The Green Belt

The Green Belt

© picture alliance/dpa, photo: Martin Schutt

Art, discourse & parliament

Palast der Republik

Day 1: Re-Vision

with Almuth Berger, Tatjana Böhm, Susan Buck-Morss, Boris Buden, Augusto Corrieri, Bernd Gehrke, Trajal Harrell, Max Hertzberg, Sanja Horvatinčić, Gal Kirn, Kerstin Meyer, Technosekte + Henrike Naumann, Ana Ofak, Pan Daijing, Elske Rosenfeld, Bénédicte Savoy, Bernhard Schlink

On the opening night, we want to resurrect the Palast der Republik without glorifying it. A revue of ideas reminds us of the progressive impulses of the new constitution that was developed at the GDR’s Central Round Table in the winter of 1989/90.

More programme:
Palast der Republik – Day 2: 09.03.2019
Palast der Republik – Day 3: 10.03.2019

Day 1 to 3: Installations by Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper and Felix Grütsch

Many protagonists of the rebuilding of the Schloss, as the architect and curator Philipp Oswalt recalls, were East Germans, many critics of the demolition of the Palast der Republik were West Germans. This building, which existed for less than 14 years, combined political representation and entertainment, culture and international encounters. According to its function, the Palast was part of the tradition of so-called “Volkshäuser”. This vision, however, did not become reality until the final phase of the GDR, when the people protested outside its doors and soon afterwards, a freely elected parliament debated the demise of the country inside the building. On the opening day, we want to recall the new draft constitution that was commissioned here as a foundation for the reunification negotiations as well as the work done by the Round Tables of this era, where a different kind of society was envisioned and initiated.

18:00 h, Vorplatz
ca. 20 min
Klaus Pobitzer
Wolkenreich

Installation

Fog rises in front of the Festspielhaus façade like dust from a million cubic metres of collapsing concrete. These fogs thicken into a wall of cloud from which dark colours and unclear forms protrude until it is possible to make out that two opposing worlds are meeting here. Finally the fog disperses and reveals the Palast der Republik reappearing as a ghost.
__________

18:10 h, Unteres Foyer
ca. 8 min
Trajal Harrell
Odori, the Shit!

Performance
Choreography: Trajal Harrell
Dancers: Thibault Lac & Ondrej Vidlar
Music: Olivier Messiaen

In African-American slang, “the shit!” refers to something of great excellence, whereas “odori” is the word for traditional dance in Japanese. The 8-minute duet was entirely created in front of the public during opening hours at MoMA. “Odori, the Shit!” is a distillation of Trajal Harrell’s previous work into pure dance movement. Inspired by early modern dance and the work of butoh dance founder Tatsumi Hijikata, it is a period shift in Harrell’s work as a choreographer and at the same time a bridge between contemporary art and dance history.
__________

18:30 h, Vorbühne
ca. 120 min
Verfasst euch!
Ideenrevue
in German & English with simultaneous translation
Keynotes: Susan Buck-Morss & Bernhard Schlink
with Almuth Berger, Boris Buden, Elske Rosenfeld
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

A revue of ideas reminds us of the progressive impulses of the new constitution that was developed by members of the GDR’s Central Round Table in the winter of 1989/90. In her keynote speech “Revolution Today”, American philosopher Susan Buck-Morss contextualises the year 1989 as a global event that ended the rivalry between two parallel, mutually contingent versions of modernity. A commentary on her lecture is provided by Boris Buden, who shaped the term post-Communism for the former socialist countries after 1989. Almuth Berger describes her efforts as “commissioner for foreigners” at the Round Table and the last two GDR governments, where, among other things, she helped facilitate the immigration of Soviet Jews. Writer and professor of law Bernhard Schlink – who in 1990 was involved in the debate surrounding the new constitution for the GDR – reports on those discussions and asks how they are relevant to the present. Finally, artist and author Elske Rosenfeld comments from the perspective of her long-standing research into the incomplete revolution of 1989/90..
__________

20:30 h, Vorbühne
ca. 72 min
Trajal Harrell
Caen Amour

Performance
Choreography, soundtrack: Trajal Harrell
Dancers: Trajal Harrell, Thibault Lac, Perle Palombe, Ondrej Vidlar
Dramaturgy: Sara Jansen
Set design: Jean-Stephan Kiss
Lighting design: Sylvain Rausa
Costumes: Trajal Harrell & the dancers

