Sturzlage (Installation)

Sturzlage (installation). A project by Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper

© Emanuel Florakis

Art, discourse & parliament

Palast der Republik

Day 2: 1989/2019 - Come Together

with Matthias Baerens, Boris Buden, Aris Chatzistefanou, Gesine Danckwart, Naika Foroutan, Anastasia Frantzeskaki, Bernd Gehrke, Alexander Giesche, Andrej Holm, Srećko Horvat, Anetta Kahane, Gal Kirn, Inge Kloepfer, Thomas Krüger, Bojana Kunst, Antonia Majaca, Irene Misselwitz, The Performance Bar, Vijay Prashad, Jörg Roesler, Christoph Rüter, Andreas Siekmann, Jan Sowa, Gabriele Stötzer, Margarita Tsomou (HAU – Hebbel am Ufer), Jeremy Wade, Samia Zennadi, Anna Zett

in the evening:
CHEAP

On Saturday, contemporary political conflicts that are connected to the events of the German reunification years will be investigated in “parliamentary committees”. On the other hand, there will be a “para-parliament” which opens a space for other forms of political practices, far beyond the big stage of representational politics.

More programme:
Palast der Republik – Day 1: 08.03.2019
Palast der Republik – Day 3: 10.03.2019

Day 1 to 3: Installations by Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper and Felix Grütsch

Parliamentary Committees

Some of the most notorious contemporary political conflicts are connected to the events of the German reunification years. The Treuhandanstalt, the agency in charge of privatising public property, today serves as a model for austerity policies in Greece and other Southern European countries. In some respects, the social role allotted to the East German population with respect to the West German mainstream society can be compared with the role of migrants today. The dissolution of geopolitical blocs rang in the end of the “Third Way” between state socialism and neoliberal market society, as it was pursued in Yugoslavia, for example. In “parliamentary committees” that bring together experts, artists and witnesses of the period, we will attempt to trace the idea of this trans-ethnic federation as well as a special coalition of states on a global level – the non-aligned-movement (NAM). They will also ask what we can learn from these complexes for a future policy, which will be outlined during the parliamentary assembly on Sunday.

12:00 h Schwarzbuch I: Treuhand
15:00 h Schwarzbuch II: Europäische Austeritätspolitik
17:30 h Wessen Marginalisierung?
17:30 h Dritte Wege Europa: Jugoslawien
19:00 h Dritte Wege International: Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten
__________

Para-Parliament

The Side Stage of the Festspielhaus will be the venue for a parliament of non-parliamentarians – a para-parliament. Far from the big stage of representational politics, it will open a space for other forms of political practice, subverting the usual dichotomies: They will look for the political within the private, for the large within the small, the public within the clandestine. In three staged panels, artist Anna Zett, dramaturg and philosopher Bojana Kunst and dancer and performance artist Jeremy Wade will be joined in conversation by contemporary witnesses and experts, some of whom were part of the GDR’s oppositional subcultures. Together, they will give artistic manifestation to those political courses of action that public debate tends to bypass too quickly: waste and disposal, art and non-work as well as queer forms of care will become exemplary for the entanglements of East and West, socialism and capitalism, yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

14:00 h Entsorgung: Utopie & Deponie
15:30 h Kunst und (Nicht-)Arbeit
17:00 h Human Resources: Reunification
__________

12:00 h, 13:45 h, 15:00 h, 17:15 h & 18:45 h, Hauptbühne
each ca. 15 min
Alexander Giesche
Mobiles: World of Reason ’19

Interventions & video installation
by and with Ludwig Abraham, Nadia Fistarol, Nadine Geyersbach, Alexander Giesche, Felix Lübkemann, Regula Schröter, Andy Zondag
with thanks to Theater Bremen

An environment for a poetic future parliament: in four moving images Alexander Giesche brings the components of the stage space into a complex interplay of relationships in which new balances are continually arising and which reacts sensitively to shifts of atmosphere, perpetuating and amplifying these – like a mobile that translates what is said into audiovisual spatial poetry.
__________

12:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 120 min
Schwarzbuch I: Treuhand
Privatisierung und Protest in Ostdeutschland: die Beispiele Betriebe und Wohnen

Panel
in German with simultaneous translation
with Bernd Gehrke, Andrej Holm, Inge Kloepfer, Jörg Roesler a.o.
Concept & moderation: Sebastian Kaiser & Elske Rosenfeld

Without parliamentary oversight, the Treuhand Agency sold off over 8,000 of the GDR’s previously state-owned companies – almost exclusively to West German and foreign buyers. The result was mass unemployment, emigration, and regions that are dependent to this day on transfer payments. The Treuhand countered the radical self-enfranchisement of GDR citizens in the autumn of 1989 with the neoliberal mantra of “no alternatives”, forsaking politics for economic determinism. We talk about the Treuhand as a liberalization machine, but also about the wave of protests against it that have been largely forgotten.
__________

12:00 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 60 min
Occupy history II
Talk
in German
with Gabriele Stötzer
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

