past materials so that they can interface with the present – a process that has particularly important purchase for queer politics and theory. This process of thinking history as a membrane, I claim, not only reflects the model of circlusion that organizes this conference, but also confronts and redresses the racialization of African Americans through their reduction to skin.
__________

Björn Schmelzer
“Nous faysons contre nature” – Polyphony, Sex and the Machine

This lecture is based on a new ongoing research, which helps me to understand what kind of event the invention of Parisian polyphony in the 12th century was and what kind of rupture it made into the cosmological and religious perception.
Protagonist of this perception is one of the most intriguing and ambiguous figures of western philosophy, Alain de Lille (Latin: Alanus ab Insulis,1128 – 1202/03), and his major work “De Planctu Naturae” (On the Complaint of Nature). In this work Alain de Lille describes a dream where he meets Nature herself who complains about the degeneration and decline of mankind.
The world of de Lille is a completely sexualised one – this is not something strange as this is a crucial aspect of traditional cosmology, where things are perceived as creating harmony and balance through sexualised binary forces.
Not only is mankind responsible for a radical rupture with this order, it becomes clear that Nature itself is in the end out of joint, and sex is a problem that transgresses binary logic. Although de Lille condemns what he describes, the ambiguous character of the description itself opens the path for a long-term artistic and musical queerness.
Traditionally, music articulated the sacred proportions and the harmony of the spheres: but what if the new art of polyphony breaks with harmony in order to engage in a counter-natural practice, as a French composer of a 14th century ars subtilior chanson, to which the title “Nous faysons contre nature” refers, calls it? This is only the beginning of an ongoing moral critic on polyphony, on the coupling of bodies that should not be coupled, deforming natural vocality and finally engaging in a writing practice which alienates agents from an oral tradition, making them part of a polyphonic machine. Is there an emancipatory potential in Western music we have missed since a couple of centuries?
__________

Amelia Groom
All a Blur

Beginning with the blurry forms in an old, damaged Daguerreotype, and proceeding through readings of blurriness in a number of contemporary art works, this lecture will focus on sites of non-focus while considering the unheroic temporalities of maintenance and making-do. In the background of the events and names and dates that constitute the historical record, there is the never ending but always hidden / overlooked support that sustains the conditions in which the record is made. For the bleary-eyed, it can be difficult to tell where one thing stops and the next thing begins. As failures of proper inscription, blurs can visualise the temporality of the tedious, repetitive tasks that are going on all the time, around the supposedly autonomous individuals who are remembered by history.
__________

Vali Mahlouji
For a History of the Defeated: Archaeology of the Final Decade

To heed the call of the German philosopher Walter Benjamin for ‘brushing history against the grain’, Archaeology of the Final Decade (AOTFD) has committed to constructive re-readings of (art) history from the point of view of the defeated, the victims. The paper argues for a constantly evolving, multiform commitment to combatting the tainted nature of history transmitted from victor to victor and memorialising instead those who were subject to violent erasure.
The methodology re-examines culture not as a communal space of harmonious existence, but a conflict-filled field of negotiations; art itself must be situated in this crossfire to realise its historical meaning.
AOTFD focuses on recovering cultural memory and reclaiming ‘sites of disappearances’ – areas of history that have been erased, destroyed, banned or endangered. The practice concerns itself with dark spots and blind spots of histories – those histories of nations which have been condemned by social displacement, cultural annihilation or deliberate disappearance. It engages with accounts of culture lost through material destruction, acts of censorship, and other political, economic or human contingencies.
This paper proposes a processual retracing and reintegration into cultural memory and discourse, as a performative counteraction of violent, systematic historical erasures. It propounds a pedagogy-driven and counter-hegemonic form of exhibition making, that embeds its objects within a field of suppressed historical narratives so to carefully listen to the marginal, spectral voices of the past.
Vali Mahlouji will discuss the working methodology of A Utopian Stage. A multi-faceted and constantly evolving project, A Utopian Stage takes the radical decade-long Festival of Arts, Shiraz-Persepolis (1967-77), as its points of departure to journey through the countless utopian episodes and ideals that defined the long twentieth century: transcendental internationalisms; radical liberations; emancipating solidarities.
This talk will argue that while virtually forgotten, the festival enables us to reconstruct a complex space of international modernity, that was interspersed with the ‘third worldist’ sensibilities of the immediate post-colonial period. Introducing distant voices from Asia and Africa into the international cultural discourse and juxtaposing them alongside neo-avant-garde expressions, the festival allowed for a fluid artistic exchange across geographies, histories and forms in ways and on a scale that had never been possible before. In the aftermath of the collapse of European hegemonies and the rise of the Global South, it gave voice to widespread calls for a ‘global re-orientation’: subverting the single ‘reading’ of West to East into a more cyclical model, engaging in cultural negotiations from East to East, East to West, South to East, South to South.
Situating the festival against the background of contemporaneous political events and movements like the Non-Aligned Movement and Pan-Africanism, the talk examines how Shiraz-Persepolis acted as a contested site of competing solidarities and proliferating visions of an interconnected world; and how, importantly, it facilitated the encounter between international and ethnic avant-gardes. It is precisely the festival’s pronounced rejection of a tension-less, homogenizing fusion of cultures, and its alignment with the principles of particularism, cultural difference, and alterity that demand our attention today. For these qualities make the festival not only a unique historical object but point to the still latent possibilities of the utopian impulses that marked the cross-cultural histories of art and anti-colonial struggle in the 1960s and 1970s.

