Wenceslaus Hollar, Winter from the Seasonal Cycle, copper engraving, 1644

Wenceslaus Hollar, “Winter” from the seasonal cycle, copper engraving, 1644

© National Gallery Prague, Public Domain

Concert
Visiting Orchestras / In honour of Louis Andriessen I

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

Tugan Sokhiev, conductor
Visiting: Amsterdam

By featuring works by Andriessen and Tchaikovsky, the programme links the history of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam with the intention of its conductor: The “Mysteriën” for orchestra were written specifically for the RCO. Tugan Sokhiev uses the extraordinary sound qualities of the orchestra to open the gate to Russian Romantic music with Tchaikovsky’s First Symphony.

19:10 work introduction

Many regretted Tugan Sokhiev’s departure from the chief conductor’s position at Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester when he left for the Moscow Bolshoi Theatre in 2016 after four years in Berlin. He continues to visit the German capital at regular intervals – to work with the DSO, the Berliner Philharmoniker and now, for the first time, with an orchestra that has become a fixture at Musikfest Berlin: the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

The programme contains a piece of history of both the orchestra and the conductor. Louis Andriessen wrote his “Mysteriën” for the Concertgebouw Orchestra’s 125th anniversary. This was a small sensation, because 50 years ago, in 1969, Andriessen had been among a group of trouble-makers who disrupted a concert by the orchestra because they considered its programme policy to be anti-modern and reactionary. They were made to leave the concert hall. Andriessen did not write any more orchestral work for more than 40 years – until the RCO-anniversary. He drew inspiration for the six movements of the “Mysteriën” from one of his late father’s favourite books: “De imitatione Christi” by the mystic Thomas a Kempis (1380-1470). Following his conviction that religion, art and philosophy converge in the creative spirit of mankind, he practised the art of transformation: the transformation of ideas from one discipline of the mind into fantasies of another.

Sokhiev was trained in the Russian school of conducting of Ilya Musin and achieved his first great successes at the Mariinsky Theatre in Saint Petersburg. For his years in Berlin, he had set himself the goal of giving his audiences an idea of the breadth of Russian music – including the early Tchaikovsky. The composer had been quite happy with his First Symphony, apart from several “immature passages” and counted it among his best works.

Concert Programme

In honour of Louis Andriessen I
Louis Andriessen (*1939)
Mysteriën for orchestra (2013)
German Premiere

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893)
Symphony No. 1 in G minor op. 13 (1866)
“Winter Daydreams”

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

The performances “In the honour of Louis Andriessen I-III“ on 2, 4 and 5 September are supported by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung and the Aventis Foundation.

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung     Aventis Foundation

Wenceslaus Hollar, Winter aus dem Jahreszeitenzyklus, Kupferstich, 1644

Wenceslaus Hollar, „Winter“ aus dem Jahreszeitenzyklus, Kupferstich, 1644

© Nationalgalerie Prag, Public Domain

Konzert
Gastorchester / Louis Andriessen zu Ehren I

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

Tugan Sokhiev, Leitung
Gastspiel: Amsterdam

Mit Werken von Andriessen und Tschaikowsky verbindet das Programm die Geschichte des Royal Concertgebouw Amsterdam mit dem Anliegen seines Dirigenten: Die „Mysteriën“ für Orchester wurden speziell für das RCO geschrieben. Tugan Sokhiev nutzt dessen außerordentliche Klangqualitäten, um mit Tschaikowskys Erster Symphonie das Tor zur russischen romantischen Musik zu öffnen.

Man trauerte Tugan Sokhiev nach, als er 2016 nach vier Jahren den Chefposten beim Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester verließ, um dem Ruf ans Moskauer Bolschoi Theater zu folgen. Nach wie vor kommt er regelmäßig in die deutsche Hauptstadt – ans Pult des DSO, ans Pult der Philharmoniker, und nun erstmals mit dem Orchester, das als fester Gast beim Musikfest Berlin gebucht ist: dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

Das Programm enthält ein Stück Geschichte beider, des Orchesters und des Dirigenten. Louis Andriessen schrieb seine „Mysteriën“ für das Concertgebouw Orkest zum 125-jährigen Bestehen. Das war eine kleine Sensation, denn Andriessen gehörte vor 50 Jahren, 1969, zu einer Gruppe von Unruhegeistern, die ein Konzert des Orchesters störten, weil sie dessen Programmpolitik antimodern und reaktionär fanden. Sie wurden aus dem Saal expediert. Über 40 Jahre lang schrieb Andriessen kein Orchesterwerk mehr – bis zum RCO-Jubiläum. Anregungen zu den sechs „Mysteriën“-Sätzen gab ihm ein Lieblingsbuch seines verstorbenen Vaters: „De imitatione Christi“ des Mystikers Thomas de Kempis (1380 – 1470). Getreu seiner Auffassung, dass Religion, Kunst und Philosophie im kreativen Geist der Menschheit zusammenfinden, übte er sich in der Kunst der Transformation: der Verwandlung von Ideen aus einer Geistesdisziplin in die Fantasien einer anderen.

Sokhiev ist in der russischen Dirigentenschule eines Ilja Musin groß geworden, am Mariinsky Theater in Petersburg erzielte er seine ersten großen Erfolge. In seinen Berliner Jahren hatte er sich zum Ziel gesetzt, eine Ahnung von der Weite russischer Musik zu vermitteln – auch den frühen Tschaikowsky. Der war mit seiner Ersten Symphonie von einigen „unreifen Passagen” abgesehen, recht glücklich; er zählte sie zum Besten, was er geschrieben hatte.

Konzertprogramm

Louis Andriessen zu Ehren I
Louis Andriessen (*1939)
Mysteriën für Orchester (2013)
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky (1840 – 1893)
Symphonie Nr. 1 g-Moll op. 13 (1866)
„Winterträume“

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Die Aufführungen „Louis Andriessen zu Ehren I-III“ am 2., 4. und 5. September werden unterstützt von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und der Aventis Foundation.

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung     Aventis Foundation