“Occupy History” is the attempt to not be occupied by “the” historical narrative, but to tell our own histories. In a series of conversations with a wide range of guests at the Palast, we would like to consider biographical and social events as connected and as personal as possible.
__________

12:00 h, Rangkino
ca. 27/60 min
Cycling the Frame / The Invisible Frame
Film
in English with German subtitles
Germany 1988/2009, Cynthia Beatt

In 1988 the actor Tilda Swinton undertook a 160 kilometre long cycle ride around the western side of the Berlin Wall for the artist Cynthia Beatt. The resulting film essay “Cycling the Frame” was then reprised by Beatt and Swinton 21 years later. The wall is now invisible and the border with the East has become porous – but has it really disappeared? An eccentric and poetic double feature that both documents contemporary history and also serves as an intimate introspection on external and internal borders.
__________

13:00 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 100 min
Die Zeit ist aus den Fugen
Film
in German with English subtitles
Deutschland 1991, Christoph Rüter
in the presence of the director

Heiner Müller’s seven-and-a-half hour “Hamlet / Maschine” at the Deutsches Theater in East Berlin was the last great theatre event of the GDR. Filmmaker Christoph Rüter documented the rehearsals that started in August 1989 until time literally gets out of joint and penetrates the theatre space with the revolution on the street. The artists lead political discussions, police sirens and helicopters become the background noise of the performance.
__________

13:30 h, Rangkino
ca. 83 min
Duvarlar – Mauern – Walls
Film
OV with German subtitles
USA 2000, Can Candan

When looking back, the disturbances in Hoyerswerda make 1991 appear to be the year when it was no longer possible to turn a blind eye to racist violence in re-unified Germany. Turkish migration to Germany had begun thirty years before. The American film maker Can Candan came to Berlin in 1991 to talk to Turks who had immigrated about their past, present and future in Germany and the consequences of the opening of the wall and reunification for the migrant community.
__________

14:00 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Entsorgung: Utopie & Deponie
Panel
in German
with Matthias Baerens, Anetta Kahane & Irene Misselwitz
Concept & moderation: Anna Zett

“Disposal” is devoted to the detritus of GDR history, the symbolism of disposal, landfill and segregation. In exchange for hard currency, the GDR accepted hazardous waste from the West in order to dump it carelessly on its own territory. After German unification, the GDR state itself had to be disposed of. With the help of video and conversation, the panel examines processes of disposal in the environment, politics and the psyche and asks what is impossible to get rid of against the background of remediated landfills..
__________

15:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 150 min
Schwarzbuch II: Europäische Austeritätspolitik
Panel
in English with simultaneous translation
with Aris Chatzistefanou, Anastasia Frantzeskaki, Andreas Siekmann, Jan Sowa
Concept & moderation: Margarita Tsomou (HAU – Hebbel am Ufer)

When Greece found itself confronted with the EU Troïka’s austerity policies in 2009, the country’s citizens did something that may have seemed surprising: They studied the role played by the German Treuhandanstalt in the process of privatising the former GDR’s state property twenty years previously. Because this chapter of German-German history gave them an idea of what to expect within a European framework in the course of an allegedly apolitical strategy of crisis management.
__________

15:30 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Kunst und (Nicht-)Arbeit
Lecture & Talk
in German
with Bojana Kunst & Gabriele Stötzer

The GDR political system was built on the principle of work. Refusing to work, laziness and unproductive expenditure were therefore explosive political topics. At the same time non-work was a key issue and resource in the informal arts scene, whose artistic endeavor focussed on the moment of production and not on the public display of its art. These contradictions in the relationship between art and (non-)work and its afterlife in the Western-influenced art market of the time after the wall came down is investigated by Bojana Kunst both in a lecture and in conversation with Gabriele Stötzer.
__________

16:00 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 50 min
Goldrausch
Film
In German
Germany 2005/2019, Gesine Danckwart & Sven Düfer
in the presence of Gesine Danckwart

Politicians, artists, stage designers and musicians – all of them strongly marked by the reunification era. Dressers who worked at the Palast and couples who got married there. The stage manager who remembers the ghostlike atmosphere of the final festivities at the Palast der Republik. In the wings of the empty ruin, Gesine Danckwart and Sven Düfer interviewed witnesses of this process in 2005. Their film “Goldstaub” is less of a historical document than an artistic essay. Shortly before the building was demolished, the film was screened in an installation as part of the artistic interim use “Volkspalast”. Now it can be seen at our “Palast der Republik”.
__________

17:00 h, Universität der Künste, Probensaal
ca. 60 min
Human Resources: Reunification
Performance
in German and English by & with Yoav Admoni, Olympia Bukkakis, Maika Knoblich, Matthias Vernaldi, Wanda Vrasti, Jeremy Wade, Allison Wiltshire
Director & concept: Jeremy Wade
Dramaturgy: Julian Meding
Artistic advisor: Allison Wiltshire
Production support: Yoav Admoni, björn & björn

