River delta in Island

River delta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh_Slobodeniuk

Workshop
Thinking Together

Beyond Eurocentrism and Tribal History: Towards Decolonization and Connected Histories

  • In English

Please register:

How can we use history to understand each other and cooperate better in the present?

In this workshop, we will look closer at the different topics raised in Dag Herbjørnsrud’s presentation “Fake history, distorted world-views: How ideology shapes what we (think we) know.”

More examples from Germany and the world will be given within the humanities, social sciences, and the natural sciences. And we will try to find a method in order to spot ideological presentations of the past and the present.

This is an attempt to find a way beyond eurocentrism and tribalism, to move our minds towards decolonization and connected histories – wie es eigentlich gewesen ist. In dialogue we will try to “circlude history”, to build on the concept of “circlusion” in order to open for more diverse perspectives. A workshop that will explore different takes on a symmetrical distribution of agencies.

More information: www.sgoki.org/no/english/ 

With

Dag Herbjørnsrud (NO)

As part of “Defragmentation – Curating Contemporary Music”
A project of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD) / Darmstädter Ferienkurse, Donaueschinger Musiktage, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues and in cooperation with the Ultima Festival Oslo

Flussdelta in Island

Flussdelta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh_Slobodeniuk

Workshop
Thinking Together

Beyond Eurocentrism and Tribal History: Towards Decolonization and Connected Histories

  • In englischer Sprache

Anmeldung erbeten:

Wie können wir die Geschichte dazu nutzen, einander in der Gegenwart besser zu verstehen und besser zusammenzuarbeiten?

In diesem Workshop beschäftigen wir uns eingehender mit den verschiedenen Themen, die in Dag Herbjørnsruds Vortrag „Fake history, distorted world-views: How ideology shapes what we (think we) know“ angesprochen wurden.

Weitere Beispiele aus Deutschland und aller Welt in den Bereichen der Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften werden aufgezeigt. Und wir werden versuchen, eine Methode zu entwickeln, mit der wir ideologische Darstellungen von Vergangenheit und Zukunft als solche erkennen.

Damit versuchen wir, uns von Eurozentrismus und Tribalismus zu verabschieden und uns Dekolonisierung und verknüpfter Geschichte zuzuwenden – wie es eigentlich gewesen ist. In Dialogform werden wir versuchen, „Geschichte zu zirkludieren“, auf dem Konzept der Zirklusion aufzubauen und damit mehr Offenheit für vielfältigere Perspektiven zu generieren. Dieser Workshop erforscht verschiedene Aspekte einer symmetrischen Verteilung von Handlungsmacht.

Weitere Informationen: www.sgoki.org/no/english/ 

Mit

Dag Herbjørnsrud (NO)

Im Rahmen von „Defragmentation – Curating Contemporary Music“
Ein Projekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und des Internationalen Musikinstituts Darmstadt (IMD) / der Darmstädter Ferienkurse, der Donaueschinger Musiktage, von MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen sowie in Kooperation mit dem Ultima Festival Oslo