Film stills of TV productions of contemporary music

Film stills of TV productions of contemporary music

Film Installation & Film Programme
Tele-Visions

Tele-Visions

A Critical Media History of New Music on TV, 1950s–1990s

The project “Tele-Visions” presents treasures from over 20 television archives from around the world that tell a multifaceted story of the musical avant-garde from the 1950s to the 1990s.

  • In English

News broadcasts, documentaries and portraits, concert recordings, talk shows and made-for-TV artistic formats from Europe (including the former GDR), the US, Latin America and North Africa paint a mass media image of Western art music, from the postwar period to the Cold War and the aftermath of the fall of the Iron Curtain. The flickering of this mostly unknown, extensive and yet necessarily fragmentary archive mirrors the personalities, institutions, forms and debates of the musical avant-garde as well as the grand cultural, political and ideological currents of the second half of the 20th century. “Tele-Visions” takes a critical long-distance look at this (self-)representation of new music on TV, a mass medium that is itself historic and disappearing.

Which historical narratives do we encounter in this archive? Which perspectives arise from temporal distance, not least with regard to current questions concerning diversity, gender inequality, intersectionality, coloniality and white supremacy? How does the development of the musical avant-garde relate to the societal fault lines of recent history, from classicism, sexism and racism to epistemic and aesthetic exclusions? In what ways do these fault lines shape the field of contemporary music to this day? In other words, what is the history of the (musical) present?

A film installation in the new Betonhalle of the silent green – open from 24th till 31st of March between 14:00 and 24:00 – is complemented by eight full-day film programs, selected by international scholars, artists and curators. Each of these programs casts its own lights onto the historical narratives of the musical avant-garde. Two movie nights, on the 25th and the 27th of March, with lectures, panels and presentations open up current perspectives on this still to be written media history of new music on television.

“Tele-Visions” is partly based on research conducted for a film program that was realized in 2009 as part of the festival Wien Modern under the artistic direction of Berno Odo Polzer and curated in collaboration with Andreas Lewin.

Programme details will be published shortly.

Curated by Berno Odo Polzer
in collaboration with Anke Charton, Diedrich Diederichsen, George Lewis, Nicolas Siepen and others
Research: Berno Odo Polzer, Ilse Müller, Nicolas Siepen, Linda Sepp
Research 2009: Berno Odo Polzer & Andreas Lewin
Production Manager: Linda Sepp
Production Assistant: Friedrich Weißbach

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.
null

With the support of silent green, in cooperation with Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv – Stiftung von ARD und Deutschlandradio

Film Stills aus Fernsehproduktionen zeitgenössischer Musik

Film Stills aus Fernsehproduktionen zeitgenössischer Musik

Filminstallation & Filmprogramm
Tele-Visions

Tele-Visions

A Critical Media History of New Music on TV 1950s–1990s

Musikgeschichtsschreibung findet nicht nur in Büchern statt. Auch Medien wie das Fernsehen sind daran beteiligt, welches Bild und welche Erzählung von der musikalischen Avantgarde überliefert wird. In „Tele-Visions“ werden selten zu sehende Filmraritäten und Dokumente aus über 20 Fernseharchiven gezeigt, erläutert und kommentiert.

  • In englischer Sprache

Aktuelle Berichterstattung, Dokumentar- und Porträtfilme, Konzertmitschnitte, Talkshows und künstlerische Formate wie Fernseh-Opern aus Europa (darunter der ehemaligen DDR), den USA, Lateinamerika und Nordafrika zeichnen ein massenmedial verbreitetes Bild der westlichen Kunstmusik, von der Nachkriegszeit über den Kalten Krieg bis in die Zeit nach dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs. Im Flackern dieses größtenteils unbekannten, umfangreichen und doch naturgemäß fragmentarischen Archivs spiegeln sich die Persönlichkeiten, Institutionen, Formen und Debatten der musikalischen Avantgarde ebenso wie die großen kulturellen, politischen und ideologischen Strömungen der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts. „Tele-Visions“ richtet einen kritischen Fern-Blick auf diese (Selbst-)Darstellung der Neuen Musik im Fernsehen, einem Massenmedium, das selbst historisch und im Verschwinden begriffen ist.

Welchen Geschichtsnarrativen begegnen wir? Welche Perspektiven ergeben sich aus zeitlicher Distanz, nicht zuletzt hinsichtlich aktueller Fragestellungen bzgl. Diversität, Ungleichheit der Geschlechter, Intersektionalität, Kolonialität und weißer Vorherrschaft? Wie verhält sich die Entwicklung der musikalischen Avantgarde zu den gesellschaftlichen Bruchlinien der jüngeren Geschichte, von Klassismus, Sexismus und Rassismus bis hin zu epistemischen und ästhetischen Ausgrenzungen? Auf welche Weise prägen diese Bruchlinien den Bereich zeitgenössischer Musik bis heute? In anderen Worten: Was ist die Geschichte der (musikalischen) Gegenwart?

Eine Filminstallation in der neuen Betonhalle des silent green – von 24. bis 31.3. täglich von 14:00 bis 24:00 geöffnet – wird ergänzt durch acht ganztägige Filmprogramme, die von internationalen Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen zusammengestellt werden. Jedes dieser Programme wirft jeweils eigene Schlaglichter auf die Geschichtsnarrative der musikalischen Avantgarde. Zwei Fernseh-Abende am 25. und 27.3. eröffnen mit Vorträgen, Panels und Präsentationen aktuelle Perspektiven auf diese noch zu schreibende Mediengeschichte der Neuen Musik im Fernsehen.

„Tele-Visions“ basiert teilweise auf Recherchen für ein Filmprogramm, das im Jahr 2009 im Rahmen des Festivals Wien Modern unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Berno Odo Polzer realisiert und in Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Lewin kuratiert wurde.

Das vollständige Programm mit Details zu allen Filmen finden Sie im Tele-Visions-Magazin PDF, 3,8 MB

Kuratiert von Berno Odo Polzer
in Zusammenarbeit mit Anke Charton, Diedrich Diederichsen, George Lewis, Nicolas Siepen u. a.
Recherchen: Berno Odo Polzer, Ilse Müller, Nicolas Siepen, Linda Sepp
Recherchen 2009: Berno Odo Polzer & Andreas Lewin
Produktionsleitung: Linda Sepp
Mitarbeit: Friedrich Weißbach

Programm

Sonntag, 24.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm kuratiert von George Lewis

Montag, 25.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm kuratiert von George Lewis
19:00
Tele-Visions-Night
Lectures, Panels & Präsentationen mit Vali Mahlouji, Anke Charton, George Lewis

Dienstag 26.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm kuratiert von Anke Charton

Mittwoch 27.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm kuratiert von Anke Charton
19:00
Tele-Visions-Night
Panel und Filmpräsentation mit Diedrich Diederichsen & Nicolas Siepen
21:00
Alireza Mashayekhi: Shur
Karlheinz Stockhausen: Telemusik & Hymnen IV
Andre Bartetzki, Klangregie

Donnerstag 28.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm kuratiert von Diedrich Diederichsen

Freitag 29.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm kuratiert von Diedrich Diederichsen

Samstag 30.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm „Neue Musik im ‚Fernsehen der DDR‘“
16:00
Panel „Neue Musik im Fernsehen des Geteilten Deutschland“

Sonntag 31.3.19, 14:00 – 24:00
Filminstallation & Filmprogramm „Neue Musik im ‚Fernsehen der DDR‘“

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

null

Mit Unterstützung von silent green, in Kooperation mit Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv – Stiftung von ARD und Deutschlandradio