The Peaceful Revolution was a party. With the reunification the hangover started. In the self-governing ritual of an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting, where the 12 steps of recovery are the ultimate capitalist promise for autonomy, individuality and liberty, the Battlefield Nurse, Jeremy Wade’s 5000-year-old drag alter ego conjures the ghosts of utopian ecstasies past, present and future. A star studded cast of local queers will play the roles of addicts sharing their experience, strength and hope in the day to day struggle with the complicated now..
__________

17:00 h, Rangkino
ca. 285 min
Combat au bout de la nuit
Film
OV with English subtitles
Canada 2016, Sylvain L’Espérance

Fighting through the night: Filmed over a period of two years, this monumental documentary by Canadian filmmaker Sylvain L’Espérance plunges us into the still contentious heart of the economic crisis and austerity policies of beleaguered Greece. It does not dwell on a factual analysis of the causes of economic collapse, but gives a voice to all those who declare their solidarity amid the chaos and fear of what is to come by protesting together and building hope for a better future.
__________

17:00 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Augusto Corrieri
Thoughts are born of places (or: one imago covers another)

Lecture performance
in English

Is it possible to encounter a building that no longer exists in material form? Augusto Corrieri is a specialist in the exhumation of buried buildings and stories. In this speculative lecture performance, the artist and author tells of the traces and relics of the Palast der Republik. Doing so he continues his research on the performance of non-human actors in the theatre, which he began in his lecture series and book “In Place of a Show”.
__________

17:30 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 90 min
Wessen Marginalisierung?
Panel
in German
with Naika Foroutan, Thomas Krüger & Thomas Oberender

East Germans and migrants often feel like second class citizens. The former have used this observation to demand recognition of their experiences of marginalisation – in most cases only to be accused of being thankless and complaining. Right wing populists have managed to score points by denouncing an alleged denigration of “proper (East) Germans” vis à vis recent migrants. What could it mean, on the other hand, to formulate this comparison instead as a call for radical solidarity?
__________

17:30 h, Vorbühne
ca. 90 min
Dritte Wege Europa: Jugoslawien
Panel
in English with simultaneous translation
with Srećko Horvat, Gal Kirn, Antonia Majaca a.o.
Moderation: Boris Buden

After the end of the Second World War something was created outside the twin blocks of the USA and Soviet Union that would laterserve as a kind of model for the EU: a country that unites different ethnicities, languages and religions. The principle of a federation and a third way contains a utopian core that remains relevant today. Why did Yugoslavia fail? And what can we learn from this against the background of the crisis in the EU?
__________

17:30 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 94 min
Goldrausch – Die Geschichte der Treuhand
Film
in German
Germany 2012, zero one film

What happens when a globalised market economy crashes into a socialist country at full speed? What happens to this country’s people, its values? What do people in charge of liquidating millions of jobs feel like? The biggest upheaval of economic policy in post-war Germany has left its traces in the minds of the population. The documentary film “Goldrausch – Die Geschichte der Treuhand” lets the former executives of the privatisation agency Treuhand have their say as well as civil rights activists who developed alternative concepts of privatisation – ultimately, as it turned out, in vain.
__________

19:00 h, Vorbühne
ca. 90 min
Dritte Wege International: Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten
Panel
in English with simultaneous translation
with Vijay Prashad, Samia Zennadi a.o.
Moderation: Boris Buden

What do Marshal Tito, the Indonesian billionaire Sukarno, the heads of state of Ghana and Egypt plus the Chinese and Indian Presidents have in common? Together they founded one of the most important global utopian projects of the 20th century: the Non-Aligned Movement. This association was strongly anticolonial and anti-imperialist. And it attempted the impossible: to be something other than capitalism and Stalinist socialism. A utopia containing many aspects of solidarity, that now appear more topical than ever on the political agenda.
__________

19:45, Bornemann Bar
ca. 30 min
Occupy History III
Talk
in German
with Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

“Occupy History” is the attempt to not be occupied by “the” historical narrative, but to tell our own histories. In a series of conversations with a wide range of guests at the Palast, we would like to consider biographical and social events as connected and as personal as possible. Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper, Professor of Monument Preservation at the TU Berlin, talks to Thomas Oberender about the installation “Sturzlage” and the round tables of the GDR.
__________

20:15, Bornemann Bar
ca. 60 min
Occupy History IV
Talk
in German
with Bernhard Schlink
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

“Occupy History” is the attempt to not be occupied by “the” historical narrative, but to tell our own histories. In a series of conversations with a wide range of guests at the Palast, we would like to consider biographical and social events as connected and as personal as possible. Novelist and jurist Bernhard Schlink will describe the GDR after the opening of the Berlin Wall.
__________

22:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 120 min
CHEAP
1+1 UNGLEICH 1+1. Ein ausgeleiertes Konzert