“Caen Amour” takes place in the historical imagination. This personal rendering of a hoochie-koochie show – an erotic dance that was first popularized by the Syrian dancer Little Egypt and spawned a number of imitators trying on an “oriental” style of dance – takes place on both sides of an architectural object allowing for multiple viewing perspectives. It transforms the theatrical audience into the awareness of the gallery viewer’s position and invites to look at the story from several angles.
__________

20:30 h, Rangfoyer
ca. 60 min
Zwischennutzungen und Zonen des Zukünftigen
Talk
in German
with Philipp Oswalt & Joshua Wicke

Shortly before its disappearance, the Palast der Republik was returned to the state of a shell construction and opened to a wide spectrum of cultural events under the title of “ZwischenPalastNutzung”. Apart from being a central protagonist of this interim use, Philip Oswalt will also have a say as a committed campaigner for the urban challenges faced by the East during the 1990s. Because in 1989, a strong impulse for new departures emerged from the conflicts concerning urban preservation and from various citizens’ initiatives for the rescue of threatened inner cities in the GDR. Oswalt will reflect on these initiatives and their ideas in relation with the current debates about the future of our cities.
__________

20:30 h, Kassenhalle
ca. 60 min
Max Hertzberg
Stealing the Future

Reading
in German
Moderation: Jochen Werner

The “East Berlin Trilogy” by Max Hertzberg describes a political experiment: How might the GDR have evolved in 1989 if the fundamental democratic ideals of the opposition had been realised? The British author writes novels which – whether they appear utopian or dystopic – evaluate possibilities of how society may develop in the future. For the first time in German in the translation by Herwig Engelmann, Hertzberg reads excerpts from his novel “Stealing the Future” – a historical fantasy which turns things upside down.
__________

20:30 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 120 min
A Vocabulary of Revolutionary Gestures
Film
In German with English subtitles
Video loop, 2014/18, Elske Rosenfeld

The videos “A Bit of a Complex Situation” (2-channel video, 15 min, 2014) and “Versuche / Framed” (1-channel video, 20 min, 2018) are two chapters of a filmic investigation spanning several years, exploring the human body as arena and archive of political events: The first one is a treatment of a scene that occurred when the first meeting of the GDR’s Central Round Table was interrupted by a demonstration in front of the building. The second one observes an attempt by the Round Table’s documentarian, Klaus Freymuth, to shoot a political campaign video with the protagonists Ingrid Köppe and Wolfgang Ullmann. Both videos address the redundancy manifested in the bodies on the limits of the politically feasible and speakable.
__________

20:30 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Occupy History I
Talk
In German
with Bénédicte Savoy
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

“Occupy History” is the attempt to not be occupied by “the” historical narrative, but to tell our own histories. In a series of conversations with a wide range of guests at the Palast, we would like to consider biographical and social events as connected and as personal as possible. Among others, the French art historian Bénédicte Savoy will talk about “her GDR” and novelist and jurist Bernhard Schlink will describe the GDR after the opening of the Berlin Wall.
__________

21:30 h, Rangfoyer
ca. 60 min
Augusto Corrieri
Thoughts are born of places (or: one imago covers another)

Lecture performance
in English
World premiere

Is it possible to encounter a building that no longer exists in material form? Augusto Corrieri is a specialist in the exhumation of buried buildings and stories. In this speculative lecture performance, the artist and author tells of the traces and relics of the Palast der Republik. Doing so he continues his research on the performance of non-human actors in the theatre, which he began in his lecture series and book “In Place of a Show”.
__________

22:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 120 min
Nach dem Protest
Der Runde Tisch, sein Verfassungsentwurf, deren Werdegang und Aktualität

Panel
in German & English with simultaneous translation
with Almuth Berger, Tatjana Böhm, Susan Buck-Morss, Bernd Gehrke, Max Hertzberg, Bernhard Schlink
Video contribution: Bini Adamzcak
Concept & moderation: Kerstin Meyer & Elske Rosenfeld

