River delta in Island

River delta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh_Slobodeniuk

Listening Session
Thinking Together

Ways of Listening 2

Listening to the Echoes, Reverberations and the Vibrations of Halim El-Dabh

  • In English

Please register:

In this session we attempt to bend time, listen to the reverb an echo chamber, urged by traversing early experimentations in electronic music production. We fast-forward, rewind, we are beside time, we pause, and listen together towards a multifaceted history of experimental music and sound arts. This kinship of music, sounds, recordings, which led our way along and across the times of the life of Halim El-Dabh (1921 – 2017), becomes the context of recorded and unrecorded histories which go beyond the Euro-American canon of what we know as the avant-garde. El-Dabh, who composed one of the earliest – known to date – pieces of electroacoustic music (Taabir El Zaar in 1944) and whose artistic oeuvre spans a period of seventy years, has somehow vanished into oblivion and, has been omitted from “virtually all past and current general music history and literature textbooks for music majors and non-music majors alike.” (Denise A. Seachrist: “The Musical World of Halim El-Dabh.” 2003, Kent State University Press.

The motive of this inquiry and listening encounter is to crack the map and rephrase Halim El-Dabh’s lifelong dedication to inventiveness and novelty across various musical genres and traditions. This session will be unscripted and collaged with a series of conversations excerpts that took place between 2016 and early 2017, in a concealed Skype conversation between Halim El-Dabh and Metwaly, shortly before his passing in September 2017 at the age of 96. This listening encounter, about the Egyptian experimentalist, avant-garde musician, electroacoustic composer, creative ethnomusicologist, and pan-Africanist Halim El Dabh, is part of an ongoing retrospective research project “Exploring the Sonic Cosmologies of Halim El Dabh” which debuted in the form of an exhibition in Dak’Art 2018, conducted and curated by Bonaventure Ndikung and Kamila Mohamed Metwaly.

With

Kamila Metwaly

As part of “Defragmentation – Curating Contemporary Music”
A project of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD) / Darmstädter Ferienkurse, Donaueschinger Musiktage, MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues and in cooperation with the Ultima Festival Oslo

Flussdelta in Island

Flussdelta in Island

© iStock.com / Oleh_Slobodeniuk

Listening Session
Thinking Together

Ways of Listening 2

Listening to the Echoes, Reverberations and the Vibrations of Halim El-Dabh

  • In englischer Sprache

Anmeldung erbeten:

In dieser Session versuchen wir, die Zeit zu biegen; wir hören dem Hall in der Echokammer zu, angetrieben durch die Erforschung frühen Experimentierens in der Produktion elektronischer Musik. Wir spulen vor und zurück, wir befinden uns neben der Zeit; wir drücken auf „Pause“ und hören gemeinsam der facettenreichen Geschichte der experimentellen Musik und Klangkunst zu. Diese Verwandtschaft zwischen Musik, Klängen und Aufnahmen, die uns bei der Betrachtung des Lebens Halim El-Dabhs (1921 – 2017) begleitet, werden zum Kontext aufgezeichneter und nicht-aufgezeichneter Geschichten jenseits des euro-amerikanischen Kanons dessen, was wir unter Avantgarde verstehen. El-Dabh komponierte eines der ersten – soweit bisher bekannt ist – Werke elektroakustischer Musik („Tabir El Zaar“ im Jahr 1944) und sein künstlerisches Oeuvre umspannt einen Zeitraum von siebzig Jahren. Und doch geriet er in Vergessenheit und wurde aus nahezu „allen Lehrbüchern zu allgemeiner Musikgeschichte und Literatur für Studierende der Musikwissenschaft“ ausgelassen. (Denise A. Seachrist: „The Musical World of Halim El-Dabh.“ 2003, Kent State University Press).

Das Motiv dieser Untersuchung und Hörbegegnung ist es, die Landkarte aufzubrechen und Halim El-Dabhs lebenslange Hingabe an Erfindungsreichtum und Erneuerung über zahlreiche Musikgenres und –traditionen hinweg neu zu formulieren. Die Session folgt keinem Skript, sondern ist vielmehr eine Kollage aus Gesprächsauszügen, die zwischen 2016 und Anfang 2017 in einem verdeckten Skype-Gespräch zwischen Halim El-Dabh und Kamila Metwaly entstanden, kurz bevor er im September 2017 im Alter von 96 Jahren verstarb. Diese Hörbegegnung mit dem ägyptischen Experimentator, Avantgardemusiker, elektroakustischen Komponisten, kreativen Ethnomusikologen und pan-Afrikanisten Halim El-Dabh ist Teil des fortlaufenden retrospektiven Forschungsprojekts „Exploring the Sonic Cosmologies of Halim El Dabh“, das in Gestalt einer Ausstellung bei der Dak’Art Biennale 2018 seinen Anfang nahm, die von Bonaventure Ndikung und Kamila Mohamed Metwaly kuratiert und umgesetzt wurde.

Mit

Kamila Metwaly

Im Rahmen von „Defragmentation – Curating Contemporary Music“
Ein Projekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und des Internationalen Musikinstituts Darmstadt (IMD) / der Darmstädter Ferienkurse, der Donaueschinger Musiktage, von MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen sowie in Kooperation mit dem Ultima Festival Oslo