Performance

-------------- CHEAP ----------- 1+1 UNGLEICH 1+1 --------------- -------- EIN AUSGELEIERTES KONZERT --- MARTIN SIEMANN ------------ --- VAGINAL DAVIS --- PAMELA SCHLEWINSKI ---- MARC SIEGEL --------- RICHARD GABRIEL -------- JOHN BLUE ----------- MAURICE DE MARTIN --- ------- POLA SIEVERDING -------------- SUSANN-MARIA HEMPEL ------- ----- SUSANNE SACHSSE ------ ŞENOL ŞENTÜRK -------- GÄSTE ----- AKIRA KNIGHTLY ----- RUTH SCHÖNEGGE ------- MAXIMILIAN BRAUER ------- RUTH FISCHER -------------- JA JA DER HELLE BÜRGER SAGT PRIMA WAS REINIGT SO DUFTE DAS KLIMA -------- CHARISMATISCHE SCHURKEN UND FEURIGE UNHOLDE ----- MEIN BETT WACKELT ICH KANN NICHT SCHLAFEN - ------------------
__________

23:00 h, Bornemann Bar
Open End
The Performance Bar
Performance
with: Tizo All, Dillon Baiocchi, Iris Bergman, Florian Borstlap, Margo van de Linde, Daniel van den Broeke, Imke Zeinstra a.o.

The Dutch collective Performance Bar consists of international and multidisciplinary artists who present their shows on a 2x2m stage: a bar. No presentation lasts longer than the time it takes to drink a beer, which is just what the audience is asked to do. The boundaries between café and theatre, bar and stage, artist and audience, and not least between “high culture” and entertainment, are blurred. The show is reminiscent of the varied uses of the historical Palast der Republik and mixes them up into a perfect cocktail to end Saturday night with.
__________

00:00 h, Rangkino
ca. 88 min
Berlin Babylon
Film
in German
Germany 2001, Hubertus Siegert

Obviously there is a lot of fear of openness in Berlin, a horror vacui: Potsdamer Platz in the 1990s was a space of potential, where in architectural terms everything seemed possible – a place that might be able to define what the muchvaunted “new mid-point” of reunified Germany should be. In spectacular footage reinforced with a soundtrack by Einstürzende Neubauten, this long-term documentary shows the contrasts of a city undergoing reconstruction, between a fear of emptiness and a construction frenzy.

Palast der Republik

More programme

Day 1: 08.03.2019
Day 3: 10.03.2019

Sturzlage (Installation)

Sturzlage (Installation). Ein Projekt von Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper

© Emanuel Florakis

Kunst, Diskurs & Parlament

Palast der Republik

Tag 2: 1989/2019 – Come Together

mit Matthias Baerens, Boris Buden, Aris Chatzistefanou, Gesine Danckwart, Naika Foroutan, Anastasia Frantzeskaki, Bernd Gehrke, Alexander Giesche, Andrej Holm, Srećko Horvat, Anetta Kahane, Gal Kirn, Inge Kloepfer, Thomas Krüger, Bojana Kunst, Antonia Majaca, Irene Misselwitz, The Performance Bar, Vijay Prashad, Jörg Roesler, Christoph Rüter, Andreas Siekmann, Jan Sowa, Gabriele Stötzer, Margarita Tsomou (HAU – Hebbel am Ufer), Jeremy Wade, Samia Zennadi, Anna Zett

abends:
CHEAP

In „parlamentarischen Ausschüssen“ wird am Samstag heutigen politischen Konflikten nachgegangen, die in Verbindung zu den Ereignissen der Wendejahre stehen. Dem gegenüber wird ein Paraparlament gestellt, das jenseits der großen Bühne repräsentationaler Politik einen Raum für andere Formen der politischen Praxis öffnet.

Mehr Programm:
Palast der Republik – Tag 1: 08.03.2019
Palast der Republik – Tag 3: 10.03.2019

Tag 1 bis 3: Installationen von Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper und Felix Grütsch

Parlamentarische Ausschüsse

Einige der notorischsten politischen Konflikte der Gegenwart stehen in Verbindung mit den Ereignissen der Wendejahre. So bildet die Treuhandanstalt das Modell für die Austeritätspolitik gegenüber Griechenland und anderen Ländern des europäischen Südens. Die Erfahrung der ostdeutschen Bevölkerung gegenüber der westdeutschen Mehrheitsgesellschaft kann in mancher Hinsicht mit der Rolle von Migrant*innen heute verglichen werden. Die Auflösung der geopolitischen Blöcke leitete das Ende jenes „Dritten Weges“ zwischen Staatssozialismus und neoliberaler Marktwirtschaft ein, wie er etwa in Jugoslawien verfolgt wurde. Der Idee dieser transethnischen Föderation, aber ebenso einem besonderen Staatenzusammenschluss auf globaler Ebene – der Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten (Non-Aligned Movement, NAM) – soll in „parlamentarischen Ausschüssen“ nachgegangen werden, die Expert*innen, Künstler*innen und Zeitzeug*innen zusammenführen.Sie dienen auch der Frage, was wir aus diesen Komplexen für eine kommende Politik lernen können, wie sie in der parlamentarischen Versammlung am Sonntag umrissen werden soll.