After the Socialist Unity Party (SED) regime lost its power, the GDR’s Central Round Table used the means of a radical, but also pragmatic consensus democracy to create specific proposals for restructuring the country – putting together a draft constitution and a social charter. When the German reunification was enacted as a mere accession of the GDR to the FRG, these experiences and proposals were lost. We speak with protagonists and guests about the Round Table’s ecological, social and grass-roots democratic visions – and their relevance for the present.
__________

22:30 h, Oberes Foyer
ca. 60 min
Being Palace
Panel
in English
with Sanja Horvatinčić, Gal Kirn, Ana Ofak
Moderation: Sebastian Kaiser

The Palast der Republik is not only desired territory and an object of hatred in East German architecture but also an affirmation of post-war modernism on a global scale. At the same time this modernist idiom was being updated in other socialist countries in Europe. Particularly in Yugoslavia buildings were being created under premises of a poly-orientated, pluralist and self-reflexive (post-)modernism. This self-esteem of fun-loving socialists made concrete put the brakes on neoliberalism’s excavators. What is revealed when these architectures are explored as other, abstract and collectively abstracting models of socialism? How do we deconstruct a palace?
__________

22:30 h, Rangkino
ca. 50 min
Monument
Film
Croatia/Bosnia and Herzegovina 2015,
Igor Grubić

After iconoclasm: in the course of the Yugoslav wars thousands of anti-fascist monuments were destroyed by the Croatian nationalist movement – an attack on the culture of remembrance and memorial for which to this day no one has admitted responsibility. The artist Igor Grubić investigates and presents the remnants of the still unrestored monuments in the midst of potent natural surroundings that will overgrow all traces of forgotten history.
__________

23:30 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 76 min
Narbe Berlin
Film
Germany 2009, Burkhard von Harder

A helicopter ride along the invisible Berlin Wall: on a grey winter’s day in January 2009 the artist Burkhard von Harder’s camera took a spectacular, uninterrupted flight above what was left of what had once been the inter-German border. The wall has been opened up and carried away, what remains is a scar 156 kilometres long running through the capital city and its surroundings.
__________

23:30 h, Rangkino
ca. 76 min
Palace for the People
Film
OV with English subtitles
Bulgaria / Germany / Romania 2018,
Boris Missirkov & Georgi Bogdanov

The National Palace of Culture in Sofia, Moscow State University, the Parliamentary Palace in Bucharest, the palace of Serbia in Belgrade and the Palast der Republik in Berlin – five buildings that heralded an era that built its palaces not merely for a select few but for the entire population. This documentary film packed with impressive images portrays their monumental architecture as testimony to a defunct system – and as a hole at the heart of writing inter-German history.
__________

00:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 60 min
Pan Daijing
Fist Piece

Concert
Concept, composition & directed by: Pan Daijing
Performers: Gregori Homa & Pan Daijing
Film: Ekaterina Reinbold, Junying & Pan Daijing

Sound, choreography, installation, and storytelling: Pan Daijing’s raw approach as artist and musician, composer and performer takes many forms. Soul-baring utterances and sonic, aesthetic outbursts are the main tendons of her practice. Her work interweaves vehicles of power and vulnerability, and often oscillates along paradoxical conceptual states and spatial interactions.
__________

01:00 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Technosekte + Henrike Naumann
BRONXX

Performance
Concept: Technosekte + Henrike Naumann
Percussion: Hendrik Frese, Bastian Hagedorn
Vocals & Electronics: Ruth Maria Adam

A “Stasi-exorcism” and, at the same time, a memory of the transient practises of the GDR’s underground artists and activists, who eluded surveillance, documentation and definition. This performance was conceived as a site-specific intervention at Haus 22 on the Stasi’s premises, and it explores the connections between the GDR-underground and the activities of the Stasi’s unofficial collaborators. The dissonances and disruptions within this complicated relationship touch on the limits of language and demand other forms of processing and remembering. “BRONXX” tries out a communication system that uses sonar technology to locate deeper layers of history.