Programme

14:00 – 15:00
On Libidinal Historiography
With Elizabeth Freeman (USA)

15:00 – 16:00
“Nous faysons contre nature” – Polyphony, Sex and the Machine
With Björn Schmelzer (BE)

16:00 – 17:00
All a Blur
With Amelia Groom (AU/DE)

17:00 – 18:00
For a History of the Defeated: Archaeology of the Final Decade
With Vali Mahlouji (GB)

Flussdelta in Island

Flussdelta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh Slobodeniuk

Konferenz
Thinking Together

Circluding History II

  • Synchronübersetzung ins Deutsche

Circluding History I
Samstag, 23.03.2019, 14:00 — 18:00

Thinking Together 2019 betrachtet Geschichte und Geschichtsschreibung durch eine politisch geschärfte Linse der Zeit. In ihrem fünften Jahr untersucht die Thinking Together Konferenz überkommene und hartnäckige Vorstellungen von linearer Zeit und Geschichte sowie die ihnen zugrunde liegenden politischen Matrizes. Welche politischen Einstellungen stecken hinter historisch kontingenten Geschichtsphilosophien? Auf welchen Zeitvorstellungen basieren sie? Und wie beeinflussen sie wiederum den Blick auf die Gegenwart, die Beziehung zur Vergangenheit und die Fähigkeit, die Zukunft zu gestalten? „Circluding History“ – der Titel der Konferenz – deutet einen anderen Ansatz beim Nachdenken über Geschichte an. Der Begriff „Zirklusion“ (geprägt von Bini Adamczak) ist das Antonym von Penetration. Ein Begriff, der auf nichtlineare Verständnisse hinweist, der das Verhältnis von Aktivität und Passivität umdenkt und eine symmetrische Verteilung von Handlungsfähigkeiten einfordert. Seinen spekulativen Bahnen folgend, erforscht und imaginiert die Konferenz Relationen zur Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft, alternative Genealogien sowie dekolonisierte, globale, zusammenhängende und queere Geschichte(n).

Elizabeth Freeman
On Libidinal Historiography

Im Rückgriff auf mein Buch „Time Binds“ über Chrononormativität (die Politik der normativen zeitlichen Bestimmung des Körpers) und Erotohistoriografie (die Darstellung echter oder fantasierter körperlicher Begegnungen mit der Vergangenheit), soll in diesem Vortrag ein Modell historischen Denkens und Schreibens erforscht werden, das das Begehren in den Mittelpunkt stellt. Ich argumentiere, dass der Roman „Of One Blood“ (1908) der afro-amerikanischen Schriftstellering Pauline Hopkins die Geschichte als Gegenstand einer körperlichen Verflechtung behandelt und die Interessen der Vereinigten Staaten des 19. Jahrhunderts an körperlicher Anziehungskraft, Spiritualität und Ägyptologie dazu verwendet, die Gegenwart als eine Membran neu zu denken, die der Vergangenheit gegenüber durchlässig ist. Pauline Hopkins‘ Arbeit erinnert uns daran, dass historisches Denken immer libidinös ist und es immer darum geht, vergangene Materialien aufs Neue interessant zu finden und zu entzünden, damit sie Schnittstellen mit der Gegenwart bilden können – ein Prozess, der vor allem in der queeren Politik und Theorie von Bedeutung ist. Dieser Prozess des Begreifens von Geschichte als Membran spiegelt nicht nur, so behaupte ich, das Modell der Zirklusion, an dem sich diese Konferenz ausrichtet, sondern konfrontiert und überwindet auch die Rassifizierung von Afro-Amerikanern, durch die deren Reduktion auf ihre Haut.
__________