12:00 h Schwarzbuch I: Treuhand
15:00 h Schwarzbuch II: Europäische Austeritätspolitik
17:30 h Wessen Marginalisierung?
17:30 h Dritte Wege Europa: Jugoslawien
19:00 h Dritte Wege International: Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten
__________

Paraparlament

Auf der Seitenbühne des Festspielhauses wird ein Parlament für Außerparlamentarisches entstehen, ein Paraparlament. Jenseits der großen Bühne repräsentationaler Politik öffnet sich dort ein Raum für andere Formen der politischen Praxis, die gängige Dichotomien unterlaufen: Sie suchen das Politische im Privaten, das Große im Kleinen, das Öffentliche im Klandestinen. In drei gestalteten Panels verleihen die Künstlerin Anna Zett, die Dramaturgin und Philosophin Bojana Kunst und der Tänzer und Performance-Künstler Jeremy Wade – jeweils im Gespräch mit Zeitzeug*innen und Expert*innen, u.a. aus den oppositionellen Subkulturen der DDR – jenen politischen Handlungsweisen eine künstlerische Form, die der öffentliche Diskurs zu schnell übergeht: Müll und Entsorgung, Kunst und Nicht-Arbeit sowie queere Formen der Fürsorge werden zu Beispielen und Metaphern für die Verwicklungen von Ost und West, Sozialismus und Kapitalismus, gestern, heute und morgen.

14:00 h Entsorgung: Utopie & Deponie
15:30 h Kunst und (Nicht-)Arbeit
17:00 h Human Resources: Reunification
__________

12:00 h, 13:45 h, 15:00 h, 17:15 h & 18:45 h, Hauptbühne
jeweils ca. 15 min
Alexander Giesche
Mobiles: World of Reason ’19

Interventionen & Videoinstallation
von und mit Ludwig Abraham, Nadia Fistarol, Nadine Geyersbach, Alexander Giesche, Felix Lübkemann, Regula Schröter, Andy Zondag
mit herzlichem Dank an das Theater Bremen

Ein Environment für ein poetisches Zukunftsparlament: In vier bewegten Bildern bringt Alexander Giesche die Bestandteile des Bühnenraumes in ein komplexes Spiel der Beziehungen, in dem sich fortwährend neue Balancen ergeben und das sensibel auf atmosphärische Schwingungen reagiert, diese fortsetzt und vergrößert – wie ein Mobile, in dem Gesagtes in audio-visuelle, räumliche Poesie übersetzt wird.
__________

12:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 150 min
Schwarzbuch I: Treuhand
Privatisierung und Protest in Ostdeutschland: die Beispiele Betriebe und Wohnen

Panel
in deutscher Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
mit Bernd Gehrke, Andrej Holm, Inge Kloepfer, Jörg Roesler
Konzept & Moderation: Sebastian Kaiser & Elske Rosenfeld

Die Treuhandanstalt veräußerte ohne parlamentarische Kontrolle über 8000 DDR-Betriebe an fast ausschließlich west-deutsche und internationale Käufer. Die Folge: Massenarbeitslosigkeit, Abwanderung, bis heute von Transferzahlungen abhängige Regionen. Gegen die Selbstermächtigung der DDR-Bürger*innen im Herbst 1989 setzte die Treuhandpolitik das Credo des Sachzwangs, das Einknicken der Politik vor der Wirtschaft. Wir sprechen über die Treuhand als Liberalisierungsagentur, aber auch über die Welle heute weitgehend vergessener gegen sie gerichteter Proteste.
__________

12:00 h, Bornemann Bar
ca 60 min
Occupy History II
Gespräch
in deutscher Sprache
mit Gabriele Stötzer
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

„Occupy History“ ist der Versuch, sich nicht von „der“ Geschichte besetzen zu lassen, sondern selbst Geschichte zu erzählen. In den Gesprächen mit verschiedenen Gästen des Palastes wollen wir biografische und gesellschaftliche Ereignisse zusammendenken, so persönlich wie möglich.
__________

12:00 h, Rangkino
ca. 27/60 min
Cycling the Frame / The Invisible Frame
Film
in englischer Sprache mit deutschen Untertiteln
Deutschland 1988/2009, Cynthia Beatt

Im Jahr 1988 unternahm die Schauspielerin Tilda Swinton für die Künstlerin Cynthia Beatt eine 160 Kilometer lange Fahrradtour entlang der Westseite der Berliner Mauer. Den daraus entstandenen Essayfilm „Cycling the Frame“ setzten Beatt und Swinton 21 Jahre später fort. Die Mauer ist nun unsichtbar, die Grenze gen Osten durchlässig geworden, aber ist sie wirklich verschwunden? Ein eigenwillig-poetisches Double Feature, das als zeithistorisches Dokument wie als intime Introspektion über äußere und innere Grenzen funktioniert.
__________

13:00 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 100 min
Die Zeit ist aus den Fugen
Film
in deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln
Deutschland 1991, Christoph Rüter
in Anwesenheit des Filmemachers