Palast der Republik

More programme

Day 2: 09.03.2019
Day 3: 10.03.2019

Das Grüne Band

Das Grüne Band

© picture alliance/dpa, Foto: Martin Schutt

Kunst, Diskurs & Parlament

Palast der Republik

Tag 1: Re-Vision

mit Almuth Berger, Tatjana Böhm, Susan Buck-Morss, Boris Buden, Augusto Corrieri, Bernd Gehrke, Trajal Harrell, Max Hertzberg, Sanja Horvatinčić, Gal Kirn, Kerstin Meyer, Technosekte + Henrike Naumann, Ana Ofak, Pan Daijing, Elske Rosenfeld, Bénédicte Savoy, Bernhard Schlink

Den Palast der Republik auferstehen zu lassen ohne ihn zu verklären ist das Anliegen des Eröffnungsabends, der mit einer Ideenrevue an die progressiven Impulse der neuen Verfassung erinnert, wie sie 1989/90 am Zentralen Runden Tisch der DDR entwickelt wurde.

Mehr Programm:
Palast der Republik – Tag 2: 09.03.2019
Palast der Republik – Tag 3: 10.03.2019

Tag 1 bis 3: Installationen von Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper und Felix Grütsch

Viele der Protagonist*innen des Schlossneubaus, so erinnert der Architekt und Kurator Philipp Oswalt, waren Ostdeutsche, viele der Kritiker*innen des Abrisses des Palastes der Republik waren Westdeutsche. Dieses kaum 14 Jahre bestehende Gebäude verband politische Repräsentation und Entertainment, Kultur und internationale Begegnungen. Der Funktion nach stand der Palast in der Tradition der Volkshäuser, aber real wurde diese Vision nur in der Endphase der DDR, als die Bevölkerung vor seinen Türen protestierte und drinnen wenig später ein frei gewähltes Parlament über das Ende und Erbe des Landes debattierte. Am Eröffnungstag wollen wir an einen neuen Verfassungsentwurf erinnern, der hier als Grundlage für die Einheitsverhandlungen in Auftrag gegeben wurde, und an die Arbeit der Runden Tische, an denen in der Wendezeit eine andere Gesellschaft visioniert und auf den Weg gebracht wurde.
__________

18:00 h, Vorplatz
ca. 20 min
Klaus Pobitzer
Wolkenreich

Installation

Vor der Fassade des Festspielhauses steigen Nebel auf, wie Staub aus Millionen Kubikmetern einstürzendem Beton. Die Nebel verdichten sich zu einer Wolkenwand, aus der düstere Farben und unklare Formen hervorbrechen, bis zu erkennen ist: Hier treffen zwei entgegengesetzte Welten aufeinander. Der sich verflüchtigende Nebel lässt den Palast der Republik als Geist wieder erscheinen.
__________

18:10 h, Unteres Foyer
ca. 8 min
Trajal Harrell
Odori, the Shit!

Performance
Choreografie: Trajal Harrell
Tänzer: Thibault Lac & Ondrej Vidlar
Musik: Olivier Messiaen

Im afroamerikanischen Slang bedeutet die Bezeichnung „the shit“ eine Anerkennung für große Exzellenz. Und „odori“ ist das japanische Wort für traditionellen Tanz. Dieses achtminütige Duett wurde vor den Augen der Besucher*innen des MoMA während der normalen Öffnungszeiten entwickelt. „Odori, the Shit!“ destilliert die bisherige Arbeit von Trajal Harrell zu reinster Tanzbewegung. Inspiriert durch den frühen Modern Dance und die Arbeit des Begründers des Butoh-Tanzes, Tatsumi Hijikata, ist das Stück ein Wendepunkt in Harrells Schaffen und zugleich ein Brückenschlag zwischen aktueller Kunst und Tanzgeschichte.
__________

18:30 h, Vorbühne
ca. 120 min
Verfasst euch!
Ideenrevue
in deutscher & englischer Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
Keynotes: Susan Buck-Morss & Bernhard Schlink
mit Almuth Berger, Boris Buden, Elske Rosenfeld u.a.
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

Eine Ideenrevue erinnert an die progressiven Impulse einer neuen Verfassung, wie sie von Bürgerrechtler*innen im Winter 1989/90 am Zentralen Runden Tisch der DDR entwickelt wurde. Die amerikanische Philosophin Susan Buck-Morss stellt in ihrer Keynote „Revolution Today“ das Jahr 1989, das die Konkurrenz zweier paralleler, sich gegenseitig bedingender Modernen beendet, in einen globalen Kontext. Ihren Vortrag kommentiert Boris Buden, der für die Periode nach 1989 in den ehemaligen sozialistischen Ländern den Begriff des Postkommunismus prägte. Almuth Berger berichtet von ihren Bemühungen als Ausländerbeauftragte des Runden Tischs und der letzten beiden DDR-Regierungen, wo sie unter anderem die unkomplizierte Einreise sowjetischer Jüd*innen ermöglichte. Der Schriftsteller und Jura-Professor Bernhard Schlink, 1990 selbst in die Erarbeitung einer neuen DDR-Verfassung involviert, berichtet von den damaligen Diskussionen und fragt nach ihrer Gegenwartsrelevanz. Schließlich kommentiert die Künstlerin und Autorin Elske Rosenfeld den Beitrag aus der Perspektive ihrer langjährigen Recherchen zur unvollendeten Revolution 1989/90.
__________

20:30 h, Vorbühne
ca. 72 min
Trajal Harrell
Caen Amour

Performance
Choreografie, Soundtrack: Trajal Harrell
Tänzer*innen: Trajal Harrell, Thibault Lac, Perle Palombe, Ondrej Vidlar
Dramaturgie: Sara Jansen
Set Design: Jean-Stephan Kiss
Licht: Sylvain Rausa
Kostüm: Trajal Harrell & die Tänzer*innen

„Caen Amour“ findet in einer historischen Imagination statt. Diese persönliche Interpretation des Hoochie-Koochie – eines erotischen Tanzes, den zuerst die syrische Tänzerin Little Egypt populär machte und den in der Folge eine ganze Reihe von Tänzer*innen nachahmten, die gerne einen „orientalischen“ Tanzstil ausprobieren wollten – wird auf beiden Seiten eines architektonischen Objekts aufgeführt und erlaubt so eine Vielzahl von Perspektiven. Es versetzt ein Theaterpublikum in die Situation von Galeriebesucher*innen und lädt sie ein, die Geschichte von mehreren Seiten zu betrachten.
__________

20:30 h, Rangfoyer
ca. 60 min
Zwischennutzungen und Zonen des Zukünftigen
Gespräch
in deutscher Sprache
mit Philipp Oswalt & Joshua Wicke

Im Jahr 2004, kurz vor seinem Verschwinden, war der Palast der Republik in den Zustand eines Rohbaus zurückversetzt und öffnete sich unter dem Titel „ZwischenPalastNutzung“ für heterogene Kulturveranstaltungen. Neben seiner Rolle als zentraler Akteur jener Zwischennutzung kommt Philipp Oswalt auch als engagierter Begleiter der städtebaulichen Herausforderungen im Osten der 90er-Jahre zu Wort. Denn eine starke Kraft für den damaligen Aufbruch stammte 1989 aus Konflikten des Stadterhalts und von verschiedenen Bürgerinitiativen zur Rettung der bedrohten Innenstädte der DDR. Diese Initiativen und ihre Ideen setzt Oswalt in Beziehung zur aktuellen Debatte um die Zukunft unserer Städte.
__________

20:30 h, Kassenhalle
ca. 60 min
Max Hertzberg
Stealing the Future

Lesung
in deutscher Sprache
Moderation: Jochen Werner

Die „East Berlin Trilogy“ von Max Hertzberg beschreibt ein politisches Experiment: Wie hätte sich die DDR 1989 gewandelt, wenn die basisdemokratischen Ideale der Opposition verwirklicht worden wären? Der britische Autor schreibt Romane, die – ob in Richtung Utopie oder Dystopie – Möglichkeiten für gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen ausloten. Erstmals in deutscher Sprache in der Übersetzung von Herwig Engelmann liest Hertzberg Auszüge aus seinem Roman „Stealing the Future“ – einer Geschichtsfantasie, die die Verhältnisse auf den Kopf stellt.
__________

20:30 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 120 min
A Vocabulary of Revolutionary Gestures
Film
in deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln
Videoloop, 2014/18, Elske Rosenfeld

