Ludwig Koch, Songs of Wild Birds, Sound Book, Cover, 1936

Ludwig Koch, “Songs of Wild Birds”, sound book, cover, 1936

© British Library Sound Archive

Concert
Pierre-Laurent Aimard I

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Late Night at the Philharmonie

In his “Catalogue d’Oiseaux”, Olivier Messiaen discovered new sound worlds for the piano. During a long night at the Philharmonie, Pierre-Laurent Aimard will bring this compendium of birdsong, which – according to Messiaen – is at the beginning of all music, to life.

  • 3 h 30 min

The eves of great events have an atmosphere of their very own – and Musikfest Berlin is eager to cultivate this original cultural experience. Before the festival’s opening with a performance of Hector Berlioz’ artists’ opera “Benvenuto Cellini”, Pierre-Laurent Aimard will explore the work of another French composer, one who caused a similarly controversial impact in his own time, more than a hundred years later. In the late 1950s, Olivier Messiaen’s “Catalogue d’oiseaux” gave a clear indication of where the composer’s path was leading him: neither in the direction of serial organisation nor towards electronic experimentation, but back (or rather: forwards) to nature, “where so much already exists, but we have not been listening. We speak of keys and modes – the birds have them. We speak of separation into small intervals – the birds do it. Since Wagner, we have been speaking a great deal about leitmotifs – every bird is a living leitmotif. We speak of aleatory music: the birds’ awakening is an aleatory occasion. I chose the birds, others chose synthesizers.”

The 13 pieces of the “Catalogue”, bracketed together in seven books (Messiaen was fascinated by prime numbers), form a compendium of composition and piano playing, similar to Bach’s “Well-tempered Clavier”. Each piece revolves around one bird and its song which provides the basic key. At the same time, the “Catalogue” is a work of acknowledgement. Messiaen dedicated it to his “winged paragons” and the pianist Yvonne Loriod, who was to become his second wife.

Concert Programme

Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Catalogue d’Oiseaux for piano (1956 – 1958)

Livre I
1. Le Chocard des Alpes
2. Le Loriot
3. Le Merle bleu

Livre II

4. Le Traquet Stapazin

Livre III
5. La Couette Hulotte
6. L’Alouette lulu

Livre IV
7. La Rousserolle Effarvatte

Livre V
8. L’Aouette Calandrelle
9. La Bouscarle

Livre VI
10. Le Merle de roche

Livre VII
11. La Buse variable
12. Le Traquet rieur
13. Le Courlis cendré

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Ludwig Koch, Songs of Wild Birds, Sound Book, Cover, 1936

Ludwig Koch, „Songs of Wild Birds“, Sound Book, Cover, 1936

© British Library Sound Archive

Konzert
Pierre-Laurent Aimard I

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Lange Nacht in der Philharmonie

Mit dem „Catalogue d’Oiseaux“ hat Olivier Messiaen für das Klavier neue Klangwelten entdeckt. Pierre-Laurent Aimard erweckt dieses Kompendium an Vogelgesängen, die – so Messiaen – am Anfang aller Musik stehen, in einer langen Nacht in der Philharmonie zum Leben.

  • 3 h 30 min

Vorabende großer Ereignisse haben ihre eigene Atmosphäre. Das Musikfest Berlin pflegt diese kulturelle Urerfahrung. Ehe das Festival mit Hector Berlioz’ Künstleroper „Benvenuto Cellini“ eröffnet wird, widmet sich Pierre-Laurent Aimard einem anderen französischen Komponisten, der ein gutes Jahrhundert später nicht weniger kontrovers in seiner Zeit wirkte. Olivier Messiaen machte in den späten 1950er Jahren mit dem„Catalogue d’oiseaux“ klar, wohin sein Weg führen würde: nicht zur seriellen Durchorganisation, nicht zum elektronischen Experiment, sondern zurück (oder voran) zur Natur, „in der schon vieles existiert, nur hat man nicht darauf gehört. Man spricht von Tonarten und Modi – die Vögel haben sie. Man spricht von Teilung in kleine Intervalle – die Vögel machen sie. Man sprach seit Wagner viel von Leitmotiven – jeder Vogel ist ein lebendiges Leitmotiv. Man spricht von aleatorischer Musik: das Erwachen der Vögel ist ein aleatorisches Ereignis. Ich habe die Vögel gewählt, andere den Synthesizer.“

Die 13 Stücke des „Catalogue“, zusammengefasst in sieben Heften (Messiaen faszinierten Primzahlen) bilden ähnlich wie Bachs „Wohltemperiertes Clavier“ ein kompositorisches und pianistisches Kompendium. In jedem Stück steht ein Vogel mit seinem Gesang im Mittelpunkt. Er gibt die ,Grundtonart‘ vor. Die Stimmen um ihn her sorgen für Kontrapunkte und Modulationen. Der „Catalogue” ist zugleich ein Bekenntniswerk. Messiaen widmete ihn seinen „geflügelten Vorbildern” und der Pianistin Yvonne Loriod, seiner späteren zweiten Frau.

Konzertprogramm

Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Catalogue d’Oiseaux für Klavier (1956 – 1958)

Livre I
1. Le Chocard des Alpes (Die Alpendohle)
2. Le Loriot (Der Pirol)
3. Le Merle bleu (Die Blaumerle)

Livre II

4. Le Traquet Stapazin (Der Mittelmeersteinschmätzer)

Livre III
5. La Couette Hulotte (Der Waldkauz)
6. L’Alouette lulu (Die Heidelerche)

Livre IV
7. La Rousserolle Effarvatte (Der Teichrohrsänger)

Livre V
8. L’Aouette Calandrelle (Die Kurzzehenlerche)
9. La Bouscarle (Der Seidenrohrsänger)

Livre VI
10. Le Merle de roche (Der Steinrötel)

Livre VII
11. La Buse variable (Der Mäusebussard)
12. Le Traquet rieur (Der Trauersteinschmätzer)
13. Le Courlis cendré (Der große Brachvogel)

Besetzung

Pierre-Laurent Aimard Klavier

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin