stargaze

stargaze

© Emanuel Florakis

Art, discourse & parliament

Palast der Republik

Day 3: New Alliances

with Boris Buden, Naika Foroutan, Srećko Horvat, Thomas Krüger, Lorenzo Marsili, Vijay Prashad, Bénédicte Savoy, Anna Stiede, Karen Taylor, Margarita Tsomou & Yanis Varoufakis

in the evening:
Musikpalast: stargaze live mixtape for the PEOPLE
with Astronautalis, Tyondai Braxton, Buke and Gase, Anna Calvi, Cantus Domus, Arone Dyer, Andi Haberl (The Notwist) & Kaj Duncan David, Anja Plaschg (Soap&Skin) & stargaze

After remembering the progressive ideas of the transformative year 1989, the “Palast der Republik” will end with considerations on how to renew the social contract and close in the evening with the “Musikpalast”, a live mixtape that represents both a laboratory and a live seminar for the very latest in music.

More programme:
Palast der Republik – Day 1: 08.03.2019
Palast der Republik – Day 2: 09.03.2019

Day 1 to 3: Installations by Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper and Felix Grütsch

15:00 h, Vorbühne
ca. 180 min
There is an Alternative
Neue Allianzen für ein anderes Europa

Parliamentary hearing
in German & English with simultaneous translationwith Boris Buden, Naika Foroutan, Srećko Horvat, Thomas Krüger, Lorenzo Marsili, Helge Peters, Vijay Prashad, Bénédicte Savoy, Karen Taylor, Anna Stiede, Yanis Varoufakis a.o.
Moderation: Sebastian Kaiser & Margarita Tsomou (HAU – Hebbel am Ufer)

After remembering the progressive ideas of the transformative year 1989 the “Palast der Republik” ends on Sunday by considering how to renew the social contract. This opens with a lecture by Yanis Varoufakis, economist and former Finance Minister of Greece. Either Europe will be democratised, or it will fall apart. This is the slogan under which he co-founded the Europe-wide movement DiEM25 in 2016, which will now be the first transnational party in the elections to the European parliament. Varoufakis himself will campaign as the leading candidate for the German party Democracy in Europe. Afterwards the palace will be transformed into a parliament of the future. In brief presentations philosophers, activists, historians will put forward elements of a transnational constitution or electable European initiatives. The concluding panel will search for ways forward and form alliances against the right wing populists closing ranks and the neoliberal mantra that there is no alternative.
__________

19:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 2140 min
Musikpalast
stargaze live mixtape for the PEOPLE

Concert
with Astronautalis, Tyondai Braxton, Buke and Gase, Anna Calvi, Cantus Domus, Arone Dyer, Andi Haberl (The Notwist) & Kaj Duncan David, Anja Plaschg (Soap&Skin) & s t a r g a z e
Curator: André de Ridder

This evening concert curated by André de Ridder is both a tribute and the revival and future vision of a form that has almost died out: the “Musikpalast” consists of a compered interaction between a series of different artists and bands. These play each other their music in swift succession, rather like being in a large rehearsal room or studio that is open to the public. The audience gathers around these islands, becoming part of a “band camp” that may feel quite familiar to visitors to the now legendary PEOPLE festival held at Funkhaus Nalepastraße. In a Berlin premiere the former Battles frontman Tyondai Braxton presents his new solo album, while Greg Saunier, drummer and composer with the band Deerhoof, has written a remake of the Fugazi album “In On The Killtaker” for the members of the contemporary classical collective s t a r g a z e as a commission for the Brighton Festival. Anna Calvi, Anja Plaschg (Soap&Skin) and Arone Dyer pay their respects to David Bowie complete with a choir and orchestra, performing songs from his final album “Blackstar” and – for the first time live – “Warszawa”, a track he composed in Berlin together with Brian Eno. The Brooklyn duo, Buke and Gase, also featuring Arone Dyer, will also present their latest album, developing their futuristic form of indie pop played on self-made instruments even further. The Notwist percussionist Andi Haberl will collaborate for the first time with the Danish electronic and new music composer Kaj Duncan David, and the Berlin choir Cantus Domus will sing Caroline Shaw’s “Courante” from the young, Pulitzer prize-winning American composer’s “Partita”. Over three and a half hours of constant interchange between the participating musicians will create the unbroken flow of a live mixtape that represents both a laboratory and a live seminar for the very newest music.

Palast der Republik

More programme

Day 1: 08.03.2019
Day 2: 09.03.2019

stargaze

stargaze

© Emanuel Florakis

Kunst, Diskurs & Parlament

Palast der Republik

Tag 3: Neue Allianzen

mit Boris Buden, Naika Foroutan, Srećko Horvat, Thomas Krüger, Lorenzo Marsili, Vijay Prashad, Bénédicte Savoy, Anna Stiede, Karen Taylor, Margarita Tsomou & Yanis Varoufakis

abends:
Musikpalast: stargaze live mixtape for the PEOPLE
mit Astronautalis, Tyondai Braxton, Buke and Gase, Anna Calvi, Cantus Domus, Arone Dyer, Andi Haberl (The Notwist) & Kaj Duncan David, Anja Plaschg (Soap&Skin) & stargaze

Nach der Erinnerung an die progressiven Ideen des Wendejahres 1989 endet der „Palast der Republik“ am Sonntag mit Überlegungen zu einer Erneuerung des Gesellschaftsvertrags und schließt abends mit dem „Musikpalast“, einem Live-Mixtape, das gleichzeitig Laboratorium und Live-Seminar neuester Musik ist.

Mehr Programm:
Palast der Republik – Tag 1: 08.03.2019
Palast der Republik – Tag 2: 09.03.2019

Tag 1 bis 3: Installationen von Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper und Felix Grütsch

15:00 h, Vorbühne
ca. 180 min
There is an Alternative
Neue Allianzen für ein anderes Europa

Parlamentarische Anhörung

In deutscher & englischer Sprache mit Simultanverdolmetschung
mit Boris Buden, Naika Foroutan, Srećko Horvat, Lorenzo Marsili, Helge Peters, Vijay Prashad, Bénédicte Savoy, Anna Stiede, Karen Taylor, Yanis Varoufakis u.a.
Moderation: Sebastian Kaiser & Margarita Tsomou (HAU – Hebbel am Ufer)

Nach der Erinnerung an die progressiven Ideen des Wendejahres 1989 endet der „Palast der Republik“ am Sonntag mit Überlegungen zu einer Erneuerung des Gesellschaftsvertrags. Den Auftakt bildet ein Vortrag von Yanis Varoufakis, Ökonom und ehemaliger Finanzminister Griechenlands. Entweder Europa wird demokratisiert, oder es zerfällt. Unter diesem Slogan hat er 2016 die europäische Bewegung DiEM25 mitbegründet, die nun die erste transnationale Partei bei den Wahlen zum Europa-Parlament sein wird. Varoufakis selbst tritt dabei als Spitzenkandidat für die deutsche Partei Demokratie in Europa an. Im Anschluss verwandelt sich der Palast in ein Parlament der Zukunft. Philosoph*innen, Aktivist*innen, Historiker*innen stellen in kurzen Präsentationen Elemente einer transnationalen Verfassung oder wählbare europäische Initiativen vor. Das Abschlusspanel will Auswege suchen und Allianzen schmieden, wider den rechts- populistischen Schulterschluss und das neoliberale Mantra der Alternativlosigkeit.
__________

19:00 h, Hauptbühne
ca. 210 min
Musikpalast
stargaze live mixtape for the PEOPLE

Konzert
mit Astronautalis, Tyondai Braxton, Buke and Gase, Anna Calvi, Cantus Domus, Arone Dyer, Andi Haberl (The Notwist) & Kaj Duncan David, Anja Plaschg (Soap&Skin) & s t a r g a z e
Kurator: André de Ridder

Dieser von André de Ridder kuratierte Konzertabend ist zugleich Hommage wie auch Wiederbelebung und Zukunftsvision eines nahezu ausgestorbenen Formats: Im „Musikpalast“ kommt es zu einem moderierten Aufeinandertreffen mehrerer Künstler*innen und Bands. In schnellem Wechsel spielen sich diese quasi gegenseitig ihre Musik vor, wie in einem großen, öffentlich begehbar gemachten Proberaum oder Studio. Das Publikum gruppiert sich um diese Inseln herum und wird Bestandteil dieses „Band-Camps“, das den Besucher*innen des inzwischen schon legendären PEOPLE-Festivals im Funkhaus Nalepastraße vertraut erscheinen mag. Als Berlin-Premiere stellt der ehemalige Battles-Frontmann Tyondai Braxton sein neues Soloalbum vor. Greg Saunier, der Drummer und Komponist der Band Deerhoof, schrieb für die Mitglieder des Contemporary-Classical-Kollektivs s t a r g a z e ein vom Brighton Festival in Auftrag gegebenes Remake des Fugazi-Albums „In On The Killtaker“. Anna Calvi, Anja Plaschg (Soap&Skin) und Arone Dyer erweisen mit Chor und Orchester David Bowie ihre Reverenz durch Interpretationen von Songs aus seinem letzten Album „Blackstar“ sowie, erstmals live, dem in Berlin mit Brian Eno komponierten „Warszawa“. Das Brooklyner Duo Buke and Gase, dem auch Arone Dyer angehört, wird zudem sein neues Album vorstellen, das ihren futuristischen, auf selbstgebauten Instrumenten konstruierten Indie-Pop weiterentwickelt. Der Notwist-Schlagzeuger Andi Haberl kollaboriert erstmals mit dem dänischen Komponisten elektronischer und Neuer Musik Kaj Duncan David, und der Berliner Chor Cantus Domus singt Caroline Shaws „Courante“ aus der „Partita“ der jungen, pulitzerpreisgekrönten amerikanischen Komponistin. Im ständigen Austausch zwischen den auftretenden Musiker*innen entsteht über dreieinhalb Stunden ein ununterbrochen fließendes Live-Mixtape, das gleichzeitig Laboratorium und Live-Seminar neuester Musik ist.
__________

Installationen
An allen drei Tagen gibt es Installationen von Thomas Demand, Neša Paripović, Gabriele Dolff-Bonekämper und Felix Grütsch. Mehr Informationen

Palast der Republik

Mehr Programm

Tag 1: 08.03.2019
Tag 2: 09.03.2019