Zwei filmische Kapitel einer langjährigen Untersuchung zum Körper als Austragungsort und Archiv politischer Ereignisse: „Ein bisschen eine komplexe Situation“ (2-Kanal-Video, 15 min, 2014) bearbeitet eine Szene, in der das erste Treffen des Zentralen Runden Tischs der DDR von einer Demonstration vor dem Haus unterbrochen wird. „Versuche / Framed“ (1-Kanal-Video, 20 min, 2018) beobachtet den Versuch des Dokumentaristen des Runden Tischs, Klaus Freymuth, vor den Dezemberwahlen 1990 einen Wahlwerbespot zu drehen. Beide Videos befassen sich mit dem Überschuss, der sich an den Grenzen des politisch Möglichen und Sagbaren in den Körpern manifestiert.
__________

20:30 h, Seitenbühne
ca 60 min
Occupy History I
Gespräch
in deutscher Sprache
mit Bénédicte Savoy
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

„Occupy History“ ist der Versuch, sich nicht von „der“ Geschichte besetzen zu lassen, sondern selbst Geschichte zu erzählen. In den Gesprächen mit verschiedenen Gästen des Palastes wollen wir biografische und gesellschaftliche Ereignisse zusammendenken, so persönlich wie möglich. Unter anderem spricht die französische Kunsthistorikerin Bénédicte Savoy über „ihre DDR“ und der Romancier und Jurist Bernhard Schlink über die DDR nach der Öffnung der Mauer.
__________

21:30 h, Rangfoyer
ca. 60 min
Augusto Corrieri
Thoughts are born of places (or: one imago covers another)

Lecture Performance
in englischer Sprache
Uraufführung

Ist es möglich, ein Gebäude zu betreten, das in seiner materiellen Form gar nicht mehr existiert? Augusto Corrieri ist ein Spezialist im Exhumieren verschütteter Gebäude und Geschichten. In dieser spekulativen Lecture Performance erzählt der Künstler und Autor von Spuren und Überresten des Palastes der Republik. Dabei setzt er die Beschäftigung mit nicht-menschlichen Akteur*innen im Theater fort, die er mit der Vortragsreihe und dem Buch „In Place of a Show“ begonnen hat.
__________

22:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 120 min
Nach dem Protest
Der Runde Tisch, sein Verfassungsentwurf, deren Werdegang und Aktualität

Panel
in deutscher & englischer Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
mit Almuth Berger, Tatjana Böhm, Susan Buck-Morss, Bernd Gehrke, Max Hertzberg, Bernhard Schlink u.a.
Videobeitrag: Bini Adamzcak
Konzept & Moderation: Kerstin Meyer & Elske Rosenfeld

Nach der Entmachtung des SED-Regimes schuf der Zentrale Runde Tisch der DDR mit den Mitteln einer so radikalen wie pragmatischen Konsensdemokratie konkrete Entwürfe für eine Umgestaltung des Landes – u.a. in Form eines Verfassungsentwurfs und einer Sozialcharta. Mit der als Anschluss der DDR vollzogenen deutschen Einheit gingen diese Erfahrungen und Vorschläge verloren. Wir sprechen mit damals Beteiligten und Gästen über den Runden Tisch und seine ökologischen, sozialen und basisdemokratischen Vorschläge – und deren mögliche Aktualisierung.
__________

22:30 h, Oberes Foyer
ca. 60 min
Being Palace
Panel
in englischer Sprache
mit Sanja Horvatinčić, Gal Kirn, Ana Ofak u.a.
Moderation: Sebastian Kaiser

Der Palast der Republik ist nicht nur Wunschterritorium und Hassgebilde der ostdeutschen Architektur, sondern ein Bekenntnis zur globalen Nachkriegsmoderne. Synchron wird die Formensprache des Modernismus auch in anderen sozialistischen Ländern Europas aktualisiert. Vor allem in Jugoslawien entstehen Gebäude unter der Prämisse einer polyorientierten, pluralen und selbstreflektierten (Post-)Moderne. Diese betongewordene Selbstachtung der spaßhabenden Sozialisten widersteht bis heute den Baggern des Neoliberalismus. Was zeigt sich, wenn man diese Architekturen als andere, abstrakte und das Kollektiv abstrahierende Modelle des Sozialismus begeht? Wie dekonstruiert man einen Palast?
__________