Björn Schmelzer
„Nous faysons contre nature“ – Polyphony, Sex and the Machine

Dieser Vortrag basiert auf neuen, derzeit laufenden Forschungsarbeiten, die mir verstehen helfen, welche Art von Ereignis die Erfindung der Pariser Polyphonie im 12. Jahrhundert war und welchen Bruch in der kosmologischen und religiösen Wahrnehmung bedeutete.
Der Protagonist dieser Wahrnehmung ist eine der spannendsten und ambivalentesten Figuren der westlichen Philosophie, Alain de Lille (Lateinisch: Alanus ab Insulis, 1128-1202/03) mit seinem Opus Magnum „De Planctu Naturae“ (Die Klage der Natur). In dieser Schrift beschreibt Alain de Lille einen Traum, in dem er der Natur in Person begegnet, die sich über die Degeneration und den Niedergang der Menschheit beklagt.
De Lilles Welt ist eine vollständig sexualisierte – an sich nicht ungewöhnlich, da dies ein wichtiger Aspekt traditioneller Kosmologie ist, in der die Vorstellung herrscht, dass die Dinge Harmonie und Gleichgewicht durch binäre sexualisierte Kräfte herstellen. Die Menschheit wird nicht nur für einen radikalen Bruch mit dieser Ordnung verantwortlich gemacht, sondern es wird auch klar, dass die Natur selbst schließlich aus dem Gleichgewicht gerät und Sex zu einem Problem wird, das sich der binären Logik verweigert. Wenn de Lille auch das verurteilt, was er sieht, so eröffnet doch die Ambivalenz der Beschreibung selbst den Weg zu einer langfristigen künstlerischen und musikalischen Queerness.
Musik artikulierte traditionsgemäß die heiligen Proportionen und die Harmonie der Sphären: Was wäre aber, wenn die neue Kunst der Polyphonie mit der Harmonie bräche um eine gegen-natürliche Praxis zu betreiben, wie es der französische Komponist eines ars subtilior-Chancons des 14. Jahrhunderts nennt, auf den sich der Titel „Nous faysons contre nature“ bezieht? Dies ist erst der Beginn einer fortlaufenden moralischen Kritik an der Polyphonie, der Verbindung von Körpern, die nicht verbunden werden sollten, die die natürliche Vokalität deformiert und letztlich eine Schreibpraxis anwendet, die die Akteure von einer oralen Tradition entfremdet und sie zu Teilen einer polyphonischen Maschine macht. Gibt es in der westlichen Musik ein emanzipatorisches Potential, das wir schon seit Jahrhunderten übersehen?
__________

Amelia Groom
All a Blur

Ausgehend von unscharfen Formen auf einer alten, beschädigten Daguerreotypie und Lesarten der Unschärfe in verschiedenen zeitgenössischen Kunstwerken, wird sich dieser Vortrag auf Orte der Unschärfe konzentrieren und gleichzeitig die unheroischen Zeitlichkeiten des Beibehaltens und sich Begnügens betrachten. Im Hintergrund der Ereignisse und Namen, aus denen historische Aufzeichnungen bestehen, steht die unendliche, aber stets verborgene / übersehene Unterstützung, die die Bedingungen aufrechterhält, unter denen die Aufzeichnungen gemacht werden. Mit trüben Augen ist es mitunter schwer zu unterscheiden, wo eine Sache aufhört und die nächste beginnt. Als fehlgeschlagene ordnungsgemäße Einschreibungen können Unschärfen die Zeitlichkeiten der mühevollen, monotonen Arbeiten sichtbar machen, die ständig um die vermeintlich autonomen Individuen herum geschehen, deren sich die Geschichte erinnert.
__________