Heiner Müllers siebeneinhalbstündige „Hamlet / Maschine“ am Deutschen Theater in Ost-Berlin war das letzte große Theaterereignis der DDR. Der Filmemacher Christoph Rüter dokumentierte die im August 1989 aufgenommenen Proben, bis dann die Zeit buchstäblich aus den Fugen gerät und mit der Revolution auf der Straße in den Theaterraum eindringt. Die Künstler führen politische Diskussionen, Polizeisirenen und Hubschrauber werden zum Hintergrundgeräusch der Aufführung.
__________

13:30 h, Rangkino
ca. 83 min
Duvarlar – Mauern – Walls
Film
OV mit deutschen Untertiteln
USA 2000, Can Candan

Die Ausschreitungen in Hoyerswerda lassen 1991 im Rückblick als das Jahr erscheinen, in dem man vor der rassistischen Gewalt im wiedervereinigten Deutschland nicht mehr die Augen verschließen konnte. Dreißig Jahre zuvor begann die türkische Arbeitsmigration nach Deutschland. Der amerikanische Filmemacher Can Candan kam 1991 nach Berlin, um mit immigrierten Türken über ihre Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft in Deutschland und die Folgen von Maueröffnung und Wiedervereinigung für die migrantische Community zu sprechen.
__________

14:00 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Entsorgung: Utopie & Deponie
Panel
in deutscher Sprache
mit Matthias Baerens, Anetta Kahane & Irene Misselwitz
Konzept & Moderation: Anna Zett

„Entsorgung“ widmet sich dem Müll der DDR-Geschichte, der Symbolik der Grenzziehung, Absonderung, Deponierung. Gegen Devisen nahm die DDR Sondermüll aus dem Westen entgegen, um ihn sorglos auf dem eigenen Territorium abzukippen. Nach der deutschen Vereinigung musste der DDR-Staat dann selbst entsorgt werden. Mithilfe von Video und Gespräch untersucht das künstlerisch-diskursive Panel Prozesse der Entsorgung in Umwelt, Politik und Psyche und fragt vor dem Hintergrund sanierter Müllhalden nach dem, was (unmöglich) loszuwerden ist.
__________

15:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 150 min
Schwarzbuch II: Europäische Austeritätspolitik
Panel
in englischer Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
mit Aris Chatzistefanou, Anastasia Frantzeskaki, Andreas Siekmann, Jan Sowa
Konzept & Moderation: Margarita Tsomou (HAU – Hebbel am Ufer)

Als Griechenland 2009 mit der neoliberalen Austeritätspolitik der EU-Troika konfrontiert wurde, taten die Bürger*innen etwas auf den ersten Blick Überraschendes: Sie studierten die Rolle der Treuhandanstalt in der Privatisierung des DDR-Staatseigentums zwanzig Jahre zuvor. Denn aus dieser deutsch-deutschen Geschichte konnten sie ablesen, was nun im europäischen Rahmen und im Zuge eines vorgeblich apolitischen Krisenmanagements auf sie zukommen würde. Nach dem Vorbild der Treuhand wurde ein Fonds geschaffen, in den öffentliches Eigentum überführt und privaten Anlegern angeboten wird. Die Risiken und Kosten werden dagegen vergesellschaftet. Diesen Mechanismen geht Margarita Tsomou im Gespräch mit Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen nach.
__________

15:30 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Kunst und (Nicht-)Arbeit
Lecture & Talk
in deutscher Sprache
mit Bojana Kunst & Gabriele Stötzer

Das politische System der DDR war auf dem Prinzip der Arbeit aufgebaut. Arbeitsverweigerung, Faulheit, unproduktive Verausgabung hatten daher höchste politische Sprengkraft. Zugleich bildete Nicht-Arbeit ein zentrales Thema und Mittel der informellen Kunstszenen, deren künstlerische Arbeit sich auf das Moment der Produktion und nicht auf das öffentliche Zeigen ihrer Kunst fokussierte. Diesen Widersprüchen im Verhältnis von Kunst und (Nicht-) Arbeit sowie ihrem Nachleben im westlich geprägten Kunstmarkt der Nachwendezeit geht Bojana Kunst in einem Vortrag sowie im Gespräch mit Gabriele Stötzer nach.
__________

16:00 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 50 min
Goldstaub
Film
In deutscher Sprache
Deutschland 2005/2019, Gesine Danckwart & Sven Düfer
in Anwesenheit von Gesine Danckwart

Politiker*innen, Künstler*innen, Bühnenbildner*innen und Musiker*innen, alle stark von der Wende gezeichnet. Palast-Garderobieren und Paare, die dort geheiratet haben. Die Inspizientin, die sich an die gespenstische Atmosphäre der letzten Festivitäten im Palast der Republik erinnert. In der Kulisse der leeren Ruine führten Gesine Danckwart und Sven Düfer 2005 Interviews mit Zeitzeug* innen. Ihr Film „Goldstaub“ ist weniger historische Arbeit als künstlerischer Versuch und war kurz vor dem Abriss des Palastes als Filminstallation Teil der kulturellen Zwischennutzung „Volkspalast“. Jetzt ist er wieder bei uns zu sehen.
__________

17:00 h, Universität der Künste, Probensaal
ca. 60 min
Human Resources: Reunification
Performance
in deutscher und englischer Sprachevon & mit Yoav Admoni, Olympia Bukkakis, Maika Knoblich, Matthias Vernaldi, Wanda Vrasti, Jeremy Wade, Allison Wiltshire
Regie & Konzept: Jeremy Wade
Dramaturgie: Julian Meding
Künstlerische Beratung: Allison Wiltshire
Produktionsunterstützung: Yoav Admoni, björn & björn

Die Friedliche Revolution war eine Party. Mit der Wiedervereinigung setzte der Kater ein. Im selbstverwalteten Ritual eines Treffens der Anonymen Alkoholiker, bei dem die 12 Schritte der Genesung das ultimative kapitalistische Versprechen auf Autonomie, Individualität und Freiheit bilden, beschwört die Battlefield Nurse, Jeremy Wades 5000 Jahre altes Drag-Alter-Ego, die Geister utopischer Ekstasen der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Ein Star-Cast von lokalen queer-Performer*innen wird die Rolle von Süchtigen einnehmen, die ihre Erfahrung, Kraft und Hoffnung im täglichen Kampf mit dem komplizierten Jetzt teilen.
__________

17:00 h, Rangkino
ca. 285 min
Combat au bout de la nuit
Film
OV mit englischen Untertiteln
Kanada 2016, Sylvain L’Espérance

Ein Kampf am Ende der Nacht: Entstanden über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren, führt der monumentale Dokumentarfilm des kanadischen Regisseurs Sylvain L’Espérance ins noch immer kämpferische Herz des von Wirtschaftskrise und Austeritätspolitik gebeutelten Griechenland. Dabei macht er nicht bei der faktenreichen Analyse der Ursachen des wirtschaftlichen Zusammenbruchs halt, sondern gibt auch all jenen eine Stimme, die sich inmitten von Chaos und Zukunftsangst solidarisieren, um gemeinsam zu protestieren und konkrete Strategien für eine bessere Zukunft zu entwickeln.
__________

17:00 h, Seitenbühne
ca. 60 min
Augusto Corrieri
Thoughts are born of places (or: one imago covers another)

Lecture Performance
in englischer Sprache

Ist es möglich, ein Gebäude zu betreten, das in seiner materiellen Form gar nicht mehr existiert? Augusto Corrieri ist ein Spezialist im Exhumieren verschütteter Gebäude und Geschichten. In dieser spekulativen Lecture Performance erzählt der Künstler und Autor von Spuren und Überresten des Palastes der Republik. Dabei setzt er die Beschäftigung mit nicht-menschlichen Akteur*innen im Theater fort, die er mit der Vortragsreihe und dem Buch „In Place of a Show“ begonnen.
__________

17:30 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 90 min
Wessen Marginalisierung?
Panel
in deutscher Sprache
mit Naika Foroutan, Thomas Krüger & Thomas Oberender

Ostdeutsche und Migrant*innen erleben sich oft als Bürger*innen zweiter Klasse. Erstere haben mit dieser Beobachtung eine Anerkennung ihrer Marginalisierungserfahrungen eingefordert – meist nur, um sich erneut den Vorwurf des Jammerns einzuhandeln. Rechtspopulist*innen konnten später punkten, indem sie eine damit vermeintlich verbundene Herabsetzung der „richtigen (Ost-)Deutschen“ anprangern. Was könnte es hingegen heißen, den Vergleich als Aufruf zu einer radikalen Solidarisierung zu formulieren?
__________

17:30 h, Vorbühne
ca. 90 min
Dritte Wege Europa: Jugoslawien
Panel
in englischer Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
mit Srećko Horvat, Gal Kirn, Antonia Majaca u.a.
Moderation: Boris Buden

Nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs entsteht jenseits der beiden Blöcke USA und Sowjetunion etwas, das auch für die spätere EU eine Art Modellcharakter besitzt. Ein Land, das mehrere Ethnien, Sprachen und auch Religionen vereinigt. Der Ansatz von Föderation und Drittem Weg hat heute einen gegenwartsrelevanten utopischen Kern. Warum ist Jugoslawien gescheitert? Und was können wir vor dem Hintergrund der EU-Krise daraus lernen?
__________

17:30 h, Bornemann Bar
ca. 94 min
Goldrausch – Die Geschichte der Treuhand
Film
in deutscher Sprache
Deutschland 2012, zero one film

Was passiert, wenn die globalisierte Marktwirtschaft ungebremst auf ein sozialistisches Land trifft? Was wird aus den Menschen, den Werten eines solchen Landes? Was empfinden die Abwickler von Millionen von Arbeitsplätzen? Das größte wirtschaftspolitische Ereignis in Nachkriegsdeutschland hat in den Köpfen der Menschen Spuren hinterlassen. Der Dokumentarfilm „Goldrausch – Die Geschichte der Treuhand“ lässt das ehemalige Führungspersonal der Treuhandagentur ebenso zu Wort kommen wie Bürgerrechtler*innen, die – letztlich vergeblich – alternative Privatisierungskonzepte entwickelten.
__________