22:30 h, Rangkino
ca. 50 min
Monument
Film
Kroatien/Bosnien und Herzegowina 2015,
Igor Grubić

Nach dem Bildersturm: Im Zuge der Jugoslawienkriege wurden durch die nationalistische Bewegung Kroatiens systematisch Tausende antifaschistischer Denkmale zerstört – eine Attacke gegen eine Gedenk- und Erinnerungskultur, für die bis heute niemand die Verantwortung übernimmt. Der Künstler Igor Grubić erforscht und inszeniert die Überreste der bis heute nicht restaurierten Mahnmale inmitten der Natur, die alle Spuren vergessener Geschichte überwuchern wird.
__________

23:30 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 76 min
Narbe Berlin
Film
Deutschland 2009,
Burkhard von Harder

Mit dem Helikopter entlang der unsichtbaren Berliner Mauer: an einem grauen Wintertag im Januar 2009 filmte der Künstler Burkhard von Harder einen spektakulären, ununterbrochenen Kameraflug über das, was von der einstmaligen deutsch-deutschen Grenze übrig geblieben ist. Die Mauer wurde geöffnet und abgetragen, was bleibt ist eine 156 Kilometer lange Narbe, die sich durch die Hauptstadt und ihr Umland zieht.
__________

23:30 h, Rangkino
ca. 76 min
Palace for the People
Film
OV mit englischen Untertiteln
Bulgarien / Deutschland / Rumänien 2018
Boris Missirkov & Georgi Bogdanov

Der Nationale Kulturpalast in Sofia, die Staatliche Universität Moskau, der Parlamentspalast in Bukarest, der Palast Serbiens in Belgrad und der Palast der Republik in Berlin – fünf Bauwerke, die von einer Ära künden, die ihre Paläste nicht für einige Auserwählte erbauen, sondern der ganzen Bevölkerung widmen wollte. Der bildgewaltige Dokumentarfilm porträtiert ihre monumentale Architektur als Zeugnisse eines untergegangenen Systems – und als Lücke im Herzen deutsch-deutscher Geschichtsschreibung.
__________

00:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 60 min
Pan Daijing
Fist Piece

Konzert
Konzept, Komposition & Regie: Pan Daijing
Performer*innen: Gregori Homa & Pan Daijing
Film: Ekaterina Reinbold, Junying & Pan Daijing

Klang, Choreografie, Installation und Erzählkunst: In den Kompositions- und Performancearbeiten der Künstlerin und Musikerin Pan Daijing nimmt ihr radikaler Ansatz vielzählige Formen an. Schonungslos offenherzige Äußerungen und klanglich-ästhetische Ausbrüche sind wichtige Mittel ihrer Praxis. Ihre Arbeit verbindet Gesten der Macht und der Verletzlichkeit und pendelt oft entlang konzeptionell paradoxer Zustände und räumlicher Interaktionen.
__________

01:00 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Technosekte + Henrike Naumann
BRONXX

Performance
Konzept: Technosekte + Henrike Naumann
Percussion: Hendrik Frese, Bastian Hagedorn
Vocals & Electronics: Ruth Maria Adam

Eine „Stasi-Geisteraustreibung“ und gleichzeitig eine Erinnerung an die flüchtigen Praxen des DDR-Undergrounds, die sich Überwachung, Dokumentation und Festschreibungen entziehen. Die als ortsspezifische Intervention in Haus 22 auf dem Stasigelände entwickelte Performance beschäftigt sich mit der Verbindung von DDR-Underground und IM-Tätigkeit. Die Dissonanzen und Brüche dieser komplizierten Beziehung führen an die Grenzen von Sprache und verlangen nach anderen Formen der Aufarbeitung und Erinnerung. „BRONXX“ erprobt ein Kommunikationssystem, das Rhythmus als Sonartechnik einsetzt, um tiefere Schichten der Geschichte zu orten.
__________

Installationen
An allen drei Tagen sind Installationen von Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper und Felix Grütsch zu sehen. Mehr Informationen

Palast der Republik

Mehr Programm

Tag 2: 09.03.2019
Tag 3: 10.03.2019