Vali Mahlouji
For a History of the Defeated: Archaeology of the Final Decade

Walter Benjamin forderte, die „Geschichte gegen den Strich zu bürsten“ und die Plattform Archeology of the Final Decade (AOTFD) folgt dieser Forderung mit einer konstruktiven Neu-Interpretation von (Kunst-)Geschichte aus dem Blickwinkel der Besiegten, der Opfer. Dieser Vortrag plädiert für ein kontinuierlich weiterentwickeltes, in vielfacher Form auftretendes Engagement dafür, gegen eine vergiftete Geschichte zu kämpfen, die von Sieger*innen zu Sieger*innen weitergegeben wird, und stattdessen an diejenigen zu erinnern, die gewaltsam aus ihr gelöscht wurden.
Die Methode besteht darin, Kultur neu zu untersuchen, und zwar nicht als gemeinsamen Raum einer harmonischen Existenz, sondern vielmehr als Bereich konfliktbeladener Verhandlungen; die Kunst selbst muss in diesem Kreuzfeuer verortet sein, um ihre historische Bedeutung zu begreifen.
AOFTFD richtet ihre Aufmerksamkeit vor allem auf kulturelle Erinnerung und erobert „Orte des Verschwindens“ zurück – Bereiche der Geschichte, die ausgelöscht, zerstört, verboten wurden oder davon bedroht sind. Die Praxis beschäftigt sich mit dunklen und blinden Flecken der Geschichten – der Geschichten von Nationen, die von sozialer Vertreibung, kultureller Vernichtung oder absichtlichem Verschwindenlassen betroffen sind. Sie erforscht Berichte über Kultur, die durch Zerstörung von Material, Zensur oder andere politische, wirtschaftliche oder menschliche Kontingenzen verloren ging.
Dieser Vortrag schlägt eine prozesshafte Zurückverfolgung und Reintegration in die kulturelle Erinnerung und den kulturellen Diskurs vor, als performative Gegenmaßnahme zu gewaltsamen, systematischen Auslöschungen. Er legt eine pädagogikorientierte und anti-hegemoniale Art der Ausstellungsproduktion nahe, die ihre Gegenstände in ein Umfeld aus unterdrückter geschichtlicher Narrative einbettet, um sorgsam auf die marginalisierten Geisterstimmen der Vergangenheit hören zu können.
Vali Mahlouji wird die Arbeitsmethoden von „A Utopian Stage“ darlegen. Dieses facettenreiche und kontinuierlich weiterentwickelte Projekt nimmt das radikale Festival of Arts, Shiraz-Persepolis, das zehn Jahre lang bestand (1967 – 1977), als Ausgangspunkt für eine Reise durch die zahllosen utopischen Episoden und Ideale, durch die das 20. Jahrhundert definiert wurde: transzendentale Internationalismen, radikale Befreiungen, emanzipatorische Solidaritäten.
Obwohl es heute beinahe vergessen ist, versetzt uns das Festival in die Lage, einen komplexen Raum der internationalen Moderne zu rekonstruieren, die mit den Empfindungen einer „dritten Welt“ der unmittelbaren Nach-Kolonialzeit durchsetzt war. Das Festival führte ferne Stimmen aus Asien und Afrika in den internationalen Kulturdiskurs ein und stellte sie neben neo-avantgardistische Ausdrucksweisen. Damit ermöglichte es einen ungehinderten künstlerischen Austausch über Geographien, Geschichten und Formen hinweg, auf bisher undenkbare Weisen und in ungekanntem Ausmaß. In der Folge des Kollapses europäischer Hegemonien und des Aufstiegs des globalen Südens gab das Festival den verbreiteten Rufen nach einer „globalen Umorientierung“ eine Stimme, unterlief die bisher einzige Interpretation vom Westen hin zum Osten mit einem eher zyklisch gearteten Modell und begab sich in kulturelle Verhandlungen von Osten zu Osten, Osten zu Westen, Süden zu Osten, Süden zu Süden.
Wenn man das Festival vor dem Hintergrund gleichzeitig stattfindender politischer Ereignisse wie dem Non-Aligned Movement und dem Pan-Afrikanismus betrachtet, fällt auf, dass Shiraz-Persepolis ein umkämpfter Ort konkurrierender Solidaritäten und sich vervielfachender Visionen einer miteinander verbundenen Welt war – und wie es, was besonders wichtig ist, die Begegnung internationaler und ethnischer Avantgarden ermöglichte. Es sind genau diese erklärte Absage des Festivals an eine konfliktlose, homogenisierende Fusion der Kulturen und seine Ausrichtung an den Prinzipien des Partikularismus, der kulturellen Unterschiedlichkeit und der Alterität, die wir heute besonders aufmerksam betrachten sollten. Denn diese Eigenschaften sorgen nicht nur dafür, dass das Festival ein einzigartiger historischer Gegenstand ist, sondern weisen auch auf die noch immer latenten Möglichkeiten der utopischen Impulse hin, die die kulturübergreifenden Geschichten der Kunst und des Kampfes gegen den Kolonialismus in den 60er- und 70er-Jahren kennzeichnen.

Programm

14:00 – 15:00
On Libidinal Historiography
mit Elizabeth Freeman (USA)

15:00 – 16:00
„Nous faysons contre nature“ – Polyphony, Sex and the Machine
mit Björn Schmelzer (BE)

16:00 – 17:00
All a Blur
mit Amelia Groom (AU/DE)

17:00 – 18:00
For a History of the Defeated: Archaeology of the Final Decade
mit Vali Mahlouji (GB)