19:00 h, Vorbühne
ca. 90 min
Dritte Wege International: Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten
Panel
in englischer Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
mit Vijay Prashad, Samia Zennadi u.a.
Moderation: Boris Buden

Was verbindet Marschall Tito, den indonesischen Milliardär Sukarno, die führenden Köpfe in Ghana und Ägypten sowie die Präsidenten Chinas und Indiens miteinander? Gemeinsam gründeten sie eines der wichtigsten utopischen globalen Projekte des 20. Jahrhunderts: die Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten. Diese Assoziation ist streng antikolonialistisch und antiimperialistisch. Und sie versucht das Unmögliche: das Andere zwischen Kapitalismus und stalinistischem Sozialismus. Eine Utopie, die viele Ansätze der Solidarität enthält, die heute aktueller denn je auf der politischen Agenda stehen.
__________

19:45 h, Bornemann Bar
ca 30 min
Occupy History III
Gespräch
in deutscher Sprache
mit Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

„Occupy History“ ist der Versuch, sich nicht von „der“ Geschichte besetzen zu lassen, sondern selbst Geschichte zu erzählen. In den Gesprächen mit verschiedenen Gästen des Palastes wollen wir biografische und gesellschaftliche Ereignisse zusammendenken, so persönlich wie möglich. Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper, Professorin für Denkmalpflege an der TU Berlin, spricht mit Thomas Oberender über die im „Palast der Republik“ präsentierte Installation „Sturzlage“ und die Runden Tische der DDR.
__________

20:15 h, Bornemann Bar
ca 60 min
Occupy History IV
Gespräch
in deutscher Sprache
mit Bernhard Schlink
Moderation: Thomas Oberender

„Occupy History“ ist der Versuch, sich nicht von „der“ Geschichte besetzen zu lassen, sondern selbst Geschichte zu erzählen. In den Gesprächen mit verschiedenen Gästen des Palastes wollen wir biografische und gesellschaftliche Ereignisse zusammendenken, so persönlich wie möglich. Der Romancier und Jurist Bernhard Schlink spricht mit Thomas Oberender über die DDR nach der Öffnung der Mauer.
__________

22:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 120 min
CHEAP
1+1 ungleich 1+1. Ein ausgeleiertes Konzert

Performance

-------------- CHEAP ----------- 1+1 UNGLEICH 1+1 --------------- -------- EIN AUSGELEIERTES KONZERT --- MARTIN SIEMANN ------------ --- VAGINAL DAVIS --- PAMELA SCHLEWINSKI ---- MARC SIEGEL --------- RICHARD GABRIEL -------- JOHN BLUE ----------- MAURICE DE MARTIN --- ------- POLA SIEVERDING -------------- SUSANN-MARIA HEMPEL ------- ----- SUSANNE SACHSSE ------ ŞENOL ŞENTÜRK -------- GÄSTE ----- AKIRA KNIGHTLY ----- RUTH SCHÖNEGGE ------- MAXIMILIAN BRAUER ------- RUTH FISCHER -------------- JA JA DER HELLE BÜRGER SAGT PRIMA WAS REINIGT SO DUFTE DAS KLIMA -------- CHARISMATISCHE SCHURKEN UND FEURIGE UNHOLDE ----- MEIN BETT WACKELT ICH KANN NICHT SCHLAFEN - ------------------
__________

23:00 h, Bornemann Bar
Open End
The Performance Bar
Performance
mit: Tizo All, Dillon Baiocchi, Iris Bergman, Florian Borstlap, Margo van de Linde, Daniel van den Broeke, Imke Zeinstra u.a.

Das niederländische Kollektiv The Performance Bar besteht aus internationalen und multidisziplinären Künstler*innen, die ihre Kunst auf einer 4 m2 großen Bühne zeigen: einer Bar. Jede Darbietung dauert höchstens eine Bierlänge. In der Performance Bar verwischen die Grenzen zwischen Café und Theater, Bar und Bühne, Künstler*innen und Publikum und nicht zuletzt zwischen „high culture“ und Entertainment. Hier klingen die heterogenen Nutzungen des historischen Palastes an und werden zum Cocktail gemixt, um den Samstag zu beschließen.
__________

00:00 h, Rangkino
ca. 88 min
Berlin Babylon
Film
in deutscher Sprache
Deutschland 2001, Hubertus Siegert

Offensichtlich gibt es in Berlin viel Angst vor Offenheit, einen Horror vacui: Der Potsdamer Platz war in den 1990er-Jahren ein Möglichkeitsraum, in dem architektonisch alles machbar schien – ein Ort, der definieren könnte, was die vielbeschworene „Neue Mitte“ des wieder- vereinigten Deutschlands sein sollte. In spektakulären Aufnahmen, vom Soundtrack der Einstürzenden Neubauten untermalt, zeigt diese Langzeitdokumentation die Kontraste einer Stadt im Umbau, zwischen der Angst vor der Leere und einer sie begleitenden Bauwut.

Palast der Republik

Mehr Programm

Tag 1: 08.03.2019
Tag 3: 10.03.2019